We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm stay”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #34 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It's extremely nice family run hotel. Had loads of support, trip advice, warm teas free of charge, etc. We had our camping stove with us and we were aloud to share the kitchen and cook our own meals in the amazing communal dining room / reception / kitchen. It was very cold outdoors and this place was an amazingly warm refuge. Had a very good sleep in one of the cave rooms. So quiet and nice. Highly recommend the place.
Aigars & Lija

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AigarsLauzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 433 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have spent two nights there with three more people in the cuadruple room. From my point of view the hotel has many wonderful things:

-Hospitality. People are very kind and help you with any doubt you have or anything you need. They recommended us things to do, helped us to choose a good tour in Cappadocia, printed our boarding passes, offered us all time tea and coffee,...

- The room was amazing. It was a real cave and it was very nice and clean. We had a private bathroom which was also very clean. They replaced shampoo and gel every day. They also gave us towels. In the room there was a small table with a kettle, tea and cups to have tea everytime you want.

- Breakfast. Breakfast is included in the price and I really liked it. It is the typical Turkish breakfast: black olives, tomato, cucumber, cheese, bread, cold meat, a piece of cake and packets of honey, butter and cacao cream.

From my point of view the hotel is very cheap having into account all the facilities they offer you.

I would go back without thinking twice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are a couple traveling in Turkey for two weeks and after staying at Elif Star Caves every other hotel in that price range felt lame.

From the moment we were picked up at the airport the service was excelent. The transfer fee was respected as agreed with the hotel's manager, no hiden

charges or trying to get more money in the last minute, as it has happened in other places.

At the beginning I was a bit suspicious about the manager's politenes and his drive towards customer satisfaction but then we relized that he (Kadir) is

highly educated in management and capable to comunicate with his guests in at least Turkish, English and Spanish.

Kadir gave us good advise on what to do, making the best combination of activities when taking a guided tour, or folowing a route by ourselves; advising on

the best weather conditions for baloon flights and for the bus transportation to Ankara. He was never pushing to take any of those, and if we decided not to, our decision was respected (there was not the smallest sign of hostility as it has happened to us in many other places).

When I was making the trip reservations, I was a bit suspicious of sleeping inside a cave that was carved on the side of one of the mountains in Goreme, i

thought it to be unconfortable and claustrophobic. Reviews at trip advisor were good so I decided to take the risk. I can now say that I was wrong. The

room was spacious (for a cave), the bed was very confortable, the en-suite bathroom had very hot water and the view from the floors terrace was superb as you could see directly Uchisar castle and the rock formations in the valley.

Location wise the place is ideal. It is located on the route from/to the Pigeon Valley and very close to all other hicking routes. The bus station and city

center is located at 7 mins walk. There you can find plenty of restaurants.

The food at the hotel is traditional Turkish home made, very good taste and fresh, since all ingredients are normally bought before the dinner is prepared.

The environment at the hotel was very pleasant and with all other positive points it was a great found for accomodation. We planned to be in Goreme

for 3 nights, but with the magic of the place together with the enjoyable stay at the hotel, we decided to stay one more night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two days and one night here and it was fantastic. Our room was half cave half room which is exactly what you want to experience in Cappadocia. The best part of our experience was Kadir, who runs the hostel. He speaks at least four languages and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Our balloon ride was cancelled due to weather which means I will have to return someday. When that happens, I will definitely stay at Elif Star.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the best that i ever visited. Although we stayed in a cave room, it was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The owner of this hotel offered to cook dinner for a reasonable price. The owner is a licensed tour guide and on our first and second day, he took us on a tour around cappadocia with a reasonable price. He was very nice and helped us, in anyway he could. Personally, i would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank mirza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I cannot begın to descrıbe how wonderful of a tıme we had ın thıs place. The famıly that runs the place was amazıng. We got our room upgraded for free. The breakfast was amazıng. They helped us coordınate all of our excursıons and even helped plan out our flıghts and shuttles to the aırport. We were even gıven a personal tour of the area and he used to be a guıde as a professıon so he ıs very knowledgeable and knows the area very well. They really went the extra mıle to take care of us and make sure we had what we needed and saw and experıenced what we wanted. I would never choose to stay anywhere else. We have been travellıng for 4 months and thıs has been the absolute best experıence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I booked this room through a travel agent. I stayed in November 2013, and it was amazing. I see why my travel agent spoke so highly of the place. It was an amazing value for the price (I stayed in the dorm room, but it was relatively empty so I had the room mostly to myself). The breakfast was good, and the staff and manager were very friendly. I even slept in one day and missed breakfast by a couple hours, but the manager said no problem and willingly offered me a whole plate! Great place to stay, good location, overall A+.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thmfsanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 77 in Goreme
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing