We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for value”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you want to experience cave staying, this family-run hotel definitely is a good choice. The bed is comfortable, the room is spacious, and the staffs are very friendly. We stayed in room 16 for 2 nights. There is a step between bath room and bedroom. Every morning when I get up with a blur head, I would kicked on the step and hurt my big toe. This is the only small problem I can remember.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 539 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

My whole family really love this hotel. It is so cosy and convenient location.We love the room and also the scenic surrounding of the hotel. And also the staff are so helpful and friendly. If ever we go back to Cappadocia again, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed at Dervish Cave House Hotel for 4 nights during winter vacation in Cappadocia. The room I stayed was big and spacious, clean and well decorated. The hotel is built on a hill, so you can enjoy a great panoramic view of Cappadocia while eating your breakfast or drinking coffee.. People there are very friendly and helpful and can arrange all the activities you wish to do.. I definately recommend it!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is at a convenient location to the market area and many restaurants serving Turkish cuisine down the road. The rooms were just right with all basic requirements(no hair-drier though) including a Jacuzzi which was great! Ibrahim was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was very basic but good enough. A very good option for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larissa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had very high hopes for this location. We had booked through booking.com and got what we thought was a very good rate, but overall we were quite disappointed. We were initially given a large room (which is what we had booked) on the ground floor. It faced right on to the courtyard where people go to smoke, and we asked to be moved. The room we were moved to was much smaller and smelled very musty.

The rooms and facilities were not clean (and I don't mean by "sleeping-in-a-cave" standards) - dirty floors, hair around the bathroom and on the towels, and a very grimy shower head. The room also smelled extremely musty and dirty - again, I know that it's in a cave, but there seemed to be no attempt to de-humidify, so we opened the window (in February). The room also lacked tabletop space. There was nowhere to put a bag, toiletries, etc. aside from the floor or the floor of the closet. Service was fine but nothing to write home about. The fact that breakfast is included was quite nice, and the breakfast was good: extensive and reasonably tasty.

Aside from breakfast, the one saving grace is that the location was quite good: close to the lookout and to the centre of town. On balance, we would absolutely not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor was objectively a nicer room. If you are not as concerned about privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

we stayed in dervish cave house for 3 days and were overwhelmed by the warmth and friendliness from the staff there..ibrahim helped us out with suggestions and cemal was also very helpful..the rooms were maintained very well and breakfast was good too..we also took the balloon flight which was one of our best experiences so far..would definitely stay here again whenever i visit capadoccia

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atiyana2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have recently been at the Dervish Cave House. The hotel is lovely with authentic cave rooms and rooms in fairy chimneys. Breakfast was great. A mix of Turkish and continental/buffet breakfast. The family run hotel staff are very attentive and helpful. They advised us on tours and gave us information about the town and hot air balloon companies. Another good point is that the hotel is very central and you can walk to the centre and nearby attractions such as the open air museum and the Turkish baths. The hotel rooms also include a jacuzzi bath which is lovely after a day out. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoniaAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#44 of 78 in Goreme
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#37 of 78 in Goreme
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#18 of 78 in Goreme
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#4 of 78 in Goreme
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $37 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing