We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous service, mediocre food, overpriced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of A'laturca Restaurant

A'laturca Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 99 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: American, Indian, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In the heart of Cappadocia, and probably in one of the most interesting natures of the world where cultures and civilizations are mingled, the A’la Turca restaurant is established in 2003 in order to represent and showcase the anatolian food in the world through the touristic activity in Cappadocia. Therefore we made the difference in our cuisine concept compared to the restaurants of the region. And now, in 2013, we pushed over the limits of our menu to encompass the whole traditional turkish food, revisited by our Chef.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Horrendous service, mediocre food, overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice atmosphere in the restaurant which got our hopes up. But started bad with them bringing lamb instead of chicken, waited a long time for the food. They didn't check once on if the food was decent, if we needed anything. We finished and waited 30 minutes, and I had to grab a waiter/waitress to get the menus to look at dessert. We decided on dessert but couldn't get the waiter/waitress again, so paid and walked out without ordering the dessert. They are very expensive and what you get for food quality and service is atrocious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rjl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    19
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner al fresco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

we had read about this restaurant in the Lonely Planet and decided to go and try it. we were given a seat outside, a nice waitress attended to us and tried her very best to please us. While we perused over the menu, we were offered a dish of olive oil and a wonderful spice ,called ZAHTER, which was divine. Because we loved it so much, the waitress came back with a second dish! We chose a main course, a typical meaty dish from the area and thought it to be very tasty. I also tried the dessert of dried fig with walnuts, which I found interesting and enjoyable.
Our waitress was attentive to our wishes , and even though her English was hesitant, she tried to very best to understand us and reply to all our questions. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely recommend! Baffled by the bad reviews.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Really shocked to have read some of the negative reviews of A'laturca as I'd recommend it to anyone based on a recent visit Our food was excellent and the service was attentive but not overly so. My starter of warm hummous and pastrami was very tasty and the helping was generous. The main course of lean chicken breast with a yogurt and spinach sauce was also delicous. Our bread basket of bread was quickly replaced with a fresh one - even though there were stil a couple of slices left. We were also given a choice of complementary hot drinks to end our meal. The terrace provides a fantastic view although it is a little breezy on an evening at this time of year. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieeB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting and an incredible desert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The setting is splendid. Decor inside is very beautiful. The terrasse has beautiful hangings and has a partial view on the mountains.

First and main courses were quite good but just a little bland.

The desert was the tastiest I ever had! Figs with walnuts, very juicy with a nice apricot sauce I believe.

It was not expensive I thought, esp. compared to other places that were not quite as pleasant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bad food and mediocre service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The worst restaurant we ate at during our entire 2 1/2 week trip to Turkey--the food was off, the service was slow and rather unfriendly and the prices were way too high for what was on offer. The meze must've been a week old. The restaurant should be shut down as a health hazard.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judekiwivancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A'laturca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to A'laturca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing