We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night at the harbor!”
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Canakkale
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here after visiting Troy on our Gate 1 tour. Our breakfast & dinner buffets were included. Our room was fairly small & too warm, so had to open the windows. Some rooms have harbor views with balconies, but we had no view. The bed was ok, too hard for me, but with the help of melatonin, we slept well, the hotel is directly across from the harbor, so a wonderful location! We had nice weather, sweater or light coat, so the town was lively. There are many, many open air restaurants, some with live music. There is a basketball court on the harbor that is lit at night, so many were playing. We enjoyed walking around the harbor after dinner. We felt very safe as tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the harbor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhat K, Genel Müdür at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to write a review!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Holiday. Our Hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.


We’d like to see you in our hotel again.
Sincerely
Akol Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Akol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 442 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel was a way stop on a tour of Turkey. The hotel was clean and the food good. It has a nice water front location to enjoy. The room was a tad warm but that issue was solved by sleeping with the window slightly open.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhat K, Genel Müdür at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to write a review!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Holiday. Our Hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.


We’d like to see you in our hotel again.
Sincerely
Akol Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

First stop outside of Istanbul on our Gate 1 tour and it was quite a good one. The location is very central with tons of shops and restaurants/bars close to it. Food was edible, we had dinner and breakfast included with plenty of selection. We partied out the night on the bar next door called The Hangover bar which had quite good service and a nice view of the Trojan horse from the Troy movie that was placed on the harbor area.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, they have a great view in the morning.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandazagorath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serhat K, Genel Müdür at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking your time to write a review!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Holiday. Our Hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations.


We’d like to see you in our hotel again.
Sincerely
Akol Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel was very comfortable. It is located across the street from the waterfront. You can easily walk to banks, shops and restaurants. Also across the street is the replica of the Trojan Horse used in the filming of Troy. It is located on the waterfront promenade, which provides a nice walk for exercise, people watching and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carljw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great position in the centre of town. Good size and well furnished room. Bed was very comfortable. Nice choice of food and plenty of it at the night buffet. Choice of breakfast food was good. Would stay there again and could certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philanne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We spent one night here on our way along the Turkish coas towards Istanbul. Great spot for visting Troy and Gallipoli and views of Dardanelles were great; ferries crossing every 5 minutes. Hotel was a bit tired but room was large and clean with good views. Lobby was average and breakfast could have been better; hot potato chips and calamari!. Staff were friendly and hotel has a very central location on waterfront concourse. We could not see any hotels which looked much better with such a good location. Not too bad for one night but needs a makeover.

Room Tip: Water views are worth extra cost.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped here on a tour of Turkey and because we didn't pay that much for the tour we didn't expect much from the hotels. Our room was exactly what we needed, a place to stay, but it definitely didn't have a luxurious feel. It was basic for one night. Dinner was buffet style, and although it wasn't local cuisine everyone on the tour found something to their tastes. Breakfast was the same, an adequate spread.

We had a balcony with a sea view which was lovely but the bar next door played music fairly late so if you have a hard time sleeping you might want to make sure you have a room on the opposite side.

The location was nice as you could walk along the water with a lovely view, see the Trojan Horse prop and easily walk to some of the local stores.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
2.7 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 30 in Canakkale
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#8 of 30 in Canakkale
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 30 in Canakkale
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#10 of 30 in Canakkale
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 30 in Canakkale
115 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Zileli
Hotel Zileli
#17 of 30 in Canakkale
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing