We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel On The Dardanelles”
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Canakkale
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a 13 day tour of Turkey in April 2011. Nice, comfortable hotel but nothing spectacular. Hotel is situated in town and in walking distance to shops, restaurants and cafes. Our room faced the Dardanelles and was clean. The bed was OK, not too springy but comfy for a night. Bathroom was clean however the door jammed a lot and if I closed (speaking only of my room) the bathroom door all the way it was a struggle to open so going forward I left it ajar. Being part of a tour, I was satisfied with this accommodation and would recommend it to friends as it is in a good location and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigsInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 454 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

Some rooms have balconies; this was great to look out over the Aegean Sea. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of the main part of town; see the clock tower at dusk. It is almost across the street from the Trojan Horse that was used in the Brad Pitt movie - Troy. My favorite thing about the room (for travelers who want/need heat in the room) is it is radiator heat. This is a great way to dry clothes you wash out in the sink. The room has a refrigerator but not a clock or coffee/tea making facilities. The hotel has a very large lobby so when groups gather, you don't feel you are taking over the place. There are two computers in the lobby for guests to use; however, they were not operational in early March.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwjwjwjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This was another good hotel we stayed at with Pacha Tours and the only one which offered the full line of standard bathroom toiletry amenities (shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, body wash). Our group guests stay in the back tower. Our room was 2404 with a large balcony facing the Dardanelles (you can see the water despite being in the back building in this room).

Our room was a large triple bed room, not very well lit. The three single bed had springy mattresses Spacious, spacious bathroom and fantastic shower drains. Bathroom amenities included hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and body wash. .

Breakfast items were disappointing. The coffee and chocolate pound cake were good though.

I was told Wi-Fi was free. My sister and mom went to the rooftop bar after dinning for live Turkish music. They tell me the view of the water was pretty at night.

There were plenty of strollers along the quiet waterfront. A wooden Trojan horse was displayed not too far from the hotel by the water. Our tour guide said it was a prop from the movie Troy. I find it hard to believe as the one used in the movie appeared to be bigger.

We were told tipping for the bellboys were included by the tour company so we were a bit surprised with the bellboys came looking for a tip when they brought up our bags.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I lovely little hotel on the waterfront, a little out of the way which makes it quiet, but within easy walking distance of the of town and lots of shopping and restaurants. very nice restaurant next dor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiWeiShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Akol Hotel has a great location right on the promenade/water with great views of the city or harbor. It is very close to many quaint cafes/bars/shops. That being said, this hotel is definitely a little dated and tired. My particular room was a corner room which made it smaller than the rest and the walls are very thin making it possible to hear full conversations. The bathroom was especially small as well. The first floor/lobby area/bar was all very nice however. The food was above average and tasty. For Canakkale, this hotel is defnitely above average however, as it is a small college/seaport town. I would recommend this hotel for anyone passing through the region.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsfg5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were on a tour of Turkey and stayed here for one night. It is in a great location facing the Dardanelles, right in the heart of the city. There are many shops and inexpensive dining options in the area. Our room was small, but adequate toward the side, but with a tiny balcony that overlooked the Trojan horse and the waterfront. It was a Saturday and there was a loud concert and crowds of people across the street, but it ended early.

Luckily, the rooftop bar was closed so there was no loud music which some reviewers had complained about previously on Trip Advisor. One of the biggest problems was the inadequate elevators (which we encounted in some other hotels in Turkey). They were so small that they would hold only 2 persons with luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I travelled as part of a large tour group and we stayed there for one night. At first, they tried to put me in the back hotel (one with no views of ocean). I was Ok with that but we were all shoved into an elevator in the back and it got stuck. We were trapped for about 15 minutes with no air conditioning and the only response we got was in Turkish. They fixed the elevator by jarring it up and down until it reached the ground. They did give us a free drink and gave me a sea-side room with balcony. Beautiful.
The rest of my group had the back of the hotel and did not enjoy the rooms much. It is in a good location, kinda noisy.
My balcony had two, large air conditioning units on it so I had to squeeze a chair in between them. The AC is shut off at night.
Try to stay on the ocean side and avoid over crowding the elevator and you should be fine.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMCYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#7 of 31 in Canakkale
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 31 in Canakkale
841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parion Hotel
Parion Hotel
#14 of 31 in Canakkale
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 31 in Canakkale
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#13 of 31 in Canakkale
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Limani
Hotel Limani
#3 of 31 in Canakkale
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range: $97 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing