We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cave Room, Great Location, Great Hospitality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Aussie
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cave Room, Great Location, Great Hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We recently stayed at Yasin Cave House for three nights. We had read some mixed reviews, but I honestly have to say the place is amazing!

We stayed in a Cave Room (Room 8) and while it was a little smelly from the dampness, its what you have to expect when staying in a ‘cave room’. I don’t quite understand why people complain about it though, as it is all part of the experience and it didn’t bother us one bit! If you come to Capadoccia you must stay in a cave room for the experience!

Yasin is an amazing bloke! We arrived at 7am in the morning after an overnight bus from Antalya and rocked up to Yasins place with our luggage, just expecting to drop it off and check in later. He checked us in straight away, which was great as we lost quite a bit of sleep on that overnight bus, so it allowed us to catch up on some in the morning.

The room was authentic, rock walls and ceilings, bathroom was tiled on the floor and ceiling. Both the room and bathroom were very clean. Yasin has the best hot water in Turkey! We have been travelling around Turkey for 5 weeks and we haven’t had hot water quite like it.

The breakfast was delicious. Yasins mum cooks it up either scrambled eggs (delicious), omelette (delicious), French toast (delicious), traditional Turkish breakfast (we had enough of these so didn’t try it!) you name it she can cook it!

There is a nice chill out area which overlooks Goreme, always plenty of available seats and tables so space was never a problem.

He told us about some of the tours that people take while in Goreme, Cappadocia and helped us with our tour bookings etc… We did the green tour to Ilhara Valley and the underground city (amongst other places) and it was great. We also went to Turkish Night which Yasin organised for us. We would strongly recommend going to Turkish Night, it was awesome plenty of food, unlimited drinks (Raki, Beer, Red/White Wine, Softdrink) and a great nights entertainment (8pm – 11.30pm).

I did read a post about Yasin sleeping in the dining area. Yes, this is true but honestly the guy is such a hard worker and does extremely long hours, it is more like a 24 hour reception so we never felt uncomfortable. He does such a great job of running this place, and is so genuine and honest!

Overall, we would highly recommend Yasins place and would definitely stay here again. As I said, Yasin and his family would go out of their way to help you!!!

Great place, great hospitality, great location!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
21
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Plus points. Good location, Yasins mum lovely. Good views
Minus points. Beds terrible springs coming through, bathroom very smelly had to have bedroom window open all the time. Not that clean and breakfast was ok but other reviews raved about them. Yasin slept in breakfast room daily so you felt terrible going in to breakfast as you woke him up every day.It said they had a washing machine to use but it was an expensive laundry service. There was no kitchen to use so had to eat out all the time.
We did see other rooms which looked a little better than our but do not have room number 6!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goreme hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Marin County
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hostel has cave rooms, which for us were too cold and clammy in March. There is a common area with a stove for breakfast, and the room had a heater but it did not work well. The room smelled of mildew, although it was clean. I think this would be fine in late Spring or summer, but I would not recommend any cave dwelling in winter.
The owner was very helpful and offers tours at good prices. The breakfast was good--omelette or french toast. It was quiet and well-located. It's a short walk to the wonderful Goreme Open Air .Museum.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newpriorities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I stayed in the Single Cave Room - which was a lot smaller than expected. There was only room for the mattress and a radiator. During the 2 nights I booked, the radiator was also not working but the hosts provided me with an extra blanket and checked me into another room for 1 night (for sleeping). I wouldnt stay in the Single Cave room again as it was just too small, but if I may book the larger rooms or the dorm. The family hosting the place was really friendly but however, they could have put more effort into fixing my radiator after I reported it on the first night.

It is located quite close to the bus station and you can book daily tours through the hostel. There is a computer which the family uses that you can use for 20 minutes for internet purposes. The hostel has a homey feel to it, breakfast was omelette or the Turkish breakfast. Was okay but nothing overly fancy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I can only say "wow" and "absolutely fantastic" about our double cave room. The experience was truly unforgettable.
At the same time, the cave dormitory where we went to one evening seemed damp and humid, so I'm not sure that the people staying there had as positive emotions about their room as we had.
The big disadvantage for a winter stay are the shared showers upstairs, because to access them, unless you stay in rooms 5 or 6, you need to cross a very cold passage leading outside, and there's no door to keep out the cold. So, you literally pass outside, and with the temperature below zero that's no fun at all.
Also, the central heating works only at night - not a big problem, as the caves keep warmth for a long time, but it's better to know this in advance.
On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. On the whole it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i-reve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

Our night bus arrived at 3 am. instead of 6 am. It was freaking cold outside, we entered the hostel in the darkness and luckily met Mr. Yasin who still wandered around. He opened the room for us so we could stay one more night without additional charge.

Book a Cappadocia tour and balloon tour with him was much cheaper than booking directly with the tour company. Furthermore, he also arranged the bus to other city for us with no commission charge.

No prob with wi-fi internet, it worked well in the reception area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_numberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I checked out a few hotels in Goreme before settling on this one, but the hotels all seemed to be about the same quality, and this was the cheapest one I found. I had only planned to stay for one night as I wasn't exactly sure what there was to see in Cappadocia, but I ended up staying for several days. Yasin was very helpful with arranging tours and activities, and there is so much to see in this region. The breakfast was also great, and is a great value, especially if you are staying in one of the very cheap dorm rooms. The cave can be a little cold at night, so ask for extra blankets. Overall staying in the cave was a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Stone House
Central Stone House
#4 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Terra Vista
Hostel Terra Vista
#14 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Jasmine House
Goreme Jasmine House
#1 of 33 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stay In Peace Cave Hostel
0.6 mi away
Ufuk Pension
Ufuk Pension
#9 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel

Property: Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel
Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No: 13, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing