We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with an excellent view”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hotel with an excellent view”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We could only spend a night at this cave but we tried to make the most of it! Our host Ibrahim reached out to me as soon as we booked the hotel and he was kind enough to arrange a pick up from the airport. Once you are there, they will take care of you and make some great recommendations on how to spend you time there.
You need to visit this place for the experience of spending a few nights in a cave and this hotel has some beautiful rooms. On our way to Dervish Cave house, we made some stops to drop other travelers and were not sure what out hotel will be like but we were pleasantly surprised by Dervish Cave House!
The breakfast though was not one of the best we have had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDSouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Look no further than the Dervish Cave Suites for your visit to Cappadocia!

We stayed as a family of 4 in June 2014 for 2 nights. Ibrahim "Ibo" & Cemal "The Best Pilot" are amazing hosts and we all became good friends during our stay. They are both hot air balloon pilots and Cemal took us out one morning for an unforgettable early am balloon flight.

The location of this property is perfect- 5 minute walk into Goreme. "Ibo" can arrange the "red" or "green" tours of Cappodocia with door to door service. Rooms were clean, big, safe & comfortable. Big breakfast buffet in the morning with eggs/ French toast cooked to order.

We travel all over the world and this place was truly special. Thank you "Ibo" & "The Best Pilot" for making our stay so special. We will be back to visit.

John, Suzie, Nick & Ryan Morgan

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the family suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamer737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cemalim, Genel Müdür at Dervish Cave House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Lovely Morgans Family,

Thank you very much for nice review, It was nice to meeting with you and nice to chatting together.

Kind Regards
Cemal Yıldırım
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I only have good things to say about this hotel. The location is perfect, very close to the centre of the small village of Göreme, but at the same time with a great view over the whole place.
The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortabel and with a nice decoration, almost luxurious, yet at an affordable price.
The buffet breakfast has a wide range of great options of turkish traditionals, like tea, coffe, yoghurt, dried fruits, jams, cakes and olives, as well as cereals, milk or french toasts.
The staff and managers are very friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home - when we arrived in the early morning bus from Istanbul they just gave us a free breakfast while we were waiting for our room to be free for check-in.
As a wrap up: I clearly recommend this place, and I'll definitely stay there if I ever go back to Göreme!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNFilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We actually stayed at the Dervish Cave Suites, at the end of April 2014, which is across the road from the Dervish Cave House and is part of the same group but I couldn't find it listed on here.

My husband and I with our then 6-month old baby stayed at the suites for two nights and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Goreme, within walking (or buggy-pushing) distance of all the main restaurants, cafes and carpet sellers. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and even got our room ready early. Wifi worked perfectly throughout the hotel area and was so strong we could FaceTime problem-free with family members. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh and staff took orders for eggs to be cooked however you wished. Our room was huge and spotlessly clean. The jacuzzi bath was a lovely way to relax after a long days exploring the caves and fairy chimneys.

As we travelled with our baby, we were not able to do a hot air balloon ride (6 years old and up), so we hired a car instead of partaking in the organised tours. We felt this would give us more flexibility and it very simple to drive around the area and see the sights. We visited the Goreme Open Air Museum and the Derinkuyu Underground City to name but a few fabulous locations and three full days was well more than enough time to see everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamacturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were a group of six Canadians travelling in Turkey and we only had two days scheduled for Cappadocia so we arrived quite early to Goreme and the Dervish Cave House. Ibrahim was most gracious and hurried the process of as early a check in as he could manage. But that was only the beginning he arranged for our balloon tour and he arranged for a car, driver and guide for the following day all with a smile and very informative persona. Our rooms were all unique and very comfortable. After a long day of ballooning, and touring underground cities and fairy chimneys etc. all in our group agreed that this was definitely the most memorable part of our journey and a day we would never forget.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakxonklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I highly recommend the Dervish Cave House Hotel. It is in a very convenient location, the rooms are very nice and every one of them is unique. But what makes a stay at Dervish truly memorable is the people who run the hotel. A stay there is like a stay with friends whose primary goal is to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Ibrahim arranged a balloon ride and a private guided tour for the six of us which were both outstanding. Thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: My room was very comfortable with a king size bed, the bathroom had a domed ceiling like in the chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Location is very good, very friendly staff and the rooms decorated naturally. Very beautiful place. Also pet friendly Hotel that you cannot find widely to go with your pet. Try the jam made with the fruits of the tree in the garden. Thanks for all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eceberkay .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#23 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#19 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing