We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps a cave in March wasn't smart” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Marin County
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perhaps a cave in March wasn't smart”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hostel has cave rooms, which for us were too cold and clammy in March. There is a common area with a stove for breakfast, and the room had a heater but it did not work well. The room smelled of mildew, although it was clean. I think this would be fine in late Spring or summer, but I would not recommend any cave dwelling in winter.
The owner was very helpful and offers tours at good prices. The breakfast was good--omelette or french toast. It was quiet and well-located. It's a short walk to the wonderful Goreme Open Air .Museum.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newpriorities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
21
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I stayed in the Single Cave Room - which was a lot smaller than expected. There was only room for the mattress and a radiator. During the 2 nights I booked, the radiator was also not working but the hosts provided me with an extra blanket and checked me into another room for 1 night (for sleeping). I wouldnt stay in the Single Cave room again as it was just too small, but if I may book the larger rooms or the dorm. The family hosting the place was really friendly but however, they could have put more effort into fixing my radiator after I reported it on the first night.

It is located quite close to the bus station and you can book daily tours through the hostel. There is a computer which the family uses that you can use for 20 minutes for internet purposes. The hostel has a homey feel to it, breakfast was omelette or the Turkish breakfast. Was okay but nothing overly fancy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I can only say "wow" and "absolutely fantastic" about our double cave room. The experience was truly unforgettable.
At the same time, the cave dormitory where we went to one evening seemed damp and humid, so I'm not sure that the people staying there had as positive emotions about their room as we had.
The big disadvantage for a winter stay are the shared showers upstairs, because to access them, unless you stay in rooms 5 or 6, you need to cross a very cold passage leading outside, and there's no door to keep out the cold. So, you literally pass outside, and with the temperature below zero that's no fun at all.
Also, the central heating works only at night - not a big problem, as the caves keep warmth for a long time, but it's better to know this in advance.
On the positive side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. On the whole it was a positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i-reve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

Our night bus arrived at 3 am. instead of 6 am. It was freaking cold outside, we entered the hostel in the darkness and luckily met Mr. Yasin who still wandered around. He opened the room for us so we could stay one more night without additional charge.

Book a Cappadocia tour and balloon tour with him was much cheaper than booking directly with the tour company. Furthermore, he also arranged the bus to other city for us with no commission charge.

No prob with wi-fi internet, it worked well in the reception area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_numberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I checked out a few hotels in Goreme before settling on this one, but the hotels all seemed to be about the same quality, and this was the cheapest one I found. I had only planned to stay for one night as I wasn't exactly sure what there was to see in Cappadocia, but I ended up staying for several days. Yasin was very helpful with arranging tours and activities, and there is so much to see in this region. The breakfast was also great, and is a great value, especially if you are staying in one of the very cheap dorm rooms. The cave can be a little cold at night, so ask for extra blankets. Overall staying in the cave was a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

There are many hotels in this area, and I think I made a mistake by choosing this one. The price is not cheap compared to others, I get a single room at 25Liran, with very very small room and shared bathroom, while I met a korean couple, get a double room at same price in other hotel.
Besides, though this hotel claimed to provide free wifi, but the wifi is very problematic, most of the time cannot not be used. I felt I got cheated.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goreme hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Stone House
Central Stone House
#4 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Terra Vista
Hostel Terra Vista
#14 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Jasmine House
Goreme Jasmine House
#1 of 33 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stay In Peace Cave Hostel
0.6 mi away
Ufuk Pension
Ufuk Pension
#11 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel

Property: Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel
Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No: 13, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yasin's Place Backpackers Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing