We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice accommodation”
Review of Buyuk Berk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buyuk Berk
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Ayvalik
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days and I have to say it was very good. The rooms were not too big, but clean and quite new(they were probably renovated). If you choose to stay in this hotel I'd recommend you to take the all inclusive option which is not very expensive, actually it pays off for all the food and drinks you'll have. As it's all inclusive you'll have three meals a day which had a quite decent quality. There was a wide variety of food you could choose from the buffet and from the bar you are able to get any drink you want. Staff is very friendly, helpful and polite and every night there was a musician who was responsible for the entertainment. He played the guitar and sang songs, so the guests seemed quite satisfied which came as a surprise to me because of the he played the same songs every night, but that's just a minor thing that shouldn't bother anyone. There was a free WiFi connection only from the lobby, not from the rooms. The hotel has a 3 pools, the main one, on the front side of the hotel, and one for kids next to the one which was suitable for watersports, especially waterpollo. For those who prefer the sea, the beach is right across the street, there were free sunbeds but I must say the water was freezing. The only thing I didn't like was actually the place. I'm more of a person that wants to see Europians, tourists from all around Europe, but Ayvalik had more local tourists. But it's a great way to get to know a new culture and its values. The place is more suitable for families and even older people but even if you're younger, I'm sure that you'll meet someone there, the turkish people are quite open to new acquaintances. :) I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you want a new experience in your life..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank InD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Buyuk Berk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very cute hotel. It offers a pleasant atmospheres, very tasty and nicely designed.
The staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are clean, towels are changed every day, the bathroom is large and modern. Food is good. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jassna_Jovanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night on a guided roundtrip and visit to Troya on March 29, 2013. If you want to be thrown back into the past of Turkish hotel history - this is the place to go. Red velvet curtains that looked like out of the fifties which goes for the interior decoration as well. Rooms are clean exempt the little fridge (empty) had mould in it...... The surroundings are equally uninviting. A hotel you visit on a roundtrip where there is no choice - never to stay for longer

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dietmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 1 night before I went to Mitilini. Location is good. Has a parking lot. There is a very nice fish resturant right across from the hotel. On top of the hill of sailing club of Ayvalık. Hotel is renovated. Air conditioner is very good. Breafast is open buffet. Staff is good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Buyuk Berk Chalet as we saw the photos from their website, that rooms are more modern, which was unfortunately not true. The photos were actually either fake or changed well with photoshop. The room was clean, no problems with air-conditioner. The hotel personal was really kind.
The breakfast was an average Turkish breakfast with lots of fruit. The lunch has lot of varieties of food ,every kind of Turkish food, but lasts only 50 min. After these 50-60 min you cant find anything. You can eat at tea time some borek as a late lunch, but the quality of it is really not good. All day long it is said that drinks are free, but coke didn't have gas in it. The best drink was beer! These drinks and foods cant be transported to the seaside, as seaside doesn't belong to the hotel and there wasn't any service to the seaside. As the fish restaurants in Cunda Island are famous, we didn't eat out dinner at the hotel. After we come back at 11-12 o'clock the bar wasn't open and we couldnt even drink a glass of water.
Buyuk Berk Hotel wasn't the best choice in that area, to stay at Cunda island would be a better idea than Sarimsakli.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were in this hotel 10 days on all-inclusive, and it was very great to stay there. The food is excellent, and when you pay all-inclusive, there is food and drink all day, and you can choose whatever you want to drink. It is much better to be on all-incl. then on half-p. The service is great, rooms are renovated a few years ago. They have 2 pools, and 3. with slides. The hotel is near the centre of Sarimsakli, and also you can go to Ayvalik and Cunda which are 5-10 min. by car or bus. You can park your car around hotel free, too. In the night, there is live music outside the hotel. Also they organise animations for guests all day,like games in pools, sports in pools and beach volleyball, and games for children,too.

Room Tip: We were in the main bulding, there is one more building near this, but I don't know how are room...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank pastada p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayvalik hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Billurcu
Hotel Billurcu
#9 of 35 in Ayvalik
153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Murat Reis Ayvalik
Murat Reis Ayvalik
#2 of 35 in Ayvalik
107 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bacacan Hotel
Bacacan Hotel
#4 of 35 in Ayvalik
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Megas Hotel
Megas Hotel
#25 of 35 in Ayvalik
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aytas Hotel
Aytas Hotel
#7 of 35 in Ayvalik
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Musho Otel
Musho Otel
#14 of 35 in Ayvalik
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buyuk Berk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buyuk Berk

Address: Ataturk bulvari Kahramanlar Mah Kumsal | Sok No:1 Sarimsakli, Ayvalik 10425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Balikesir Province > Ayvalik
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ayvalik
Price Range: $62 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buyuk Berk 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Buyuk Berk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buyuk Berk Hotel Ayvalik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing