We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel during our trip to Turkey. The hotel is quite unique in its architecture and offers wonderful views of Gerome. Rooms are reasonably sized and provided with heating and a tea/coffeee maker. Our room did get a bit cold in the night, though. Wi-fi is available in the lobby. Breakfast was adequate but limited in terms of variety. I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay if you are visiting Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niluanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Cave Hotel Saksagan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

HOSPITALITY
We were travelling by bus from Panukkale to Goreme & the bus driver dropped us in middle of no where some 40km from goreme, From a petrol pump there we somehow managed to call the manager & he was kind enough to explain the attendant there to arrange a drop for us. Upon reaching we had to wait till 11 am till some room got vacated but till then we were made comfortable with a nice turkish breakfast & coffee. The manager guided us regarding which tour operator to select for the day tour visiting places & also drove us to the Devrish Whirls in the night. Because of language issues were had been facing problems in booking a hotel in Malatya & the manager called the hotel in Malatya & arranged our accommodation in that place.
ROOMS
Comfortable, Nice , clean & cozy rooms. Beautiful settings. Value for money

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krithika_2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We absolutely loved our trip to Goreme, and owe a lot of it to our experience at Saksagan. The location is great. Very close to "downtown" and you can easily walk to all kinds of restaurants, cafés and shop, as well as the bus station. It has a beautiful courtyard to eat breakfast during the warmer months, or just sit around and drink a tea.

Numan, the owner, was fantastic. He went over everything we could do in the area, booked our balloon ride and tours, and arranged our airport transfers. He personally drove us up to the top of a hill to start a hike, and even ordered cake when he found out it was my husband's birthday! The other man working at reception (whose name I forget) was incredible, always welcoming us back every night, serving our breakfast, helping out with everything, waking up at 4 am to make sure we made our airport transfer.

The rooms were a little tattered, but that's hardly worth mentioning since Numan told us he has plans for renovations this winter. We stayed in a cave room, and were only able to get wi-fi in the lobby. I'm not sure if this was because of the thick stone walls, or if none of the rooms get wifi.

We would stay there again, and I am recommending it to my parents who are planning a trip to Cappadocia soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the fairy chimney cave rooms, which was very cozy and gave us a great view of th...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest-Cave, Manager at Cave Hotel Saksagan, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear Friends,

Thank you for your compliments about us.
It was a pleasure hosting you during your stay in Cappadocia.

We would be pleased to welcome you for another and another time.

Warmest Regards,

Cave Hotel Saksagan
Numan ATAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We were greeted warmly by Nazeir and Numan (Numan is the owner of the hotel) upon arrival with a traditional Turkish coffee, Turkish tea and many more drinks. As we enjoyed the drinks Numan explained everything we wanted to see and do in Cappadocia and Goreme. Furthermore he volunteered to drive us to some attractions (not for a fee), we didn't need him to drive us around as we were travelling by car. Numan was courteous, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and fluent in English, most of that we didn't experienced in two weeks of travel in Turkey.
Rooms were fairly sized, even though we are a couple we had a triple room, our (single) friend got a double room. Both rooms had good size bathrooms with hot water, tea & coffee making facility and most importantly comfy beds.
If you need anything Nazir is more than happy to help you .Wi-Fi is available in the hotel so as airport pickups from Nevshier
In the morning breakfast is served in the lovely courtyard, traditional Turkish fair with omelettes cooked by Nazir.
One night in the lobby I met Osman (Numan’s dad) one thing led to a another and we ended up talking for hours over some Turkish tea. He was telling me his life story and life as it was in little cave village Goreme. And that was the highlight of my trip to turkey. Listening to his stories of a bygone era and the knowledge of old was priceless.
Overall we had a good stay in Cave Hotel Saksagan. One of the best hotels when it comes to service.

Room Tip: Cave rooms are bit smaller than the other rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at the Cave Hotel Saksagan for a few nights and the owner and manager really went out of their way to welcome us, and ensure our stay was very comfortable.

The room was very cozy, especially the pillows set up just outside the room to lounge with friends and drink tea. The courtyard area is very beautiful and a fine place to enjoy your breakfast before visiting the sites.

I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely book again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muaad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband, friends and I stayed for 3 nights in May/11. The host/manager - Numan - was fantastic and went out of his way to welcome us, provide us with useful information about the Cappadocia area and ensure we had everything we needed. Our traditional room was in a fairy chimney - clean, comfortable and had a great Turkish flare. Our friends had an equally quaint room, a bit of a problem with the shower drain - not a big deal, and arrived in the room the second morning to find towel "swans" and rose petals on the freshly made bed. Breakfast buffet was delicious - try the sauce (made from grapes - can't remember the name) for the yogurt! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We arrived in Goreme after a long trip from Boston via Frankfurt and Istanbul. Numan met us at the airport and started right in telling us about the area. Numan's friendly helpfulness was the highlight of our stay at Cave Hotel Saksagan.

We were in a fairy chimney room. The room was small, but we're used to that when we travel abroad. The rock walls were decorated with carpets, it was very homey. The bathroom was adequate. On the first day we awoke around 6:00 to see the sky full of balloons, a cheery start to a great Turkish vacation.

Breakfast was a cold buffet, with a freshly made omlette available.

Numan was extremely helpful. He arranged a rental car so we could get away from the Goreme tourist crowds and explore the countryside. Anything we asked, he answered, anything we needed he told us how to get it. Never pushy, he offerred us many suggestions. The best was a visit to see a Mevlana Sema (Whirling Dervishes) ceremony, which was a very spiritual experience. We had similar opportunities later in Istanbul and they were corrupted floor shows.

The one suggestion I have is to spend more time inspecting the rooms. There were several annoyances that could be easily fixed. We would knock off a star but we like Numan and don't want to hurt his rating. So Numan, please spend a bit more time reviewing the rooms. The bracket that holds the shower head on the wall was broken, so you had to position the head just so. We enjoyed an in-room coffee one morning and the cups were not washed nor was new coffee put out for the next day. There are no hooks or racks in the bathroom to hang towels. There are only a handful of hooks on the walls, no dresser or armoire so we lived out of our suitcases.

Despite these items, when we return (we will, we love Turkey!), we will return to the Cave Hotel Saksagan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bishikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#58 of 78 in Goreme
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#42 of 78 in Goreme
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#35 of 78 in Goreme
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gerdis Evi
Gerdis Evi
#51 of 78 in Goreme
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#43 of 78 in Goreme
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lalezar Cave Hotel
Lalezar Cave Hotel
#69 of 78 in Goreme
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Hotel Saksagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Hotel Saksagan

Address: Kagni Yolu Sok. No:1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $31 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cave Hotel Saksagan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is an old cave Cappadocian house turned into an inn in 1983 and restorated in 2002. At the moment it is a small boutique hotel with 12 en-suite rooms that offer you history, nature and culture altogether and is ready to become your own home in Göreme. Rooms are located within fairy-chimneys and carved into rocks. All the rooms are clean, spacious, and decorated in the Ottoman Style by owner Osman Atak. “Although it wasn’t easy to work in the fairy-chimneys, because they are very tough, we achieved to set up the rooms and bathrooms into the fairy-chimneys with the help of modern devices” says Mr. Osman. Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN has a wonderful garden with the smells of hundreds of different flowers. The hotel is also known as “Garden of Piraye Hanım” by Turkish people after taking part in the common film series “Asmali Konak”. Breakfast in Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is served either on the terrace, with its magical Göreme view, or in the garden accompanied with birds in songs. Special dinner parties or BBQ can be arranged on request. The hotel has 24 hours reception and provides hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cave Hotel Saksagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Hotel Saksagan Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing