We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Cheap and Great for Partiers”
Review of Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Konak Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Canakkale B&B and Inns
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Friendly, Cheap and Great for Partiers”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Konak is a budget pension with 5 floors and no elevator. The location is right in the central square walking distance to the waterfront and ferry. The rooms are smallish but clean, with air conditioning and bathroom with shower. The water pressure is sporadic but sufficient. The towels are line dried and a bit rough. The breakfast is Turkish standard a very plentiful with cheese, olives, bread, cold cereal, meat, boiled eggs, tomatoes and cucumbers, pepper spread, jellies and jams, coffee and tea. There is free WIFI in the lobby. The parking is two blocks away in the ferry lot and is 15TRL overnight. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Numerous inexpensive restaurants nearby. Caveat: On our Saturday night stay during a holiday weekend, the nightclub music was very loud from the waterfront until 2AM. Still this is a good base camp for Gallipoli and Troy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmurray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Hotel Konak is located in downtown Canakkale not far from the busy waterfront. This was convenient, but it was hard to sleep with loud music coming from the waterfront till the wee hours. The management said that they had been unsuccessful in trying to get the noise reduced by the city. Otherwise the clean room was pleasant with a TV and a nice balcony. The bathroom had a rare separate shower stall, but the hot water was not very hot. The double bed had an uncomfortably hot duvet. There was a No Smoking sign in the hall, so we were surprised to find an ashtray in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Konak Hotel is clean but rooms are very dreary. The staff is helpful although not all speak English. It was noisy at night though, due to nearby nightclubs blasting music. Even on an upper floor it was very loud and I had a hard time getting to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I made a mistake in booking this hotel, and got the date wrong. Worse than that, we were unable to get a night bus from Pamukkale that got us to Canakkale at a reasonable hour. We arrived in Canakkale at 0300, long before anything was open. We slept on a bench in the bus station, which was not one of the cleanest or friendliest places I have slept. At 0700 we decided to go to the Konak and drop our bags off, so we would go a find some breakfast.

The staff at the hotel were a little surprised to see us, given I had got the booking wrong, nevertheless they were very welcoming and very understanding. We were very tired and bedraggled by then. The staff kindly invited us to sit down and have breakfast, while they arranged a room.

Thirty minutes later, they said our room was ready and our bags were in it. We had our breakfast and found that our room was very comfortable. The hotel was very central and close to everything, and we were able to arrange a Gallipoli tour for that afternoon. We went to Troy the next day. The staff looked after our bags, so that we could picked them up in time for the 1500 bus to Edirne. The service throughout our stay was impeccable.

I would highly recommend this staff and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#6 of 28 in Canakkale
306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#9 of 28 in Canakkale
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Limani
Hotel Limani
#2 of 28 in Canakkale
273 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Zileli
Hotel Zileli
#21 of 28 in Canakkale
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konak Hotel

Property: Konak Hotel
Address: Fetvane Sok. No:12 Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Konak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing