We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superficial, but the place is so fairy!”
Review of Melek Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melek Cave Hotel
Ranked #42 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I think in Goreme tourism increased too fast, much more than service level.
Melek Cave is a normal place run with a superficial mood but, fortunately for everyone, the overall context is such a fairy place that you don't usually need much to enjoy your time...
We saw the owners/managers once arrived, then no more. To tell the truth, we never looked for them, and they never crosschecked with us. Beakfast was standard, again, with the whole service table left under the rising sun, butter and jam melting together with olives cheese and tomatos (an adjoining much nicer hotel adopted the same melting approach, actually... at least we paid less!). Room was nice, in the cave, great termal insulation then, and bathroom was essential. No one entered our room to clean or tidy it, but we're not maniacs and we survived our mess!
Last day, checkout time, here they are again, the owners/managers, wishing us we've been fine and asking for a Trip Advisor review: here we go, review is served!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gneppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Melek Cave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

We traveled from New York and we loved Hussein and his son (the owner). We speak turkish so it was very much like a family atmosphere. The sheets need to be updated and the breakfast area needs to be renovated as well. One of the days we were there it rained and there were pots and pans inside the breakfast area to catch the water from leaking. Either way, the hotel is NOT all that but we LOVED Hussein!!!! We will go back just to see how he is doing!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bentley475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The hotel is quite close to the centre of the village so we just found it when looking for accommodation. As we were in Capadocia we wanted to sleep in a cave. This place was offering such an opportunity at a reasonable price (50 Turkis lira per twin room, breakfast included). Unfortunately the truly cave-rooms don't have windows to the open air. As it turned out later they are very cold - even during daytime, which was the reason why I got cold. Nevertheless the staff was very friendly and the atmosphere is homey although they didn't speak any English but for "OK", so communication is a problem here. As it turned out when we checked out, they wanted to charge us for breakfast, as they misunderstood the negotiations during checking (there was a Turkis guy who translated for us). All in all, we paid only the agreed amount and they agreed to it. They didn't clean the room during our 3-night stay at all. The owner can cook a tasty dinner for you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adampl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed at the Melek Cave Hotel in mid-October, 2009 and had a wonderful stay at this unique cave hotel.

From the center of Gorme where the bus depot is, there is a short four block hike, mostly uphill , which gives a wonderful view of the city and the rolling hills below. The owner, Ali Kanbur and his three sons are great hosts and the rooms and dining rooms are truly in a cave with the lovely outdoor terrace where we enjoyed breakfast.

We needed bus tickets to the next destination and one of the young men hopped on his motorbike and brought them back to us pronto. The oldest son, Effe, has the best English skills, but even when he was away, we were able to communicate with Ali and the other brothers. Their hospitality was gracious and friendly. We had a delightful time.

One of the fun aspects is that the next hotel over that shares a common wall has rooms that averaged $600 a night. At the Melek Cave Hostel, the rooms are very reasonably priced.

An added treat one morning was that we heard the “ whoosh” of the hot air balloons firing over us at 7:00 am and went outside to count 10 hot-air balloons flying just over our cave. We took beautiful photographs against a clear blue sky!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverTripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The hotel is ideally located: not in the middle of the crowded area but at the same time very close to shops, restaurants and cafes. The room we stayed in was a cave room, which was rather dark because it only had one window which opened to an inner courtyard. However, this is not a big problem if you are not planning to spend much of your time in the room. The bed and the furniture was OK, however with a little effort the bathroom could have been better. The breakfast was also OK with enough varieties. And having the breakfast in the terrasse was very pleasing. I would recommend this hotel to those who prefer to spend their money not for accommodation but for sightseeing and activities.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serkan_Ankara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

the rooms are very nice, large and clean; the price for the rooms are amazing low; the service was fantastic, the people so helpful, warm and giving great advices.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

This is a great little hotel tucked rıght into the cliffs of Historical Goreme. (And near the center of town and the Open Air Museum.) The rooms are spacious, each room has it's own very clean bathroom. Breakfast on a rooftop terrace is included. The price is right at $42 to $58 a night for a double. The owner works at the Goreme Open Air Museum so is very knowledgeable about the area and is very helpful. The owner and his family are very warm and welcoming. There are great amenitıes - free internet use, laundry service, and also free pick-up from the bus station.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LittleAnnieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#64 of 78 in Goreme
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Goreme Ascension Cave Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dorm Cave
The Dorm Cave
#45 of 76 in Goreme
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Valley Cave House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melek Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melek Cave Hotel

Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 28, Goreme, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $21 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melek Cave Hotel is located in the center of Göreme and surrounded with fairy chimneys. We have both cave and Ottoman-style arched rooms to offer the best comfort for our guest. In our cave hotel, you may have your drinks and meals in our garden or on the terrace, where there is a good choice of local and imported drinks. The owners have good knowledge about the region and are happy to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Melek Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melek Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing