We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing way to end a holiday”
Review of Bakkhos Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bakkhos Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 96 Kusadasi B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here for three nights on the recommendation of a friend and am very glad we took his advice. Our stay was at the end of a three-week trip around Turkey, so the quiet and somewhat secluded spot was just right. It's only a half-hour drive from key sites such as Ephesus and about four kilometres from Kusadesi, so it's really not far but you do need a car. It's well worth it. Room was large and clean, with an excellent shower and lots of hot water. The owners and staff are very welcoming, as is their very cute boxer Bussy. (Two other dogs and a cat on site as well. Bussy is very social, so a great animal fix if you're missing yours.) We ate dinner there each night in a lovely alcove. The food was excellent. It's 17 euros extra each and worth it. There are less expensive places to eat in nearby villages, but it's a real treat to walk 20 feet to what is essentially an excellent restaurant. (Good to keep in mind that in Turkey, ANY alcohol and your rental car insurance can be void.) Lots of different spots throughout the property to lay in the sun, or read in the shade. I look forward to returning.
Kim from Victoria

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank KimFromVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakkhosguesthouse, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your review , it is nice hearing you, that you enjoyed you stay here with us. Yes, Indeed when you stay with us and if you have a car(rental), it is much more easier and you feel more "free" to visit all the culturel places and making day-trips. But we have two dolmus lines passing Bakkhos, 1 going direction Kusadasi , the other one to Davutlar and both they go in oppostie direction to Aydin, over the Kirazlivillage road to Camlik village with the trainmuseum and where you can take the dolmus to Ephese. We have guests coming by dolmus or by touringcar from other places as the big busstation is at the end of our road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed as a solo traveler at Bakkhos for 5 days during the off-season of December. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. I arrived without a definite plan, but the owners helped give me ideas and made me feel at home!

The location is a bit isolated from Kusadasi (about 6km or 3.7 miles) and is along a worn-down road (not the hotels fault). Aside from that, the area is beautiful and very tranquil. I stayed during winter when there were not many people, so it was a bit difficult to enjoy the ambiance, but I'm sure it is a very nice destination in summer when the weather is much nicer and warmer.

There is a public bus system that runs through the area, but if you want to reach more distant sites, such as Ephesus or Miletus, they may be impractical. Likewise, during my stay, the system was shut down without notice- so a personal car is very desirable. As far as distance to the archaeological sites, Bakkhos is well-situated to see all of them in the surrounding area.

Wifi is available at the hotel, but because it is a rather large garden area, it does not reach all the guest rooms- so if business is your primary goal, you may need to sit outside for service (not necessarily a bad thing if the weather is nice). Breakfast was very good and it was nice to meet the other guests staying at the hotel. Dinner is available for service as well, but only during the summer months. The rooms were well done and the electric blankets on the bed were a nice touch. I'm not picky with beds, so I slept great, but some guests commented that the beds are a bit hard. The only minor negative was that there was no central light in the room (there were a bunch of separate lamps), but since I was rarely in, it was a minor issue.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much and found the owners quite helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone on holiday, but maybe not for the business types. One final note, do not hesitate to ask the owners for anything- they were very concerned about my stay and wanted it to be enjoyable, but you have to be a bit forthcoming about any personal needs.

Again, I thought it was a very nice place in a well-situated area.

Room Tip: Room 1 in Block 1 (I believe that's the right location) had wifi service. Room 5 on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blzerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakkhosguesthouse, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is true, Bakkhos Guesthouse ,out of the season in winter, is different then the ambiance of the garden in spring or summer. Some guests like it some not. Wifi in our area is sometimes lacking as we are outside of the city-borders , but we are working on it and still we offer it free of charge.The road from the city Kusadasi passing us to Kirazli Village and Aydin is under constrcution, we are waiting already for 1 year for new asphalt, now finally goverment promissed that they will finish it may 2012. Our road must be a nice green scenery through villages leading to Epheses, therfor the dolmus-line, (public transportation) is not operating at the moment. About lightning in the room: as Bakkhos is built in a authentic style, with wooden roof, for safety reasons, and the ambiance we choose for no central light from the roof.
If guests have problems with the strong matrass we give them a special cover to softnen it.
We are always there to solve small issues like this, like you said , you have to come forward, otherwise we do not know. Our guests are really guests, we are living here too on the property, we want our guests to feel really as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here only one noght, coming fron Yalikavak and before moving to Pamukkale.
We had some dofficulties in finding it because it is located in the interior of Kusadasi, in a country road. We took the wrong road (parallel to the roght one) and we got lost, but at the end we arrived.
This guesthouse is very friendly and nice, but you have to love to share your table for dinner and breakfast with other guests.
We had a very nice and big room, very spacious. It was clean with air conditioning. Wi-fi connection is free but available in the reception area. Bathroom was nothing special but clean.
On our stay (29th August) the room was very cold at night and we had to use a pair of blankets, but probably it is better than 35 degrees at night as on the seaside...
At our arrive staff was very nice and offered us a welcome drink.
It was late so we decided not to drive again and had dinner in the common area, very nice.
We had dinner with a couple and her daughter. They were danish living in Istanbul and they were on a weekend holiday. We had a very nice chat and dinner but, as said, you have to love to enjoy your table, there is no choice about it if you are not a big group.

At the end we enjoyed our stay even if the guesthouse is very isolated and dinner price was not very cheap.

The owner is a danish woman who really loves to have a good relationship with her guests and she has 2 marvellous dogs and a cat, really lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakkhosguesthouse, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. Yes, Bakkhos concept is to have dinner all together at the same table, so guests can meet eachother and have nice conversations, but if guests really like to be seated seperate, they can , if the circumstances and weather allows it so, we do not mind to set up a table seperate in one of our corners. We have a closed restaurant , an half open small one and the breakfast area where we serve dinners. We think for 4 courses menu
soup- different turkish "mezes" , following a main course (fish or meat) with salad and a dessert for 17.50 euro per person is not expensive. Drinks are extra ofcourse.
We have wi-fi free of charge and access but as the Bakkhos property is huge, the signal until the room you had , located more than 100 metres further from main buildings and office, is not reached.
Thank you again, Manuela Ozbas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were turned off a bit from the start by the "nickle and diming" of Bakkhos. I was kind enough to book directly through Bakkhos as opposed to booking.com (or other) to benefit the guesthouse so they wouldnt have to pay the extra charge to booking.com. I was shocked to find out they were going to charge me more than the booking.com rate (they lowered their charge once i said i would just book through on of the booking sites)! They do not take credit cards, and charge YOU for the paypal charges (I have NEVER seen this before). The charge is relatively small, but nickle and diming like this is bad business (we only ate at their "restaurant" once as a result). They also do not "ALLOW" outside food and drink to be brought in (not a big deal except their rates for drinks are certainly higher than they should be and are priced in euros). Maybe this is to keep down the risk of mice, which are common being a farmhouse setting.

Upon arrival to Bakkhos, we did damage to the bottom of our car due to the lack of parking spots (we ran over a large rock in the small parking area) which caused problems when we dropped the car off)
If you are looking for a 2 star Mexico like resort then this is for you. The pictures on their website are truly romanticized and reality are not that nice. The highlight of this place is the great and friendly service staff.
If you do stay here, do yourself a favor and go visit the small town up the hill (turn right when leaving Bakkhos) to see an amazing view, see a very small typical town and get a better feel (and try out some of the good restaurants there)- we didnt learn this trick until last day, they do not tell you about this at Bakkhos.
Would definitely not stay ever again (stayed for 6 nights). Also wont stay at a 2 star in Mexico, but that is me. By far the hardest beds we slept on during our 4 week stay in Europe (worst sleeps we had).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C123_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2011

Dear Cory and Jamie,
We read your review just few days ago, and was very dissapointed to read about this. You never mentioned your findings to us when you were here, although I was every day at the breakfast table asking how you were doing. Besides before you came we had a lot of email correspondnce, since 26th of July, settling down your travelling/ We changed your dates of arrival and departure even a few times without irritations, and even you excused yourselfves for that matter. We gave you a lower rate than the Suite rate in booking.com is, Instead of 52.50 per person we charged you only 45 per person and now you make a problem over 6.70 Euro paypal costs? For your honeymoon and birthday we gave extra attentions in the room. After your first night at us, travelling to Cappadocia for a 4 nts, you had a problem and wanted to come 1 day later, we wanted to charge you for a cancellation fee which is quite normal , perhaps you were dissapointed. That you had hit a stone with your car, we cannot kept responsible for that, but I am sorry, I did not know about this. Our drinks and dinners are not high in price compared with Kusadasi town at all. Our bottle of house wine is 9.90 Euro and in town min 18 Euro in restaurants. I think it is quite normal that our guests are asked not to bring food and drinks and use it , while there is a small menu card for day-time and evenings ,
we do not run a camping-site. You cannot compare the prices of the really nice local village-places I have to say, with the ambiance of Bakkhos and it s garden. And we surely do not push the guests to stay with us for dinner and we do advise them to have a lunch or dinner in the Kirazli Village 6 kms away. We even have their cards and brochures in our office, which you never visit or you never asked for some suggestions. On the rooms we give information and a personal welcome letter to every new arrival guest with the info that we are there for more tips or information.
About the beds.: Yes they are quite strong beds, you are right , because in general the quality of the beds in Turkey are not so good, we choose for this quality , most of the people like it , some guests not , and if they mention it, we give always an extra top to soften it, but then again, you never mentioned it to us. I am very sorry to hear about that. I always wonder , why guests do not say anything while they have the chance to do so? we are a small place and have with every one of the guests especially at the served breakfast tables,.a very direct and personal contact , so we cannot do anything to help them and make them happy to sort out the matter, if they do not tell us what is bothering them.!

We never felt with you that there was something bothering you, therefor we are very suprised to read this review and feel very sorry, you feel this way.
We hope that it did not spoil your honeymoon.. and wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Bakkhos guesthouse
Manuela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

A charming place with a very relaxed atmosphere . A refuge with beautiful gardens and with excellent personal service and very tasty food. Very good value for money. Interesting sites are nearby such as Ephesus and Samos. I also liked the backround music. Over the years I travelled extensively in Turkey. This is certainly one of the best and unique places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volkerdreike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KusadasiMax, Owner at Bakkhos Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you, yes it is not that far from Ephesus, some guests prefer to be in our area than in Selcuk, as our garden is very relaxing. It is only a 15 to 20 min drive over the country side road through the villages what makes it even nicer going there. Besides Ephesus the other sites as Priene, Miletos, Didyma, Claros and more. After sightseeing it is nice to be "at home" in the big garden enjoying the quietness and nature and ofcourse the pool! We have turkish kitchen and try to vary the meals together with a lot of Mezes, side dishes what makes the turkish kitchen so special

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Bakkhos provides amazing value combined with genuine care and advice. The pool is just lovely to relax by away from the bustle of Kusadasi. Hosts offer meals which are served in the delightful gardens and it feels like a family party. We went back already!
Highly recommended indeed. Dr Jan ,Australia

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bakkhos Guesthouse. The staff was warm and welcoming; the grounds of the guesthouse were perfect for relaxing. We opted to stay for dinner every night of our stay and we loved the meals. We hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAJ_Dave44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
5.7 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
6 mi away
Flora Garden Ephesus
Flora Garden Ephesus
#2 of 4 in Davutlar
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Akbulut & Spa
Hotel Akbulut & Spa
#1 of 7 in Guzelcamli
302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
2.6 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 156 in Kusadasi
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakkhos Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakkhos Guesthouse

Address: Kirazli Koy Yolu Uzerine | P.k. 60, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Kusadasi
Price Range: $53 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bakkhos Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bakkhos guesthouse, a warm wonderful farm garden-house small hotel, laying about 4 km inland , hidden behind the green sloping hills from Kusadasi,laying on a nice country-road going to Kirazli Village. This lovely road leads you through fields of olive-orchads and vineyards to the village of Camlik(trainmuseum), laying at the main-road between Aydin and Selcuk(Ephesus).Bakkhos is the ideal place for those who like small personal places to stay to absorb the peace of the nature, to enjoy the good things of life, but yet close enough to different types of activities what Kusadasi town is offering and other culturel places. Bakkhos' property with its authentic building style of white washed brickstone and wooden roofs, large gardens , rooms, restaurant, and lobby very personal homely decorated, contributes to a feeling of relaxation the minute you walk through the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bakkhos Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing