We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”
Review of Sofa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Avanos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a a fabulous experience at Sofa where we stayed in the Kars room for 4 nights. The wonderful building and furnishings, the great breakfast, the hospitality of the owners and the perfect service made our stay there unforgettable. The hotel is unique and with all the modern comforts. The town is quaint, relaxed and a lovely place to use as a base for exploring Capadoccia.
Thanks so much to Hoca and the rest of the Sofa team, I hope to return someday!

Room Tip: We loved the Kars room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Sofa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Sofa as part of a hiking package arranged by Inntravel. Our stay was brief but very enjoyable, and the town is quite interesting, particularly given its history as a source for the clay used for millennia in its pottery. Breakfast was good, and we were only sorry we couldn't hang around long enough to explore further.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience we has at the Sofa Hotel. My husband and I stayed here for a week and each and everyday was made special by the family and staff that run it. The hotel has a beautiful, quiet, and historically appointed courtyard. We stayed in one of their cave rooms and what a room. These are large vaulted rooms decorated with local artistic and historical objects. The bathes are large, the beds comfortable, the location ideal, and the breakfasts wonderful. Make sure you try the rosé preserves-fantastic.

Hoca and his family and their staff are the friendliest and most helpful of any I have met in my many years of travel. I strongly recommend this hotel when visiting the area. In addition, Avenos is quaint little town that is quiet and has lovely pottery yet close to all "tourist" attractions without all the hustle and bustle.

I give this hotel 10 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

ı stayed 3 nights at the sofa house.Thıs is one of the best hotel ı have ever seen with its clean rooms and friendly staff.I felt like my home the breakfast was so delicious..ıf you go cappadocia ı definitely recomended thıs lovely place for a good and enjoyble holiday.You can finding every hour by bus to göreme,just 5 minute,sofa owner name is hoca,the carpets and antique collector, everwhere is ceramic,I have never seen before, great wireless access. great stay with great view...

Room Tip: all luxe room is ok
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanievenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed at the travel ınn after leaving a hotel ın avanos.We wandered ın looking for a double cave room ,within our price range, and were shown a beautiful room with an incredıble view.and our own semi-privat balcony,we were amazed and excited. the hotel is run by a family,headed up bye muharrem and they were very friendyl helpful and welcoming. I would definitely stay there again.The views from the terrace are breathtaking. The terrace itself is also super cute and cozy, great place to relax in between sightseeing - especially with the cats! staff is incredibly helpful and really takes care of you to make the most of your experience,make sure also do ahot air balloons ride with kaya balloos and a day tour thanks sofa team

Room Tip: caguşin is ok
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a find! Large spacious room, great breakfast, friendly owners, GREAT location! The hotel keeps going and going with lots of exterior hallways to explore - all decorated with local artifacts. The day we left we had to leave early and instead of making us a box breakfast they simply opened the breakfast earlier for us. Avanos is a lovely town with lots of little shops and workshops. Close to everything. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

my famiy and ı stayed thıs hotel2weeks ago,we dıd notknow want to expect sincethe vwas the first time we would be staying local hotel hotel is wonderfull,its everthings ok,lovely breakfast,staff is ok,very fridnyl,owner is very trust man,ı would certainly go back thanks sofa team

Room Tip: akyaka room is ok
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliviapeternewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avanos
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Riverside Mansion Hotel
5.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sakli Cave House
Sakli Cave House
#12 of 13 in Avanos
31 reviews
5.4 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofa Hotel

Address: Orta Mahalle Gedik Sokak No 9, Avanos 50500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Avanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Avanos
Price Range: $31 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofa Hotel Avanos
Sofa Hotel Cappadocia/Avanos, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing