We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Avanos
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for around 3 days during May 2013. Hotel ambience and food is good, rooms are decent. What I didn't like about this hotel is its service, staff is least concerned about customer service.For a hotel which is rated 5 star, I do not expect the kind of service offered, hence, was disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makarand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 583 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Pros
Beautiful building with a nice and spacious lobby area
ATM just outside the hotel
Good location(river view)
staff is good
Food- lots of variety

cons
rooms are average...kinda disappointing after seeing the entrance area and the lobby
elevator system very Confusing not properly organised
room walls like paper which is very annoying and disturbing especially when you are trying to sleep,could hear what people were talking in the corridor very clearly
Actual bath area very small and congested could barely move inside the bath cabinet

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 969Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We were checked-in fast as we arrived at 9 PM and the check-in desk was practically empty. Our room was located far in the hotel. After going through a series of corridors, we arrived in our deluxe room. It had a great spacious bathroom. Our room was overlooking the courtyard with a glimpse of the river. It was pretty small, but it was good. The TV has international channels like BBC. Overall the room is just wonderful. We woke up and we were greeted by falling snow! It was just amazing to see snowflakes falling just outside our window! We had an amazing breakfast with a lot of choices from hard-boiled eggs to fish. We had a quick breakfast and we hurried outside to see the snow. It was -6 Celcius outside, but I had a great time seeing the snow. Our stay at this hotel was just amazing and great.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river, it has an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on 30th and 31st of May 2013. Hotel looks good, but service terrible. I went for dinner on the 2nd day in this hotel's large restaurant and occupied a seat on a table reserved for Climax Tours. I was in the Climax Tours and was on the right place. A steward came to me asked to sit on the other table which was dirty. I politely asked him to clean the table and I will sit and he showed me the other table which was also dirty. I denied sitting on the dirty table and told him I am on the right table. He then turned the "Reserved" placard down on the table and asked me this is the wrong table and leave. I then left and complained to the restaurant in charge. He came near the table and without telling a word he went inside the kitchen and never came back even after 20 minutes. I then brought my Local Tour Guide and made to ask why he did so. The steward then only said NO PROBLEM and not SORRY. I & my wife, though very hungry, had to go without dinner on that night after this one and a half hour VERY BITTER HUMILIATING EXPERIENCE.

I will never come back to this hotel and advise others not to go to this kind of large hotel where there is no response for anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Srinivasmurthysv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We felt that this was some sort of "Night at the Musuem" revisited when we checked in . There was just two people in the huge hotel . No lunch , no room service , no valet , nobody to take our luggage. The first hint of people was to be found in the lift which was used by staff with big towel trolleys. We had wait 20 mins before we got the lift for us to go up . The communication and service was terrible. Night was exactly opposite - the whole hotel was swarming with chinese guests screaming everywhere. The buffets emptied out quickly and we could barely get anything substantial. And the stewards kept shifting us from our tables to accomodates these hordes. Won't recommend this for any tourists travelling alone or small groups.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyoti_Rohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with a group of 35. The physical plant can be called " beautiful", but the total experience was just slightly above average. The experience was diminished by the operation of the dining room. At breakfast, for example, not all the coffee dispensers were active at opening time, nor was the omlette and fried egg cook on duty. Thus groups with an early departure had lengthy waits for coffee, and only buffet food available. Dinner service take down began at 9:00 PM sharp, with the dessert buffet closed first, then the entre buffet and last, the salad buffet. Think about the impact on groups arriving late for dinner. One woman staff member was actually removing serving trays while people were trying to take their dinner from the very same tray!

Groups definitely receive preferential treatment in the dining room, and it was common to see people traveling on their own facing a dining room with every table marked with a tour group "Reserved" sign. Since the tables are cleared, but not reset after a group leaves, it can get dicey.

Otherwise, a nice property with good facilities

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a very beautiful building with a normal outside pool and gardens. The rooms were quiet, new and clean with all the basic needs: shower, soap, shower caps, clean towels, television, telephone, free wi-fi, and fridge but no mini-bar. The buffet was very big and varied; there were different dishes every night. The spa was adequate for 5 € and it was 10€ if you used the gym. There is nothing to do in the area but visiting the Capadoccia Parks and Valley. I think it is a good choice if you want to visit the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaESpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avanos
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
0.8 mi away
Riverside Mansion Hotel
0.0 mi away
Avrasya Hotel
Avrasya Hotel
#8 of 13 in Avanos
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanimkiz Konagi
Hanimkiz Konagi
#13 of 13 in Avanos
6 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sakli Cave House
Sakli Cave House
#12 of 13 in Avanos
34 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa

Address: Yeni Mah. Kizilirmak Cad. No 15, Avanos 50500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Avanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Avanos
Price Range: $49 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa Avanos, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing