We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath-taking hotel, an amazing experience!”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our stay at Dervish Cave House was delightful. The hotel is very well located and hospitable. We stayed in Room no. 8 and I strongly recommend it to all couples that want a romantic atmosphere and want to feel as if they are in their honeymoon. The room is located inside a fairy chimney and it's absolutely divine. The window view is spectacular, the room is very clean, very nice decorated, very cosy and relaxing. It was also a nice surprise to find two cups of tea as a welcoming drink - it really makes you feel as if you are at a friend's home and not in a hotel room. Also, in the bathroom you can find slippers, like in 4 star hotels. We really enjoyed starting our days with the great breakfast on the terrace that offered us an amazing view of Goreme and its fairy landscape. I liked that that the breakfast offer was diversified, so we had plenty of food to choose from (four types of cereals). Most important of all, Cemal, the manager, is very welcoming and helpful. He helped us a lot to plan our trips in the region, he booked good tours for us and gave us a lot of information about what we could do and visit. He is also a balloon pilot, so he can arrange great balloon trips at good prices. He and all the staff are very friendly, thus they know how to make you feel at home. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruxandra_Dediu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Dervish Cave House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 537 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

I ended up in this hotel because the original hotel we booked overbooked and sent us here. We got a great room right up in the chimney. It was like being inside of a fairytale. The staff were very helpful in helping us to plan activities but didn't push any on us. They were also helpful in helping us reschedule a flight when we realized we booked on the wrong day. The only weird thing about the hotel was that every night at 3 am someone was knocking on the door outside. It was like clockwork and went on for about 10 minutes. Not sure what that was about. But this was a great hotel for the price and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Capadoccia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Dervish Cave House is really close to the centre of Goreme- and so was a very convenient place from which to start our daily walks or head out to restaurants at night. Especially , the staff is really helpful and owner who is Dervish introduced us about Goreme... Cemal is very generous with his knowledge of the surrounding valleys and villages and this kept us busy for 2 days. And Cemal is a hot air balloon pilot who is very kind... cave rooms are amazingly wonderful and we stayed at room 2...



Stayed September 2011,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Staying in a cave hotel was a treat.
This one is in a good location, walk down the hill to town or up the hill to a GREAT view.
There is a VERY nice outside seating area with a wonderful view of the town.
We stayed in room #1 which I would recommend. It is really two rooms, very private and quiet.
As it seems with all hotels in turkey, breakfast was excellent and made to order.
The staff was helpful in providing maps and suggestions.
We had daily room service and had laundry done here.
As a splurge, we did the hot-air ballon ride arranged by the hotel. I definitly would recommend that...just spend the money for the 1 hr. ride in a "small basket" and do it!
Also as an aside, there is a miserably named resturant "Just About" (that's the name, right across the street. It is very good...don't miss it because of the name!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were lucky to find this hotel to stay. The place is very convenient to go eveywhere in town and the hosts here are very friendly and helpful. They also provides all kind of activities for your options, but they will not let you feel stressful. While our staying, there was a Japanese TV company to come here to firm to introduce this hotel to Japanese. For me, the most unforgetable is their breakfast Menu - 5 main dishes (scrambled eggs, boiled egg, fried egg, Franch toasts and toasts). I will go there for sure. All I want to say is "make yourself at home" in Dervish Cave.

Room Tip: "the room is on the top is great and you can enjoy the nice view"
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good location, easy walk to restaurants and market shops. The cave rooms well set out, clean and comfortable.
Host and family always helpful and organised our day tours and balloon flight. Also arranged the shuttle from and to the airport. No language problems.
Breakfasts good with a great choice and plenty of it.
It is a unique place and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The stay in Dervish Cave House was beyond words and expectations. An unique cave room wth fairy chimney, a great view from hotel, a quiet atmosphere within the cave house hightlighted our days in Cappadocia. More attractively to travellers was the friendly staff who provided handy helps and great suggestions about outdoor activities in Cappadocia. We enjoyed our stay with good sleep, yummy breakfast and unforgettable hot air balloon fly arranged by the hotel. 10 out of 10 points we would like to recommand Dervish Cave House to travellers planning to visit Cappadocia, one of the best places to see from the sky.

Room Tip: A room with fairy chimney
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erikalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#42 of 78 in Goreme
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#64 of 78 in Goreme
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#39 of 78 in Goreme
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#43 of 78 in Goreme
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $38 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing