We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Troy (Truva)

Troy (Truva)
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.30*
and up
Journey to Troy Day Tour from Istanbul
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Canakkale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Site of the heroic siege in in Homer's Iliad, Troy (Truva in Turkish, Ilion in Greek) was excavated in the 1870s by Heinrich Schliemann. He uncovered civilizations dating back 5,000 years, including best-preserved Roman architecture. Explanatory materials at the site are limited, so visitors should bring a good history text or hire a guide.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's very run down as to be expected but you can still walk through and touch the ancient rocks and walk along the walkways. Has a fascinating history and geographically is unusual.

Has the horse out front which I found corny but it is a tourist attraction and I took the obligatory photo along with everyone else.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HenryandLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    463
    314
    68
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Revealing the ancient culture”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when decided to visit Troy. We went in group of 5 with a guide, his name's Burak, who is very passionate about Troy and provided us with a lot of insights, informations about the site, history, excavations. There are wooden boards with a basic info, but I would recommend to take a guide if you want to find out sth more about Troy.
There are lots of ruins that might look like chaotic rubble but our guide pointed out details to the point you could image how it looked like in Troia time :)
There is still a lot of work, excavations and visitors centre, going on. The wooden horse at the entrance is modern design, and nothing to do with the archeological artefacts :) but is fu, kind of logo of the site :))

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank strega1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagadju
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Enormous wooden horse”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Walking around the ancient city of Homer's Troy it was easy to imagine what life was like in those times. Today only the ruins of the nine cities that were built on top of each other can be seen. An enormous replica of the Trojan horse is displayed and one can go inside the horse and imagine it to be full of soldiers. This is a very interesting place to visit for those interested in history and wars. Even for people who are not so keen on history, this place is still well worth a visit even if it is just to have your photo taken next to that enormous wooden horse. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“astonishing and quiet site”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we visited Troy in a group with a guide. The site was virtually empty so we had the chance to amble slowly about an astonishingly old site.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“See the movie instead”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are a person who is interested in history and have heard about Troy your whole life, a visit to this site will be a little disappointing. You might be able to imagine Troy as a large city that was fought over. The Trojan Horse out front is from the Movie and really does not add to the site. Restrooms area available. The site has been scoured by treasure hunters and the big trench that was dug still leaves a big scar on the site. If the board walkways are wet they are slick. I do not know what I expected to see but after a life time of reading about it, the rubble was not too exciting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WSCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troy (Truva) also viewed

Canakkale, Canakkale Province
Canakkale, Canakkale Province
 
Canakkale, Canakkale Province
Canakkale, Canakkale Province
 

Been to Troy (Truva)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing