We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly owner”
Review of Nazar Borek & Cafe

Nazar Borek & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 104 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: LOCAL TURKISH CUSINE
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly owner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

There wasn't much business going on when we arrived but we were greeted by the very happy owner who spoke excellent English and even played the Turkish guitar for us. The food is really cheap and nice. We had the gozleme and Borek. The borek was their speciality and at only 7TL was an absolute bargain. For fast cheap and yummy food Nazar Borek is well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jagalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    108
    19
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food here is good. Nothing is terribly cheap in Goreme, but I felt that I didn't really get enough food for my money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 47beachbaby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been to Goreme twice and made sure that I had dinner at the Nazar Borek Cafe again so that my daughter could sample the absolutely best borek anywhere in Turkey. The mezes are also absolutely fabulous! I recommend this restaurant as a "must" in Goreme.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So small and yet so good!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Nazar is a relatively tiny restaurant with but a few tables and chairs, and the washrooms (believe it or not) are located outside! But the food... Our host (the owner) was super-friendly, and he allowed my family and I to have a taste of something he said he had pulled off the menu because it had become too popular (obviously, his mindset is not the same as in North America, where such a thing would have been seen as an opportunity). These crispy lamb rolls had us hearing angels sing. A charming place to eat in the heart of one of the most amazingly beautiful places on Earth - Cappadocia. There are a few restaurants in the tiny town of Goreme, but Nazar was by far our favorite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great food and a hilarious owner/staff..”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had the borek and the gozleme. Both were delicious.. But the best part was when the owner started dancing with the patrons. Definitely stop in here on your trip to Goreme..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nazar Borek & Cafe also viewed

Goreme, Cappadocia
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Nazar Borek & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing