We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful-like family”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful-like family”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A great cave hotel! I stayed there 10 years ago and went back 1 week ago to find the same great hospitality! The location is perfect: just 5 minutes walk from downtown so very quiet but still near everything and not in the hill so no need to go up 1 million stairs to go back to your hotel each time, the view from the rooms is amazing and each room has balcony. The staff is so friendly and welcoming and they will go out of their way to help you make the best of your time in Kapadokya. I love this place and will always come back! Its like behing at home with your loved ones yet in a fairy house setting :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
144
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My mum and I stayed there last November for a few days, and it was a great place to stay. 2 minutes from the centre, comfortable rooms, and the staff is really lovely and accommodating. We really enjoyed it and recommend it to future travellers. :)
Also, there was free wifi , always a plus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved this hotel, it is in the beautiful valley facing to gorgeous view very peaceful place. Rooms are not luxury but very clean, comfortable, always hot water and very nice breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel if you like to stay in a cave room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, IN
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our time in Goreme and the Cappadocia region was enchanting, and Elif Star Cave Hotel made our experience the most it could be.

Location: The hotel is located on the edge of town so the walk to restaurants and other attractions is a little big longer than might be ideal (10-15 minutes). But the view of the valley and surrounding fairy chimneys is so beautiful! And we didn't mind being a little farther removed from the hustle and bustle of the shopping and restaurant district. We were told the walk to the Goreme Open Air Museum was about one kilometer, but my guess is that it was closer to two miles. (Maybe it just felt that long because it was HOT!)

The Room: We loved the experience of staying in a cave hotel! You can see that the facility is truly carved into a stone structure. Our room stayed cool because of the stone surroundings. We loved the rugs on the floor and the carved out niches. The room was very spacious. Outside the room we had a lovely little balcony with chairs to enjoy the magnificent view of the valley. Only once did we not have hot water, but mostly it was there and plentiful. The bathroom is spacious and bright although it does feel a little odd to not have an enclosed shower. We embraced the experience.

The Hotel and Staff: The hotel has a great common area outside to enjoy breakfast or just resting before or after an excursion. It also has a cute dining area inside with a lending library and a decidedly back-packer/relaxed feel. The staff is extremely helpful and lovely. Breakfast is not a buffet, but made to order by the staff. It is delicious and filling. We were also offered tea in the afternoons. Perihan (the female manager) and the other gentleman working there really went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and to take care of our needs (carrying bags to our shuttles, waking up early and calling excursion companies when they didn't arrive on time, etc...). I don't know if I've ever felt so looked after. Yes, there is a bit of a language barrier there, but with a cheerful attitude, we were always able to get everything figured out with them. Also, they are going to offer you excursions. The commissions they make from them are part of how the hotels survive in that area. Perihan never made it feel high-pressured, she simply let us know what was available. When we said no, she accepted it. When we said yes, she took care of all the arrangements, calling excursion companies, letting us know pick-up times, and then simply adding the cost to our hotel bill. They now accept credit cards which is a huge convenience! When we departed Perihan gave me a warm hug and kiss and thanked us generously. All of this for an outrageously cheap nightly rate!

I would highly recommend Elif Star for a very authentic, affordable, and enjoyable stay in the region. I know that if we ever return to the area it is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed here in October of 2012 .. beautiful cave hotel very friendly staff. I stayed in a single room which was quite cozy and comfortable. I met many friends while staying here.. great location, quiet, and relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very nice stay. The staff members were very friendly and helpful, the included breakfast was very nice, and the room was clean and pretty. We had prepared for a cold room in Goreme because we had read that many hotels don't turn their heat on, but we were comfortable in our room. I really liked the eating/ reception area as well.It was a great place to talk to fellow travelers and the staff members. We were an easy walking distance to everything and all around had a very nice experience. I think the helpful staff members especially made our stay a good experience. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Elif Star, and had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly - helping us with restaurant recommendations, hiking tips, and even found a shuttle bus for us to get to our flight (when the bus companies said no shuttle buses were running at that time!). Plus, the view from our room was beautiful.

The heater in our room was broken (but we just used an extra blanket), and sometimes there was no hot water in the bathroom, but those were minor issues. I'd definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 72 in Goreme
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#24 of 72 in Goreme
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#47 of 72 in Goreme
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Suites
Goreme Suites
#14 of 72 in Goreme
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Property: Elif Star Caves
Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing