We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, romantic, family-run, incredible balcony views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taksiyarhis Pansiyon
Ranked #3 of 83 Ayvalik B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Quaint, romantic, family-run, incredible balcony views”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Absolutely loved it here. The place has a cosy, family run feel, but everything you need as well (a kitchen to cook for yourself, two lovely balconies with views over the town to the sea, clean bathrooms). Very chilled out and quite romantic. Only downside is the walls are paper thin so expect to hear everything, no lie ins!

Room Tip: Top floor would mean less noise from other people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romarytoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Oh my goodness, I cannot rate this place highly enough. Absolutely the highlight of our 2 week tour in terms of accommodation. The view from the upstairs balcony is phenomenal. The hosts were wonderful and friendly. I could not fault a thing. So romantic and such a treat that as a group we all came back in the evening and enjoyed drinks and food on the balcony rather than going to a restaurant. :) Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had the worst experience here of any place in Turkey. I had made a reservation more than two months in advance. Yet I received a note the day before our stay, informing us that the staff had overbooked the hotel, and thus they would find some other place for us to stay. We had to change our plans, skip dinner and arrive early to deal with the mess. Upon arrival, I was treated to the most rude staff experience at a hotel - she acted like it was my fault for showing up, didn't I get her email from one day ago? NO apology, no reason - only that they had committed to a tour group (ie more money for them!) and so they'd have us stay somewhere else. Didn't even offer to pay for the cab fare. The other place was great, fortunately - Bonjour Pension, highly recommended! I have never seen a hotel kick out a guest - who had a confirmed reservation for two months - and then not even APOLOGIZE or acknowledge that a mistake has been made. Be careful, it could happen to you here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deborahsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Had a great time. This pension has tons of character, beautiful rooms and the staff are super friendly and helpful. We loved sitting on the terrace for our meals and in the evening. It was great to have access to the kitchen to prepare our own meals and store food in the shared fridge. They also have laundry service, wifi. The location was great given that it only takes a few minutes to walk to the little shops and the harbor front. The only con, if there is one, was that the bathrooms are shared. That said, they are clean and it was never a problem. Highly recommend!

You should also go on a boat cruise from EGE Tours (you can find them on the harbour). The captain was super friendly, fed you very well (tons of fish, salad and fruit). It cost 20 TL.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueLanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This pansiyon was amazing. Right in the old part of the city and is absolutely full of character. The staff were amazing and it had beautiful views of the town. I would absolutely return.
Pros:
Unbeatable character; welcoming staff; a great little kitchen where you can keep your market purchases cool and fresh; delicious breakfast; quiet; clean; unique; amazing views
Cons:
If you could call this a 'con'... you won't be able to drive to this place. You'll need to park your car in one of the 'Otoparks' in the town and walk. This is what you get when you stay in the old part of town...

In sum...I would highly recommend this little pansiyon for an authentic stay in Ayvalik!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

TAKSIYARHIS PENSION

This pension was absolutely amazing. My husband and I enjoyed staying in this unique old traditional Turkish home, it felt like a true warm family home. The host family are friendly and welcoming and do a great job caring for the home and their guests.

The pension is located off a few side streets so you may need accurate directions prior to walking there or you will definitely get lost and getting lost with a heavy backpack in your back isn’t pleasant. But once you reach there is worth it. The rooms are spacious and air-conditioning however rooms don’t have bathroom ensuites only share bathrooms and toilets with the other guests. The décor is stunning and definitely gives it that homely feel. The house has a couple of balconies, the top balcony has a beautiful view of Ayvalik and it’s a great place to unwind with a bottle Efes or read a book. Breakfast is also served on this baloncy.

Exploring this town is essential there are many café/restaurants, shops and convenience stores available 30meters from the pension. The streets of Ayvalik are beautiful and full of character with their cobblestone side streets, this seaside town has lots of photo opportunities. When in Ayvalik be sure to take a taxi ride to one of the islands to explore the amazing old homes (designated taxis to the islands are 2 lira one way) also this town has the best olive oil so don’t forget to buy a bottle.

I give this pension two thumbs up and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed at Taksiyarhis for 2 nights, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the place is just gorgeous and well looked after with fab views from the terraces which also make it the perfect place to chill out of an evening.
Apart from getting a little bit lost when trying to find the place I would recommend this as a great place to stay and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shells_Bells_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayvalik hotels
3.2 mi away
Murat Reis Ayvalik
Murat Reis Ayvalik
#1 of 35 in Ayvalik
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bacacan Hotel
Bacacan Hotel
#3 of 35 in Ayvalik
26 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Billurcu
Hotel Billurcu
#7 of 35 in Ayvalik
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Temizel
Grand Hotel Temizel
#5 of 35 in Ayvalik
437 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aytas Hotel
Aytas Hotel
#20 of 35 in Ayvalik
64 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ayvalik Cinar Hotel
Ayvalik Cinar Hotel
#27 of 35 in Ayvalik
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksiyarhis Pansiyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksiyarhis Pansiyon

Property: Taksiyarhis Pansiyon
Address: Ismet Pasa Mah. Marasal Cakmak Cad. No:71 Ayvalik Merkez, Ayvalik 10400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Balikesir Province > Ayvalik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Ayvalik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Taksiyarhis Pansiyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing