We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and cozy”
Review of Bakkhos Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bakkhos Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 94 Kusadasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the place for you who wants to have a relaxed stay in the Kusadasi area. Bakkhos guesthouse offers great atmosphere, great food and really nice and helpful staff. The dolmus public minivan takes you to Kusadasi in ten minutes, where you find everything from beaches, restaurants to typical shopping.. I definitely recommend this place for a nice a relaxed stay in Turkey!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassevoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Lasse

Thank you for your review. We were very happy to have guests from Norway too.!
Hope more scandinavian guests will follow. I always wonder why "they" go a lot to
Greece and not to Turkey.
We were glad to make your stay memorable
hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Bakkhos Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Bakkhos Guest House back in April, and really enjoyed our time here. Bakkhos comprises a number of isolated guest wings, a beautiful indoor dining room and separate outdoor dining areas, all set amongst beautiful gardens with a sparkling pool, and not a neighbouring building in sight. Our room was magnificent, roomy and well decorated, with a veranda overlooking the gardens for relaxation. The communal meals in the dining room were delicious giving us a wonderful opportunity to pick other guests brains about the local places we should not miss. As Bakkhos is set in the hills behind Kusadasi it is not easy to find but is well worth it when you do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djnarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When you arrive at Bakkhos you notice the quiteness, the beautifull environment while you are so close to Kusadasi. The next thing you experience is the warm welcome by the Bakkhos staff, for instance Mutlu, or the owner Manuela.
A path leads you through the garden, lucious plants and trees, to the rooms. The rooms are very 'homely' with good beds and enough space. There is a porch on both the buildings were you can sit and enjoy the garden or read a book. Follow an other path and you'll find the swimming pool and on the left a bench on which you can relax. There are several more points in the garden were you can sit and enjoy a moment of rest.
We enjoyed the Turkish breakfast and, if you want to, diner. We also enjoyed the conversations with other guests while having diner at one table. Manuela is, always, there to give you tips for spending your days around Kusadasi, or answering your questions. (A Kusadasian encyclopedia ;-) )
A special note for the six adorable dogs who are running free but not during breakfast.They are wonderfull and fun to live with.

Room Tip: No need to as all rooms are close to the breakfast/diner area
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BladeHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Yes , it is nice to have so many different kind of nationalities on one table, if you want to.
If guests really pefer to sit seperate , we can arrange it , but in general , they like to meet eachother and exchange their findings and information first , then nice conversations about all kind of subjects and / or what is going on in the world , starts. But at the other hand you can be also very private if you want, as the garden is so huge, you can hide yourselves easily ....
thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had no idea what to expect but LOVED this relaxing, homelike guesthouse. There are all kinds of hidden places on the grounds to relax...too bad we did not allow enough time for much of that!! Manuela and her staff are WONDERFUL to work with!! Cozy rooms, GREAT food.....we definitely recommend doing at LEAST one dinner with them. Family style at a big table...a great way to meet folks from around the world while enjoying a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We could see , you were really enjoying yourselves here, that is a great pleasure for us too,
kind regards
Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The ideal guest for Bakkhos is one that will come in, stay and relax in the lovely hotel grounds (which has a truly astonishing number of small little hideyholes for quiet reading and relaxation), and buy food and drinks from their menu ("No outside food or drink allowed"). To me this captures both the pros and cons of Bakkhos.

Personally I am not a fan of this "resort style" culture. And like a belligerent teenager, being told not to bring food or drink into a place makes me not want to eat there. However, I cannot deny that the guesthouse is very well priced for the area and located in a fantastic rustic farm setting.
There are some pros, food is very fresh (I recommend having dinner there at least once during a stay, the big plate of fresh figs we got at the end of the meal was a personal favourite). There are also a few other cons, we were randomly getting a mild scent of sewage (not sure why, but the smell would come and go).

The guesthouse is about 5km outside of Kusadasi, you can get a Taxi to Kusadasi via Bakkhos (EUR25), independently (~TYL30), or catch the rollercoaster of a bus (TYL3). None of which are ideal, I recommend renting a car.

All in all this is a lovely place to stay, and I will probably return there when I next visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsuan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments/
We think it is very normal in a small guesthouse setting with a hotel-room system, not aparts, that we have the wish not to have drinks and food from outside. We are a small place , only 12 rooms on a private property together with its family living with 7 staff-members to keep up the whole setting tip-top. They are here to make every guest feel really like a "guest" and they will do everything to help you to make your stay relaxed. Bakkhos has 20.000 square metres land and garden with a lot of items and sitting areas. If everybody would be allowed to do what they want we could not controll it and keep the same ambiance. We like to keep it this way and everything is clear explained on our web site as well. There are other places where you can bring in your own food and drinks, but then you will not have the same unique private ambiance like Bakkhos is offering. I think indeed it is a matter of personal taste and for those guests there are smaller places around Selcuk or Kusadasi , which could be better for them
Our prices are indeed very very reasonable for what you get offered!
The taxi by the way from Bakkhos to Kusadasi or back, wich is to mainroad only 3,5 kms and to town aprox 5 km indeed. offered by our drivers, are only 25 Turkish LIRA not 25 EURO !! If you take a taxi in the town to Bakkhos it could be 35 Turkish lira or more.
a dolmus line brings you indeed for only 3 lira and sometimes you get a lift for free by us if one has to go to town as well.
But above all it is true, you can visit all the sites around us, the best with a rental car of course, it is faster then a normal transportation bus line. But that would be the same when you are in Kusadasi or Selcuk located

The smell of a sewage , coming and going, could be there indeed ,when you where here.
Here in the country side are no central sewer systems, but only sceptic tanks. Therefor, as in other Mediterraen countries as well, they ask you not to throw toilet-paper in the toilet but in a basket next to the toilet. We even have signs saying not to do so in our bathrooms Unfortunately not everyody is acting so, and /or not used to handle like this. Which can create blockage in the sewer-drains. We have to open the problem and call in a special service to empty the sceptic tanks after opening the drains first
We are sorry for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Manuela has created a very special place. The rooms, gardens and various outdoor seating areas wouldn't look out of place in a glossy magazine.The staff could not be more attentive and nothing is too much trouble. It's definitely worth eating there some evenings, not just for the quality of the food but for the opportunity to meet fellow travellers. Manuela has also provided a home at the guest house for a small number of stray dogs. They are all characterful and friendly and as dog-lovers they enhanced our stay - however, they don't intrude on the guest's enjoyment of the stay if you don't want to pay attention to them. The Bakkhos is immaculately clean and well cared for - there is an attention to detail that you would rarely find anywhere else. Manuela is a welcoming hostess and a mine of useful information about the area. There is a wide range of books and maps of local interest that you can borrow to enhance your visits. It's easy to visit Ephesus and lesser known ancient sites at Priene and Didyma, and the steam railway museum at Camlik is not to be missed. We can only endorse the many other five star reviews that the Bakkhos Guesthouse has received.

Room Tip: It won't matter which room you get, they are all immaculate.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Manager at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it.
Hope to see you once more, Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a lovely and relaxing time at Bakkhos. The web site does not do justice to the beauty of the gardens and lovely sitting areas throughout the property. We don't have anything to add to the reviews except a couple of things:

1. You can stay at the guesthouse without a car as there is access to local buses.
2. The evening optional dinners are a great value and delicious.

Room Tip: If you don't like cigarette smoke, it might be better to stay in an end room since guests often...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you, and yes thank you for mentioning this first point.
Indeed there are two dolmus (public bus system) lines passing Bakkhos.
Ofcourse when you are with a car staying with us, it is easier and faster , when you want to visit other places and the culture sites. Even when guests want to go to the beach there is a connection. We give a lot of information to all our guests when they are here. And also by mail we already have contact with the guest for all kinds of information, we love to do this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
1.2 mi away
Kusadasi Mursel Pansiyon
Kusadasi Mursel Pansiyon
#48 of 94 in Kusadasi
9 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ephesus Lodge
Ephesus Lodge
#3 of 94 in Kusadasi
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Konak Hotel Kusadasi
1.6 mi away
Anzac Golden Bed Pension
Anzac Golden Bed Pension
#10 of 94 in Kusadasi
118 reviews
9.4 mi away
Emel Pension
Emel Pension
#1 of 20 in Guzelcamli
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakkhos Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkhos Guesthouse

Address: Kirazli Koy Yolu Uzerine | P.K. 60, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Kusadasi
Price Range: $54 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakkhos Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bakkhos guesthouse, a warm wonderful farm garden-house small hotel, laying about 4 km inland , hidden behind the green sloping hills from Kusadasi,laying on a nice country-road going to Kirazli Village. This lovely road leads you through fields of olive-orchads and vineyards to the village of Camlik(trainmuseum), laying at the main-road between Aydin and Selcuk(Ephesus).Bakkhos is the ideal place for those who like small personal places to stay to absorb the peace of the nature, to enjoy the good things of life, but yet close enough to different types of activities what Kusadasi town is offering and other culturel places. Bakkhos' property with its authentic building style of white washed brickstone and wooden roofs, large gardens , rooms, restaurant, and lobby very personal homely decorated, contributes to a feeling of relaxation the minute you walk through the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bakkhos Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing