We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the ornate facade & entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravanserai

Caravanserai
Ranked #47 of 99 things to do in Cappadocia
Attraction details
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Love the ornate facade & entrance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although the interior layout is pretty much the same as other Caravanserais we have visited, I loved the intricate design of the entrance on this one; it’s well-preserved, from the 13th century & I love the history of these places. It doesn’t take much imagination to picture the hustle, bustle & colours of the traders, merchants, animals & guards, all those centuries ago & the very name, “Silk Road” is rather ‘romantic’. We visited it whilst on our way to Tokali church, in Cappadocia & thought it worth the quick stop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nephthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
463 reviews
223 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“13th century seljukian masterpiece “Sultanhan” Caravanserai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visit this place on the Konya, most people visit this place as part of their tour. Its great to see a 13th century seljukian masterpiece “Sultanhan” Caravanserai. Caravanserai are scattered along the Silk Road.

These building were typically used as a hotel, stable and a market place. These places used to guard merchants in between their destination. This unique Seljuk architecture is a must for only a quick stop on the way to something better, I think the tour companies use it so people can move around and use the washrooms and take a break from all the driving.

There are clean toilets (you will have to pay), a small nice café with a convenience store, and a few souvenir shops outside the entrance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A nice stop on the way to Cappadocia”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I guess most people will visit this place as part of the journey to Cappadocia, like us who joined a Turkey tour group. It is amazing to learn that such 'hotel/shelter' existed in the 13th century as part of the silk road history. Our tour guide mentioned these Caravanserai were provided free by government and guarded by soldiers to ensure the merchants' safety. Every merchant could stay up to 3 days, and they must then move on to next Caravanserai on the silk road. This system helped to ensure enough vacancies for all merchants during the peak silk road period. Interesting history but the place is just plain old clean-up ruins within 4 very tall walls now. There are smaller size 'summer' rooms (for human) and a big 'winter' hall (for human and animals together) for viewing, but they are all dark and empty now. You can only imagine how it felt (or smelled) those days. I was told the tour company actually has to pay for our entrance, even though there is nothing much to see inside. There are clean toilets, a small cafe, and a few souvenir shops outside the entrance. Can't imagine why people would drive all the way to visit this attraction, unless it is 'on the way' to somewhere. The short visit did prompt me to google more about the silk road history :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank PoppyJn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“ANOTHER NEW EXPERIENCE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Cappadocia from Antalya. It was interesting to see the theater/hotel and there was a nice souvenier shop across the street. We also walked a ways up the trail and saw a few more ruins.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSANCROUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“13th Century Hotel on the Silk Road”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This was part of our south Cappadocia tour. I would not have visited the site otherwise. There wasn't much to it on the inside, apart from pretty designs above some columns and doors. We could tell that the site was not really taken care of. There was a car parked in one of the rooms inside. Other rooms gathered debris and abandoned materials. A big ladder stood against one of the courtyard walls with no one in sight to use it. Our tour guide explained that this was a 13th century hotel with stables and storage rooms that merchants used when traveling the Silk Road. I was excited to see what a hotel looked like at that time, but was disappointed when I got there. Don't go out of your way to see this place. There are more worthy sites to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OzziesPiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravanserai also viewed

 
Guzelyurt, Cappadocia
Guzelyurt, Cappadocia
 

Been to Caravanserai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing