We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Canakkale
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is located directly across the street from the sea promenade and that ocean walk way is a great way to spend an evening. Hotel was a little dark. Had to pay for internet(I do not use wi fi). Breakfast was ok. Staff was ok but not real helpful at times. Had to pay for water at the mini bar so better if you go outside and find some and bring it back it. Hotel was quiet, has a nice rooftop restaurant. The location is really outstanding as it is close to the ocean and the promenade.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WSCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    129
    158
    39
    27
See reviews for
70
148
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

For me,was a very good hotel.Nice view from balcony,clean was excellent,room was pretty and breakfast tasty....and staff more than OK!!!!
Sure I will return here with pleasure.
Thanks and greetings to Guest Relation Manager,Ali !!!

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I were given the wrong key and room number and we were sent to an already-occupied room.
The room to which we were eventually assigned had twin beds and I had requested a single bed. Even though I made repeated requests to get a different room, my requests were ignored.
The Internet password provided did not work. When I first called, the person answering just disappeared. The third time I called, she told me to use the password I had already been given, even though I had explained that I had tried it six times. She eventually provided a different password, which actually worked.
There are only two electrical outlets in the room to which we had access.
The air conditioning system did not work. A technician came and checked it, and insisted that it did, indeed, work. The air conditioning unit put out very little cold air and repeatedly shut itself off. It never really worked at all.
At one point, all the electricity went off, leaving us in the dark. I called the front desk and they sent a technician who made it work again.
The shower itself worked well, but the drain was broken. There was black mold in the crevices between the shower tiles.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wayneweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canakkale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Upwey, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were placed in this hotel by the tour company we joined for a Gallipoli tour. This was arranged through a local travel agent in Turkey and we never saw any options for accommodation. If we had we definitely would not have chosen to stay here. On arrival the place looked like a bomb had hit it and while renovations never look good until they are finished, walking into a building over a raised plank of wood to a lobby with plaster dust all over the carpet was not ideal. The reception staff also advised us on arrival that there was a nightclub at the top of the hotel which would be noisy until 3am. Not a great start!
Our room was very large with windows facing the foreshore but very grungy with dirty carpet, mould on the walls and an antiquated bathroom. Breakfast was ordinary and at 8am the buffet looked as though it had been picked over by 20 busloads of tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Don't bother with the buffet dinner or breakfast because both were terrible. The rooms were dilapidated and tacky. The beds were hard as a rock. Thank heaven we were only there One night. Obviously this property needs major updating. The surrounding area is fun. The walk along the promenades yields a marvelous Trojan horse model used in the awful Hollywood movie of the same name starring. Mr.Pitt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a bus tour before boarding the ferry to cross over to see the Gallipoli Peninsula. One night was plenty because we had a dingy old room at the rear of the hotel which was only accessible via one small creaky old lift that left us wondering whether we should use it or revert to the stairs to be safe. The hotel's saving grace was the restaurant which had a wonderful buffet with excellent service and very reasonable drink prices. Location was excellent and we enjoyed an interesting walk through the busy shopping and restaurant area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaideview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our short stay at this smaller hotel right on the water. Scenic walkway right in front of the hotel. Rooms were fine and buffet breakfast was more than adequate. Staff was helpful. This hotel is in Asia but Europe is only a short distance across the Dardenells. A really amazing location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pageezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
2.7 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#6 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#10 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#7 of 28 in Canakkale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kervansaray Canakkale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 28 in Canakkale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Property: Akol Hotel
Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing