We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercan Restaurant - CLOSED

Mercan Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Dear customers, we are pleased to welcome you to our family restaurant! Our restaurant was opened in 1998. We offer you meals both Turkish and international cuisine. Many of our meals are prepared in a traditional oven. It gives the dish a special flavor.You can sit on the cozy shady terrace of the first floor or choose balcony of the second floor, with a truly breathtaking views of Goreme.To your attention we offer the best meals and snacks, Turkish, European and Russian cuisine. Our chef will cook for you only the best and world-famous dishes. We also offer special desserts and drinks card, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. Milkshakes, smoothies, "Margarita", "B-52", "Sangria" - and what you will choose?Thank you for visiting Cappadocia, and for choosing our restaurant. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, The "Mercan Restaurant."
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cant recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

very cheap but quite bad as well, bland tastes. the lentil soup was made from a dry soup mix (big difference to anyone who knows Turkish lentil soup). can't recommend unless desperate & on budget.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennieblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeytiKurt, Public Relations Manager at Mercan Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for review!
We listen carefully to all the reviews. We would like to inform you that we have carried out reconstruction of the restaurant. And also changed the menu. We will be happy to see you again. And we hope that you enjoy the new restaurant.
Sincerely, Mercan Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    0
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bland, bland, bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

No flavour at all to the kofte, no herbs or spices. I don't even think the meat had been seasoned with salt and pepper. In conclusion it was the blandest meal I've ever had!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeytiKurt, Public Relations Manager at Mercan Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for review!
We listen carefully to all the reviews. We would like to inform you that we have carried out reconstruction of the restaurant. And also changed the menu. We will be happy to see you again. And we hope that you enjoy the new restaurant.
Sincerely, Mercan Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“would never go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Warm beer, sent the hummus back, fruit flies everywhere, food generally had no taste and misrepresented on the menu for what you actually get, same music track on repeat the whole time... there are much better places to eat in goreme

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enquirers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeytiKurt, Public Relations Manager at Mercan Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for review!
We listen carefully to all the reviews. We would like to inform you that we have carried out reconstruction of the restaurant. And also changed the menu. We will be happy to see you again. And we hope that you enjoy the new restaurant.
Sincerely, Mercan Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful food, avoid this place if you can”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

While this place offers beautiful views of goreme, the food is less than desirable. It must rank as one of the two worst meals I have had in my one month of travel in turkey. the bread with the tomato dip was passable. and then came the lentil soup. My friend tasted it and asked about the pungent cigarette smell. I was curious and took a sip and tasted it instantly. It reeked like poison. I told the waiter about it and he said he would ask the chef. The Shish kebab that arrived later tasted clearly of bad meat, perhaps fishballs at one point. The ayran tasted very sad too and was overpriced. The waiter took the soups off our bill but no explanation was given for them after he consulted with the chef. Avoid this place if you can. Many other good options out there in goreme.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Spacebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeytiKurt, Public Relations Manager at Mercan Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for review!
We listen carefully to all the reviews. We would like to inform you that we have carried out reconstruction of the restaurant. And also changed the menu. We will be happy to see you again. And we hope that you enjoy the new restaurant.
Sincerely, Mercan Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

A good restaurant for us can be good without three components:atmosphere, food and service. A delicious assortment of dishes to choose and makes for a long time to be greedy - I want to try everything at once. Perfection and beauty of cooking dishes - a special thank you. And most importantly, I should note that - service. Beauty dishes would not be so bright, if not for us so caring. Three words: professional, elegant, delicious. We will definitely come back to you. Because we are in love with you!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercan Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing