We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been happier ....”
Review of Ufuk Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ufuk Pension
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place is a success because of Orhan.

He looks after you day after day and makes sure you experience Cappadoccia. I worked in the tourism industry for years, and Orhan exemplifies the kind of person you always want to help you. Now, with a 2nd child on the way, he just needs to protect his sleep.

We had the ground floor 'family suite' which was really two triples that shared a bathroom. PERFECT! We were 3 adults and three kids, and had lots of space for the 6 nights. Another great recommendation from Orhan.

Breakfast every morning was nice and ample, no need to start the day hungry. Relaxed, quiet courtyard, great view of the fairy chimneys.

In his own quiet way, Orhan helped us pick a balloon company, find a driver for the day, and even a rental car in Selcuk when our original reservation cancelled PS AVOID CIZGI RENTALS. He gave us a ride to the lookout so my 85 y/o father wouldn't have to walk up ..... And so it went again and again.

UFUK is simple, warm and welcoming accommodation at very reasonable prices. My only complaint - lumpy pillows. (boo hoo)

Make this your first choice in Goreme.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kottbullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2011

Now seeing the photos of hotel I miss my stay there so much! It was a warm reception, they are so helpful. I love people there. Moreover is well located and it has an affordable price! I recommend and if I come back to Capadoccia for sure I will stay there again! Thanks so much to make our stay there so enjoyable! Telma from Brazil

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Spent a few days here and loved it. On arrival we were met by Orhan who made us feel so welcome. We were offered drinks and then shown to the most enchanting cave room which would be ours for the length of our stay. We had hired a car and driver but our driver spoke very little english but Orhan was good enough to act as our translator, we were not able to get a tour guide but Orhan told us the best places to visit and gave our driver directions, A great breakfast is served every morning. This hotel was lovely and we plan on going back next year. the sites are amazing and the people of Cappodocia so helpful. Thanks to Orhan and his helper for all they help.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I didn't have one of the cave rooms. My room was very clean (but dark - could've used another light). The showers are the type where the stall is the entire bathroom - water was hot & pressure was good.

Staff was great & breakfasts were decent. I enjoyed the location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

İ stayed at Ufuk first with my group tour then I went back for a second tıme on my own. İ like this hotel because its atmosphere creates a place of community. İ prefer to be able to meet new people when I travel alone. İ could stay at a four star or above but I stayed here because of the personalızed servıce. The bedrooms and bathrooms are small and do the job. Do not expect four star or above qualıty of the rooms. This is a three star pensıon. If you want to stay ın your room all day ın Cappadocıa then your crazy. Thıs hotel ıs for outdoors people. A place to sleep peacefully and enjoy the beautıful people and surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potemkin300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

The atmosphere is really chill at this hostel. The owner/manager of this hostel, Orhan, is very resourceful and was very helpful to us. He was able to provide us with the best prices for the balloon rides and day tours for Cappadochia. My room and bathroom were clean and was above and beyond of what I expected given the low price for accomodation.

WIFI IS FREE!!

I'd recommend this place to all of my friends!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My wife and I were part of a GAP tour that stayed for 2 nights in Goreme. The provided accommodation was a stinkhole. The first room reeked of it. We were shown another room - same thing. Looked at a third room, no change. The owner, who was very accommodating in many ways, was non-plussed by the odour and said it was too expensive to fix the plumbing (probably meant he had to rip up the floors in all the showers to install P-traps) and just told his guests to stuff a wet towel in the shower drain when not in use. So, 'enuf said, we didn't stay there for the 2 nights and found a room at an adjacent pension. The other 4 members of our group chose to stay and stuffed towels in their drains. To be fair, as we didn't stay there, we can't evaluate any other elements of the accommodation. But, anything that smells like poop, ain't worth a stay!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougOnTheRoad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.5 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#35 of 77 in Goreme
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 77 in Goreme
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#61 of 77 in Goreme
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dorm Cave
The Dorm Cave
#45 of 76 in Goreme
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#21 of 34 in Goreme
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ufuk Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ufuk Pension

Address: Acik Hava Muzesi, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range: $16 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ufuk Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
(Ufuk means Horizon) is situated on the route to the Open air Museum, just 3 minutes walk from the centre of the Göreme village. The pension backs onto a hill and is surounded by several large tufa cones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ufuk Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ufuk Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing