We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Hotel Limani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Limani
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Canakkale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The problem with Hotel Limani is that I didn't want to leave my room - just sitting and watching the Dardanelles with its constant stream of shipping, ferries and the passing parade of life was reward enough. Its location is fantastic - just south of the ferry terminal on the 'esplanade'. The rooms are comfortable and functional and equate on my scale to a 3star hotel. The staff were very helpful. There is a lift for the upper floors and the restaurant, which opens out on to the esplanade/wharf, provides a good breakfast and the best meal we had in Canakkale. I had not realised it reviewers had made it the no 1 restaurant in Canakkale.

There is a free shuttle bus from the otogar which drops you at the ferry terminal (about 60 metres away).

So get a sea-view room and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easytraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 279 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Limani Canakkale for two nights in the 6th floor "Terrace Suite" July 6-8, 2013. That the Limani is the #1-rated TripAdvisor hotel in Canakkale is probably a testimony to what's on offer in this sweet little port city, which is the ideal (and really the only) option for exploring the Gallipoli battlegrounds / cemeteries / monuments, as well as Troy and the VERY sweet villages of Behramkale and Assos (not to be missed!).

I suspect that Canakkale enjoys an average hotel stay of only 1-2 nights (and most of these are 1-time only visitors), so the Limani Hotel owners may not perceive an incentive to invest in an upgrade or even in basic maintenance, as there's only a slim chance of repeat guests.

POSITIVES: 1) central location in the heart of the city, right on the port and basically overlooking the ferry boat landing, 2) super views of the harbor, the Dardanelles and the Gallipoli peninsula (see photo), 3) friendly, English-speaking service, 4) a decent restaurant on the ground floor, and 5) a copious and varied breakfast buffet selection.

NEGATIVES: 1) Terrace Suite ("the best room in the house") featured an air conditioner that was not working -- so I slept with the windows open to the exposed terrace, 2) a safe box that did not work (the front desk, the bellman and I could not figure it out after five attempts), and 3) unreliable hot water in the shower. This hotel just needs a little love and some investment to bring it up to a 3-star level.

BEWARE: Arriving or departing by car at Canakkale on Sunday any time between 11:00 and 16:00 is precarious. The Hotel Limani's main entrance is located on a one-way street overcrowded with traffic that is attempting to depart from or access to the ferry boat pier, so you and your car could get stuck in traffic for hours ...

Room Tip: Facing the port side is best, however, beware the "Terrace Suite" on the sixth floor (insu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDG-IST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a downtown hotel, at the walking distance to ferry, restaurants and bars, this is a good option. You can feel the effort at the service. Rooms are clean. There are some depreciations, like scratches on the corners etc in the room I stayed and also some scratches on the carpet at third floor. Need some care about maintenance. Ask for the room with a view. The rooms facing back is not much interesting, just serves the purpose. Cafe below is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Limani was an ideal stay for us in Cannakale. We stayed 2 nights so we could visit Troy and Gallipoli. A lovely welcome with chai, information, maps etc. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the harbour and the Dardanelles. We thought it may have been noisy from the ferry traffic, and road below, but the double glazing was good and we slept well in the comfortable king bed. Breakfast was good, with some cereal, eggs, cheese, jams, honey etc. The bread was pretty awful for the first and only time in Turkey. We had lunch and 2 dinners at their restaurant overlooking the harbour (with a road and pedestrian way between). It was not amazing, but was wholesome and tasty, and the service was mostly good. We'd recommend this hotel for its location and value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerendine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The family that runs this small, waterside hotel is efficient and exacting. One son has ten years of hospitality experience in Australia and is a fine chef. The food we had there was excellent, with many choices on the menu. We were welcomed very warmly and made quite comfortable. The outdoor portion of the restaurant is perfect for sitting and enjoying the waterside. The location of the hotel is excellent - very near shopping, historic locations, and interesting sights in Cannakale. Add an extra day here to just relax and enjoy coastal Turkey. This was wonderful!

To get there, we took a tour to Troy down the Gallipoli peninsula, with lunch included. We crossed the Dardanelles on the ferry, had our tour of Troy (helpful as it is hard to know what you are seeing) and then they dropped us less than a block from the hotel. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornhuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night recently. Wish we had time to stay longer. It is beautifully placed at the harbour. Friendly family run business, charming decor, nice restaurant attached. I am coeliac, and the staff were very helpful in advising on appropriate menu items.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lyndell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a room overlooking the harbour and ferry terminal.Great to watch the comings and going of boats.
Room very nicely decorated and bed and bathroom good.Very clean and fresh .
Could have been more space in bathroom to put stuff though.
Excellent and very reasonably priced restaurant attached to the hotel.Staff were brilliant in restaurant.The receptionist we struck on arrival not great ,but others good and very helpful.

Downside,yet again,was the direction of the aircon straight onto our bed.And,nothing the hotel could have done anything about,but somewhere just down the street had bass roaring through the double glazing till about 3 am one night.
We would recommend it as a place to stay,though it is fairly highly priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
0.4 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#9 of 30 in Canakkale
147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 30 in Canakkale
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#12 of 30 in Canakkale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 30 in Canakkale
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 30 in Canakkale
328 reviews
0 mi away
Kervansaray Canakkale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Limani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Limani

Address: Kemal Pasa Mah. Yali Cad. No12, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Canakkale
Price Range: $60 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Limani 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel designed for guest comfort and you ll find your home comfort in Hotel Limani. From the moment you came to our hotel , you will leave with a feeling of being created by the convenience d if you don't mind a drive you can reach lots of pristine beaches and the neighbouring cities so you can easily use Hotel Limani lodge as a base for discovering Canakkale and the surrounding area.Hotel Limani is only minutes away from major sights and landmarks in town such as the old clock tower, ferryboat jetties to European side of the Dardanelles, City Museum, Cimenlik Castle, Naval Museum and Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Limani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing