We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but noisy”
Review of Safran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safran Hotel
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Bursa
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed at Safran Otel for two nights and paid TL150 per night for a double room with buffet breakfast.

The room was comfortable and the toilet was bright and clean with a powerful shower. Unfortunately, we had a room in front (facing the street) and found it quite noisy in the late afternoon (from boisterous students on their way home after school) and during the night.

While the young woman at the front office was not impolite, we didn't find her helpful and she didn't seem to know what we thought were basic information guests might ask! To be fair, she did try to find out what we needed (what buses we could take to the otogar) from the cleaning lady, and also offered some vague answer as to where we could find an internet cafe.

Safran Otel is not a bad choice but we wonder if we could get a better deal elsewhere (in terms of value for money, more efficient and friendlier service, etc.)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_1-plus-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

We didn't see an other hotel in our wanderings in Bursa that looked any better than Safran Otel. The building is nice, a converted residence.

After the first poor night's sleep in a room looking out over the street, we asked to be transferred to a more quiet room. We were given a smaller room in the back but on an alley that was also noisy at night.

If we didn't have a working knowledge of the Turkish language, we would have been without much help from the front office staff. The woman with whom I had initiated correspondence in November of last year and had been praised in other reviews, Sevil, is no longer on the staff. Her replacement, an inexperienced, unpleasant young woman who had spent some time in London and apparently was hired because of her scanty English language skills, was of no help in indicating a place near by to have lunch. We later discovered by walking around a very good place called Kalecik Cafe, just a three minute walk up the street to the left leaving the hotel.

The men who sometimes are around the desk and in the restaurant, which only serves an excellent breakfast, were cheery and helpful. We only had to climb up one story to our room.

Be sure and bring earplugs and enjoy the location which is a stone's throw from Bursa's center in a nice neighborhood (Tophane).

It was cold and rainy in Bursa but we enjoyed our two day stay there.

Room Tip: See if there are any really quiet rooms, which I .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Magical! We were fortunate to have the penthouse suite, the traditional place for visitors to stay in an Ottoman mansion. Our spacious rooms were comfortably furnished. We had wonderful views over the city gate, across the towards Ulu Cami and Ulu Dag to hear the dawn call to prayer and see the sun rise. The excellent staff, delicious breakfasts, genuine Turkish hospitality and excellent location mean we would unreservedly recommend The Safran. My only disappointment is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mnich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Very clean and nice rooms. Only disappointment was restaurant which was closed. Very nice service. Sleep would be good if it wasn't Ramadan (drums on the street in middle of the night!).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakub P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We stayed one night at the Saffran Hotel on our self-drive tour of Turkey. We had a problem finding it - the position shown on Google maps is incorrect, so the directions were too! A phone call to the delightful English speaking receptionist soon sorted us out. In fact the Hotel is just behind the restored city gate, and is painted yellow.
Our room was very clean and tidy although (as we found often in Turkey) the beds were a bit hard for us.
Breakfast was plentiful although a little limited in choice.
There are five parking spaces outside the hotel.
The hotel is convenient for the main sights of Bursa, it is not too far to walk to the Green Tomb and the Green Mosque (beware the carpet salesmen!!)
As recommended in another review and by the Receptionist we ate at the delightful Kalecik restaurant. What a gem, lovely food, beautiful atmosphere, friendly staff and great value. Don't miss it!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

For an industrial city, Bursa is exceptionnally charming, especially in the historical center, where the hotel is located; Plus, do they have nice huge trees (!) and a very pretty old town; We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as the immediate vivinity crawls with cafés. Everyone in the town very friendly, and in the hotel especially. Rooms a bit smallish but clean, bathrooms modern and sparkling white, the sense of being a guest in an acquaintances house. If you can't stand the concrete blocks (complete with business centres),, then the Safran is for you!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieu_Vivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I have to agree the receptionist was lovely, certainly the star of the show. The hotel is nice - my only negative is that there is no where to sit outside. That said as a base one couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bursa hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bursa - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Bursa Palas Hotel
Bursa Palas Hotel
#44 of 50 in Bursa
25 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bursa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kardes Hotel
Kardes Hotel
#29 of 50 in Bursa
19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Central Hotel Bursa
Central Hotel Bursa
#37 of 50 in Bursa
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kadi Konagi Hotel
Kadi Konagi Hotel
#19 of 50 in Bursa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safran Hotel

Address: Ortapazar Caddesi 9 | Ara Sokak No. 3, Bursa 16040, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Bursa Province > Bursa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Bursa
Price Range: $74 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Safran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safran Hotel Bursa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing