We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most relaxing retreat ever..”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“most relaxing retreat ever..”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

beautiful cave hotel.. rooms clean and comfortable, I loved the spa bath.. Staff were very friendly and always there to help, especially when it came to organising balloon trip and tours.. I enjoyed my stay here very much and can't wait to go back.. only problem was the weather..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our flight landed late in the evening and after a long travel day, we were met promptly by a shuttle the hotel had arranged for us. When we got to the hotel we were immediately shown to our room and invited back to check in after we had refreshed. When we came back to reception we were offered coffee and a relaxing chat with IBO who told us about the activities available during our short stay. He was very accommodating and did not push anything on us. We wanted to do the balloon ride but IBO sensed my husband was afraid and arranged for us to ride with him.

IBO and his cousin Cemal are very hard working and willing to help in any way they can.

The rooms are clean and breakfast which is included was very nice. The view from the terrace is beautiful and it is a short walk to the main town where there are many restaurants. IBO is happy to offer recommendations.

We would definitely come back and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulwindersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My fiance' and I had 4 great days in Goreme in a suite at Dervish Cave House. The location is GREAT. Can walk to town and to open air museum and to red rose trail. Two pilot for Kapaydoyka balloon work there - we took balloon ride with one (Cemal) and he was professional and fun. The room was cut right into actual rock, the bed was HUGE (like a king+) and very comfortable. Nice bathtub and roomy room. Can be a bit humid and some bits of gravel on floor but thats life in a cave..! Good breakfast with great view. They were very helpful with recommendations for tours and where to eat (go up the hill on the right for authentic Turkish food and you can even cook with the ladies there. Laundry was free. And one free transfer to airport with booking tours with them. Transfers were really good. Rent a scooter for the red tour and take the green tour (only 12 or 14 ppl in it). Town is really nice to walk around. Do your shopping here rather than Istanbul (prices and better quality). Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ours was #16 - on the newer side. Very quiet. Keep window open at night/humid but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the staff here - They are incredibly friendly, laid back, helpful, funny, and kind. They go to great lengths to ensure you enjoy your stay - whether it's breakfast outside of regular hours, a ride to the Turkish baths, or inviting you to share a raki on the patio. When there was a mix-up with airport transportation, they sent a car to pick us up right away, no questions asked. It honestly felt like home during our stay.

The facilities are also great. You are a few blocks up from the heart of the small town of Goreme and can walk almost everywhere. The patio/lawn has incredible views, and is the perfect place to sit and enjoy delicious, made-to-order french toast (the best!) or eggs. The rooms are spacious and quiet, and the jacuzzi tubs are a wonderful welcome home after a long day of hiking. That being said, there are certainly challenges to staying in a cave - it can be a bit damp and not all rooms get much light - but big windows, beautiful Turkish lamps and AC/heat/dehumidifier with a remote make these challenges easy to overcome.

This hotel gets my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
401 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The room is to be paid up front on check-in. I was lucky to get upgraded to a King size suite at no extra cost. This B&B hotel is well situated and the rooms very comfortable. My room was across the street from the main building pictured in the photo. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but a reasonable selection and the rolls are especially delicious. There is no bottled water provided in the rooms, a management decision which is worth re-visiting as it is an inexpensive commodity and not everyone wants to take a chance on the tap water despite management’s assurance that it is completely safe to drink. Hotel could perhaps benefit from a woman’s touch – no criticism of the friendly efforts of the all male cast intended. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur-of-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel was good to great. The courtyard with the great view, the cave rooms which were in fact very nice and modern, and the owners were fantastic. I mentioned it was my son's birthday - they got him a cake. I mentioned a restaurant I had read about - they directed me to a better one. The included made to order breakfast and buffet were great, plus it's an easy walk into town, close to a convenience store. The Dervish provided a great experience all around, and I really wanted to stay a few more days!

Room Tip: The expansion rooms across the street are way way nice and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booktrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Best family hotel I have been so far. Very helpful staff and great advisers. We stayed in a deluxe family room and was great, spacious, very clean and neat. We arrived earlier morning travelling from Istanbul by car and they prepared us a really nice breakfast. During our staying anything we wanted and requested has been promptly attended. We left hotel early morning and asked for lunch pack which they provided us without any extra charge. I can´t describe how good, helpful and incredible those people are.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardoD527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#25 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#12 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing