We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Canakkale
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night, as part of our tour. The rooms were quite bad, carpeted and was stinking. The food was average, very less vegetarian options. The hotel overlooks the Dardanelles and has a great view, although the rooms are way behind. In terms of room, overall it is just average.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karthik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    137
    158
    39
    30
See reviews for
75
149
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group tour.

The hotel is in a beautiful location.

The rooms were nice. Mine had a balcony overlooking the sea. The size of the room was fair. The amenities in the room were fine.

The buffets (breakfast and dinner) at the hotel were above average.

I recommend walking down into the city - go for a walk along the prominade.

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I did not choose this hotel, it was chosen by the tour company we booked our tour of Turkey through. As with most of the other hotels in Turkey, the AC wasn't what we're used to. It takes a long time for it to cool down to an acceptable temperature. You are also only given one key card which you also use to turn the lights on when in the room. Naturally you must take it with you when you leave, so every time you return you have to wait for it to cool down. Having said that - the room was fine. We were barely there except to sleep so size had no bearing. Beds were comfortable, if a little small, and the bathroom was huge. Good water pressure, nice amenities. Rooms have a little balcony, however we were not facing the water. Was still a fine place to lay your head for a couple nights.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rokrchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of the GATE 1 Tour. We had a very small room with no view at the back of the hotel.It was a basic room with a very hard bed. The hotel is right on the Agean Sea
and is close to the downtown and shopping. We had a buffet breakfast which was very good with a nice view of the sea. It was fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a 3 star hotel at best. The outside looks much better than the inside which is dated and worn. The AC was functioning but did not cool the room quickly or well. Rooms had a minibar and a safe for valuables. Each room has a balcony and we were lucky enough to have a nice view of the coastline. The buffet breakfast was average but had something for everyone. The hotel's location is excellent since it is on the waterfront and the city center is a short walk away. There is a small grocery store a couple of blocks from the hotel as well a few vendors' stands along the waterfront. This seems to be the most popular hotel for tour groups since it is close to the ferry landing coming from western Turkey and the ancient ruins of Troy. I would recommend checking other hotels and comparing them with the Akol. If location by the waterfront is important to you, this may be a good choice. Don't expect 4 star accommodations or an overly attentive staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The location is excellent as it is situated at the water front. the city center is also at a walking distance.

Full marks for the location. The water front at Canakkale is so beautiful that one feels like spending more time there than in the hotel. In any case, most rooms in the hotel do not have the water front view. The nearby market, the Trojan horse kept at the water front, the small park nearby, the local shops in small lanes inside the market are all very pretty. I suggest when you reach Canakkale, utilize all your time in exploring these areas and return back to the hotel only in the night.

The rooms are okay, but not 5 star standard (our travel agent told us that this was a five star, but, I have serious doubts. Either the hotel or the travel agent tricked us. It is not a 5 star by any standards). The dinner buffet is completely unimaginative and has all the standard dishes. You could give this a miss and try one of the restaurants outside.

The reception people are quite helpful though, unlike other hotels in Turkey. Room service is also responsive.

Choose this hotel, only for its location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night after coming across on the car ferry after visiting Gallopoli, and before going to Troy the next day. It has a nice location overlooking the waterfront, but my room did not have a view. The room and the bathroom were clean and spacious but it was very hot - about 34 degrees and the AC did not work and the front desk unable to offer me a different room so I did not have a very good sleep. Wi-fi was very slow. The buffet dinner was inexpensive and had offered a good variety, but I had trouble purchasing a bottle of wine. I was unable to attract the attention of the waiter so I went to the bar and selected and paid for the wine which I was told would be brought to the table, I went back 10 minutes later and asked for the wine but it was still not given to me. When it finally arrived I had finished my meal.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works, ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
2.7 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 29 in Canakkale
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#9 of 29 in Canakkale
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 29 in Canakkale
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#8 of 29 in Canakkale
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 29 in Canakkale
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Limani
Hotel Limani
#2 of 29 in Canakkale
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Property: Akol Hotel
Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing