We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and comfortable stay in the Sandstone Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A unique and comfortable stay in the Sandstone Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

A trip to Cappadocia is definitely not complete without a stay in sandstone caves. Sleeping in the cave rooms carved into the side of the hill was definitely a unique and very comfortable experience. The high domed ceiling, Jacuzzi, and soft lights provided a romantic ambiance at night. Our room and bathroom were huge for two people and we had ample space for our luggage and belongings. Everything was very clean and we were glad that tea and a hot water heater was provided.

The warm hospitality of the owners definitely complements the charming atmosphere of Dervish Cave House. They offer a decent breakfast buffet each morning with a basic selection of fruits, yogurt, jams and morning drinks accompanied by eggs or toast cooked-to-order. Our cave room was on the ground floor so were were able to access the lobby wi-fi.

Location-wise, the hotel was very close to the city center. We parked our rental car in front and walked to most of the main attractions and restaurants. You could walk to the Goreme Open air Museum but we opted to drive. For day excursions, we followed the Green Tour one day and the Red tour the next day, accompanied by an early morning hot air balloon ride. Dervish Cave House was the perfect "home-base" for both tours. I would highly recommend this hotel for a memorable stay in Goreme!

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor room because it was convenient and we could access wi-fi from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We took a cave room, which looked a little bit like in a small palace out of "The Flintsones". The style was very fancy and interesting. The bathroom was enormously spacious. However you have to be aware of the climate within the cave. The air feels moist and in the night it can get quite cold inside. But the location and the hotel complex is very nicely made. The breakfast is OK. The guys from the hotel also offer some excursions if you wish.
Göreme is a small town, so you can reach everything easily by foot from the hotel.

Room Tip: The caves are very fancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ost-reisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Loved this hotel in Goreme. The staff was helpful in booking our excursions, and the breakfast was very nice. Our room had very little light and had a musty smell, but luckily we weren't in the room all that much. Overall, I enjoyed it a lot!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacys136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights here. Met Mr Ibrahim and oh boy how kind he was. Explained to us what to do in Cappadocia and also were very accomodating to our requests. Wifi was ok. Breakfast was sufficient. Staffs there were very polite and it feels very homely when we were there. Experienced a few blackouts during our stay and got transferred to another room with no extra charge. That was a slight inconvenience for us though. And also the room heater doesnt work so we had to bear with the cold chilly night. Overall i was impressed with my stay there. Nice garden and lovely kind staffs they have. They look like a happy big family and it was really pleasant to see. Thank u for making our stay a pleasant and memorable one.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jijikang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Would like to thank Ibrahim and the rest of the staff for such great hospitality during our stay at Dervish Cave. The room was spacious and comfortable. The 2 adorable kittens staying close by was a bonus. I've already recommended this place to our friends who are thinking about visiting Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliane540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We could only spend a night at this cave but we tried to make the most of it! Our host Ibrahim reached out to me as soon as we booked the hotel and he was kind enough to arrange a pick up from the airport. Once you are there, they will take care of you and make some great recommendations on how to spend you time there.
You need to visit this place for the experience of spending a few nights in a cave and this hotel has some beautiful rooms. On our way to Dervish Cave house, we made some stops to drop other travelers and were not sure what out hotel will be like but we were pleasantly surprised by Dervish Cave House!
The breakfast though was not one of the best we have had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Look no further than the Dervish Cave Suites for your visit to Cappadocia!

We stayed as a family of 4 in June 2014 for 2 nights. Ibrahim "Ibo" & Cemal "The Best Pilot" are amazing hosts and we all became good friends during our stay. They are both hot air balloon pilots and Cemal took us out one morning for an unforgettable early am balloon flight.

The location of this property is perfect- 5 minute walk into Goreme. "Ibo" can arrange the "red" or "green" tours of Cappodocia with door to door service. Rooms were clean, big, safe & comfortable. Big breakfast buffet in the morning with eggs/ French toast cooked to order.

We travel all over the world and this place was truly special. Thank you "Ibo" & "The Best Pilot" for making our stay so special. We will be back to visit.

John, Suzie, Nick & Ryan Morgan

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamer737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemalim, Genel Müdür at Dervish Cave House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Lovely Morgans Family,

Thank you very much for nice review, It was nice to meeting with you and nice to chatting together.

Kind Regards
Cemal Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#25 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#14 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#13 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing