We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & great hospitality!”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & great hospitality!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed at Dervish Cave House Hotel for 4 nights during winter vacation in Cappadocia. The room I stayed was big and spacious, clean and well decorated. The hotel is built on a hill, so you can enjoy a great panoramic view of Cappadocia while eating your breakfast or drinking coffee.. People there are very friendly and helpful and can arrange all the activities you wish to do.. I definately recommend it!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It is at a convenient location to the market area and many restaurants serving Turkish cuisine down the road. The rooms were just right with all basic requirements(no hair-drier though) including a Jacuzzi which was great! Ibrahim was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was very basic but good enough. A very good option for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had very high hopes for this location. We had booked through booking.com and got what we thought was a very good rate, but overall we were quite disappointed. We were initially given a large room (which is what we had booked) on the ground floor. It faced right on to the courtyard where people go to smoke, and we asked to be moved. The room we were moved to was much smaller and smelled very musty.

The rooms and facilities were not clean (and I don't mean by "sleeping-in-a-cave" standards) - dirty floors, hair around the bathroom and on the towels, and a very grimy shower head. The room also smelled extremely musty and dirty - again, I know that it's in a cave, but there seemed to be no attempt to de-humidify, so we opened the window (in February). The room also lacked tabletop space. There was nowhere to put a bag, toiletries, etc. aside from the floor or the floor of the closet. Service was fine but nothing to write home about. The fact that breakfast is included was quite nice, and the breakfast was good: extensive and reasonably tasty.

Aside from breakfast, the one saving grace is that the location was quite good: close to the lookout and to the centre of town. On balance, we would absolutely not recommend this hotel and will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor was objectively a nicer room. If you are not as concerned about privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

we stayed in dervish cave house for 3 days and were overwhelmed by the warmth and friendliness from the staff there..ibrahim helped us out with suggestions and cemal was also very helpful..the rooms were maintained very well and breakfast was good too..we also took the balloon flight which was one of our best experiences so far..would definitely stay here again whenever i visit capadoccia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atiyana2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have recently been at the Dervish Cave House. The hotel is lovely with authentic cave rooms and rooms in fairy chimneys. Breakfast was great. A mix of Turkish and continental/buffet breakfast. The family run hotel staff are very attentive and helpful. They advised us on tours and gave us information about the town and hot air balloon companies. Another good point is that the hotel is very central and you can walk to the centre and nearby attractions such as the open air museum and the Turkish baths. The hotel rooms also include a jacuzzi bath which is lovely after a day out. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed 4 nights in early December 2013. Rooms were excellent - clean and heated. Ibrahim (who is also a balloon pilot) was friendly and very helpful. There is wifi access for those who crave it. The hotel is also in a good location for restaurants and for pre-dawn strolls up to the lookout to see the balloons at sunrise. Overall, I had no issues during my stay, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have a great experience with Dervish Cave House Hotel.

It is a small, family run cave hotel, almost in the center of Goreme (200 m from city center). Location is great: you need only 2 min on foot to city center, but yet again, you have some peace and quiet when you return to your room to take some rest.
Hotel is very charming. Nice and cozy reception and suites are in fairy chimneys, but very nice and modern furnished. In rooms you don't wifi, which is completely reasonable, but you have free wireless at the reception and in the rose garden. In rooms is central heating, which is important for those who would come during winter time.
To me maybe the most important thing when I book hotel is a bathroom and it was great. Hot water the whole time (I've been in many hotels in Turkey, and not in all you have hot water every time), enough place for all my toiletry bags (just hate bathrooms where you don't have enough space to put all your cosmetics).
Rose garden is so dashing. Old tables and chairs, so you can relax at maximum while watching Cappadocian landscape. You can drink your tea while cats play around and enjoy in a beautiful sunset.
Personal is what makes this hotel so great. Cemal, he is one of managers, he waited for us, even though we came very late at evening; did the check in and explained everything. Next morning he gave us informations about all possibilities what to do and see in Cappadocia and explained all excursions. He was very friendly, polite and nice. The most important, 24/7 helpful. Whatever and whenever you need anything, believe me, he will provide that for you as soon as possible. He is really a true representation of famous Turkish hospitality. :)
Cemal arranged for us: transfer from/to airport, Turkish Night, Sema, Hot air ballooning, Green tour and Red tour.
Why to spend your time and to hassle in agencies, when you can just say what you want, and somebody else will do the whole organization for you. :)
Very important information: the personal speaks english fluently.

Excellent hotel, extraordinary kind stuff, great location, good prices. I had a fantastic stay and was more than satisfied. If I would come back to Cappadocia, definitely would stay in this hotel again.

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone for amazing hospitality of whole stuff and really comfortable accommodation.
I'm definitely sure you won't regret.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_lsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 77 in Goreme
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#18 of 77 in Goreme
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#41 of 77 in Goreme
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#55 of 77 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hills Cave Hotel
Hills Cave Hotel
#61 of 77 in Goreme
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#19 of 77 in Goreme
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing