We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfactory staff attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia
Ranked #74 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My travel partner and I recently stayed at this hotel two nights. Our original intention was to stay there for up to four nights if the services were satisfactory. What originally attracted us to the hotel was its prime location which is near hot air-balloon take-off site as well as the Goreme Open-Air Museum. We were able to enjoy morning air-balloon take-off activities, and so, we are satisfied with the excellent view from the room.

There are, however, some unsatisfactory points which prompted us to decide an early check-out after two days. While the room and food were O.K., services and attitudes of staff, particularly at restaurant, were disappointing for a four-star hotel. The general negative attitudes of staff bothered us most. With the exception of one reception staff, we did not come across with any staff who greeted us with smiling or pleasant faces. Most of them maintained cold faces even when we said greetings towards them. One staff at the restaurant did not even bother to respond to our hellos when we said Turkish hellos to him. During our stay, we never had any disputes or issues with the hotel and staff, so we were quite annoyed by their bad reactions. As a result, we decided to shorten our 4-day stay plan just to two.

I personally feel that it is a shame that staff of a four-star hotel behaved with such an unpleasant manner towards its guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a vally view which can enable you to see air-balloon take-off site as well as ba...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jaewon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 203 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hotel has a very good location - nearly Open Air Museim and path to Red Valley, Rose Valley, small valley of love. We stay in main building. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Very good view on the mountains and at early morning you can see how airballoon starts. We were there 4/01-7/01 and only 10 visitors were in the hotel. So main restaurant was closed and we have meal in the lobby bar - standard breakfast include: one plate with 4 kinds of cheese, tomatoes, cucambers, jem; omlets; cofee. Standard dinner - salad, soup, main dishes, desert. No choice, but service is very good.
I should say about bad - after our departure from hotel (4-45 a.m) two our friends had got bad surprise - some money were stolen from their suitcase (more chance during early last breakfast). I think you should take your many with yours.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This hotel is located in the ideal spot to enjoy this region of Turkey, each morning we got up to the sound of burners filling hot air balloons and the bright colors of 90 plus balloons in the area. The rooms were clean, staff very friendly. Highly recommend doing a hot air balloon adventure.Breakfast was good with made to order dishes. Great chocolate sauce too bad not around any other time than breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank striderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Unbelievable location - secluded among the cave ruins of Cappadocia. Great pool area, friendly staff, rooms with view of the rock dwellings, great bathrooms with separate scrubbing bench and whirlpool bath. Good breakfast buffet and delicious dinner buffet. Loved this hotel - very comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nites during May to explore the fairy chimneys in Cappadocia. The hotel is quite large, has modern a/c rooms with flat screen tv and free internet. Our room was a twin bed room on the 2nd floor-quiet ,clean, and spacious. The restaurant was quite good for breakfast and dinner. The hotel has a small pool which was not open. Our room looked out at the Goreme Open Air Park which is a series of rock churches used in 1 AD and is central to other parts of cappadocia in nearby Urgup. Definitely doo a ballon ride for 45 minutes-ours was cut sh ort because of bad weather se t t ing in and we had a abrupt and slightly bumpy landing. Our small group tour guide prevailed and we got a full refund.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stayed in this hotel very recently, I can only say that don't spend your time with searching any other hotel. Tourist hotel is convenient and very close to town center. It takes 3 mnts to walk to the bars, restaurants and local shops. You can watch all the baloons take off from its terrace. Rooms are lovely(We stayed in room 3002, which was a villa type), staff in the restaurant was great and so helpfull. The only thing dinner buffet wasn't brillant, but it was ok. Breakfast was better than dinner. It was a shame that the weather wasn't warm enough to hang around the pool, it looked very nice doh. Scenary from the hotel terrace was absulately beautiful, you can take lot of pictures from there. We did enjoy our holiday in Cappadocia and Tourist Hotel took a big part of it. I can recommend this hotel to everybody and certainly will be back with our family and friends when the weather is nicer.

Room Tip: Get the villa rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The good thing: location; the bad thing: location.

Conveniently located behind the OPEN AİR MUSEUM , this hotel is perfect for the traveler who seeks to explore the cappadocia area of nevsehir where bulk of the tourist sites are. I stayed there for 3 nights from Dec 31 till Jan 3 and everyday, walking past the göreme open air museum was an amazing experience; the grandeur and beauty of cappadkia really strikes me.

The nearest station is also nearby ürgüp and if you want to visit the Bazaar, Market or AVANOS this hotel is perfect as the base for you.

However, I realized that most of the restaurants near this hotel are mostly tourist centric and after speaking to a few locals, most of them told me that the old district is indeed catered mostly to tourists and if one wants to dine more like a local, the GÖREME district is a better fit. That said, I had to make my way to the UCHİSARdistrict by walkevery day I was there as I simply refuse to be part of the whole tourist trap dining circuit in cappadokia..

The hotel itself is very comfy and the beds provided a soulful sleep for me. However, if you, like me, got a room that has a door to connect to the next room, then be prepared to hear some of the noises from your neighbor. For the price of $90 a night that I paid through expedia, I find this to be a great hotel for the first time visitor to the amazing area.The staff are helpful and accommodating; what impressed me most was that they actually gave me another room as I got into nevsehir at 5am and checked in at 6am, as such, my original room was not ready. They immediately offered another room for me to rest before calling me in the morning to inform me when my room was ready. services staff from the restaurant was so helpful in explaining the sites and the location and he is a true gem that any guest there should approach! Another plus point is the free wifi in the hotel and rooms! Very fast and reliable connection to plan any last minute itinerary.

However, if i ever return to the city again, I'll like to try a hotel in the tourıst district so that I can zip the area more like a local and escape the touristy sites since I've seen it before.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cem_hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
#25 of 78 in Goreme
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Goreme Kaya Hotel
Goreme Kaya Hotel
#26 of 78 in Goreme
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ciner Hotel
Ciner Hotel
#73 of 78 in Goreme
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#21 of 78 in Goreme
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia

Address: Goreme Acik Hava Muzesi Yolu, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#11 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $37 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Hotels&Resorts Cappadocia on the way to open air musuem,300 meter away form city center and bus station,45km away from nevsehir airport and 75 km away from kayseri airport where you can imagine yourself on quiteness and liveliness.At the middle of fairy chimneys which there are magical times you can spend and having sunbath on the edge of swimming pool where you can have quiteness over chimney tales which you reach peaks of your pleasure on one of the unique hotels. Guests may have their drink at the lobby bar and where they can reach unique flavors of local and international cusine at Grape A’la Carte Restaurant, apparently sensitive enjoyable into the non foundable times. Where the kids club on the lush green of lawns where we appeal families with children also spending good times with reading books at library and having fun at games room within relishing the enjoyable times. Guests will have comfortable and modern rooms in accommodation in the facility with the aim from unique and splendid desing made up of cottage style villa’s in our magical times who can spend a time in jacuzzi and fireplace where our door opens for forever.Also our standart rooms are mere and elegant and some of our rooms has jacuzzi also with some of them has turkish hammam type bathrooms into luxury and elagance where to be get relaxed. To get away stress of the day and relax via bali massage in Spa or get into grape juice filled pool.To get more relaxed enter sauna or into turkish hammam can make scrub and foam massage.Also in fitness center with sport tools you can gain you form easily. Passing around the hotel in the early morning hours without getting up from your bed, you can see the hot air balloons and unique images that leave an irresistible and the taste would be common, sound is not heard, but your heart will jump out of place. At the breakfast when having your organic and local taste of flavors will see hot air ballons passing close by you with magnificent view of the flow of time. Guests may sit in the lobby convenient and comfortable via using free wireless internet or business center. The guest relation will help you with the local environment and relevant information easily as well as can make reservations for hot air ballons,atv safari and underground city tours.Also can request for guidance for the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia Goreme, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing