We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elif Star Caves
Nearby Hotels
$63
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
331
81
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
81
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr kadircave staythe busballoon flightearly morningcappadociahosthospitalityballooning
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 433 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

For the price this would have been a great hotel had we gotten any room but the one we did. First the good, the staff is friendly, the location is good (just a couple minute walk and you are in the middle of town) and the rooms are cool looking. The bad. My buddy and I were placed in the new room on the bottom floor right next to the reception area. There was a larger bedroom with a big bed and a small bedroom with a small bed and a bathroom. The room was a neat looking cave room. However, the larger bedroom is right next to the kitchen / bedroom of the family that runs it with the front door facing the outside breakfast area where everyone eats. Neither side has any sound proofing, there is actually an old door between the bedroom and the kitchen as this was probably used by the staff till recently. You could tell the room was changed to a bedroom just in the past few weeks.
While the family is fairly quiet at night, as soon as morning starts, or more correctly that early morning riser gets up, you hear everything. I am a heavy sleeper and was awaken several times.
Stay here, just get a different room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our cave room was spacious and charming, and the views from the terrace were just beautiful (basically it's like this everywhere in this area). The location is just slightly off the main road so it is quiet and still close enough to the restaurants, shop and the bus station in Goreme. Hot and tasty breakfast was included (the only place that offered hot breakfast throughout our trip in Turkey).

It seems to me that it's running by a lady with her daughters who although might be inexperienced (when we were there, a year ago) but for sure they tried to make sure that we had a great stay. The lady tried to sell us some tour packages during our first breakfast. Once we told her that we wanted to explore Cappodocia on a rental scooter, she didn't try to convince us anymore. We booked our hot air balloon ride through another place, she didn't say anything. One night we returned to the hotel really late. She was concerned but didn't ask too many questions so I'd say she is quite reasonable.

We had the chance to see another two hotels in Goreme and one of them wasn't even a real "cave room" as they advertised. Elif star is worth the price we paid for.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank YYTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have very conflicted views of this property. The location is quite good - just outside the main strip in Goreme. Good access to Pigeon Valley, which is a pleasant 45-60 minute hike. Unfortunately we had to listen to a lot of dog barking and howling all night (something that is likely a problem all over the region) and my husband complained that the plumbing was very noisy (although the plumbing didn't bother me).

Our 2 rooms were pleasant - our bed was one of the more comfortable that we had in our 2 weeks in Turkey. My kids complained that their bathroom leaked water from above, but they were clean and tidy. The shower head in our bathroom was hilarious - shot water out the sides, so finding the best angle to hold it was an adventure. The common areas really leave a lot to be desired - the tables are cheap and the balcony areas seemed inaccessible, which is a shame because the view is nice. The complimentary breakfast is OK - nothing special, but did the trick. The staff are friendly and helpful - very accommodating. If you are committed to a cave hotel experience, this is a reasonable cost alternative. At the end of the day, it suited us fine. We would have liked a more pleasant area to lounge out of the sun in the hot afternoons, but at the end of the day, we had a great time in Goreme.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to face the same way. We were in room #6. Our kids had room #5. Our kids room was cooler than ours, but our room was not uncomfortably warm. Hard to give a strong recommendation one way or the other.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Kind staff, comfortable rooms, amazing location. Unlike some hotels that advertise "cave" but there isn't one in sight, this hotel has rooms with cave walls throughout. I am happy with my choice in hotel here in Goreme. A great price for such a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashamariewiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I'm stealing another reviewer's title because it captures the hotel well. The staff was the friendliest and most helpful we experienced during our stay in Turkey; just super-nice. (Thanks to all there!!) It's a simple hotel, not fancy in the least, but quite functional---and you get the experience of staying in a cave. Great value.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rekmvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews