We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with a great view and to top it off, great assistance!”
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great room with a great view and to top it off, great assistance!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I absolutely agree with all the previous positive review of Hotel Stella. Our 5th floor room was clean, comfortable and relatively large; all the room comes with a good size balcony and magnificent view of the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel is very close to the ferry port. What really makes Hotel Stella special however is Hasan.
Many hotels in Kusadasi offer rooms with a great view of the Mediterranean Sea. Few if any however, include concierge service. Hasan, the young manager, separates his hotel from the rest of Kusadasi's hotels by showering his guest with personal assistance and attantion. It appears no favor is too small or too big for him. For independent travelers such as us who traveling off the beaten path in a non-English speaking country side, this free assistance comes very handy. Hasan, who speaks perfect English, is literally just an e-mail or cell phone away. Among other things, he assisted us with pre-booking ferry tickets to Samos Island, Mini bus (Dolmush) information from Selcuk to Ephesus to Kusadasi and to the hotel. Knowing that we need to catch the early ferry ride the next day, he makes sure we know when to leave the hotel, his staff had our breakfast ready and direct us to the ticket office. He definitely reduces our anxiety level. And frankly, that is priceless. Tesekkur ederim Hasan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    34
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
35
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed this family-run hotel. The setting is spectacular—hanging on a cliff one block away from the port. We chose it in part because we could walk from there to the port to catch our ferry to the Greek island Samos for a day visit. We also used it as home base to visit the archaeological sites of Ephesus, Priene, Miletus, Didyma, Aphrodesias, and the Temple of Artemis (one of the 7 Ancient Wonders of the World).

The hotel has six floors, the third of which is Reception and dining. The first floor has a pool and deck. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a balcony with a fine view. The air conditioning is set up so that the door and window to the balcony have to be shut for it to operate. (We applaud this energy-conscious practice and have encountered it in another hotel. We wish similar energy consciousness were found in the US.) The only criticism of the room is that the shower water pressure could have been stronger.

Inside the hotel there is no elevator between the floors. (Since we unloaded luggage at 3rd-floor reception, and were assisted with luggage, this did not prove a major inconvenience.) However there is an elevator from the pool 1st floor level down to an alley at the bottom of the steep hill that made access to the town convenient and not strenuous.

The usual caveats about Turkish hotel toilets and bedding apply: Turkish toilets generally are not the best on flushing things down, especially toilet paper, and you are instructed not top put paper into the toilet. Rather, the toilets typically come with a bidet nozzle that you turn on to clean yourself rather than wiping. Toilet paper is used only to dry your bottom after washing with the bidet jet. The toilet paper is put into a covered waste container rather than flushed down. (This pertains to western-style sit toilets, not the Turkish eastern squat toilets you will sometimes encounter in public W.C. facilities, where the ritual is a bit different.) Typical Turkish hotel beds have bottom sheets but no top sheet. Instead there is some sort of light cotton blanket or coverlet that functions as blanket and top sheet.

The breakfast was traditional Turkish fare. But whereas most hotels have a breakfast buffet, this one had waiter service built around a standard Turkish breakfast plate of two kinds olives, a slice of meat, two cheeses, tomatoes, cucumbers, watermelon, with bread, honey, butter, margarine, a chocolate spread, and choice of beverages. We saw that some children were eating cereal by request.

The bar pours the most generous hard liquor of any hotel or bar in recent memory.

In five nights we got to know the three-generation family a bit. They were extremely helpful in pointing us to specific non-tourist things we wanted, recommending an inexpensive rental car while on Samos, etc.

There is onsite parking that is impossible to find on your own (It involves driving through bazar that seems to be pedestrian-only but is not, then up steep, winding, narrow roads to behind the hotel at the reception 3rd floor level. We managed to leave the car temporarily, get to the hotel, and then they sent a boy to go with us to guide us to the parking.

The only reason we did not give it a 5 rating is that there was not elevator service from floor 1 to our room level. This was not a problem for my younger companion, but this 79 yo did huff and puff the stairs.

We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 5th floor with an amazing view of the Kusadasi harbor from the private balcony. The hotel is minutes from the ferry port and located right in the heart of the night life and very near the bazaar. Recently redone the interior is wonderful and although we didn't use it the pool is great. Down side is no inside elevator, no hot water, and low water pressure. Is a good hotel for 1-2 nights but would not recommend for long stay

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terre haute, IN
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The view from the balcony was fabulous and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Its a five minute walk from the ferry and there are many great restaurants nearby. The downside is that you can't flush toilet paper and there was no shower pressure. Also, there seems to be a shortage of bed sheets in Turkey; there are rarely top sheets on the beds which, for many Americans, is a bit creepy. okay for an overnight, but maybe not an extended stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is the best hotel to stay in Kusadasi, Turkey. Rooms are huge and very clean. And the best part you have a surprise when you enter the balcony - a spectacular view of the Kusadasi beach and the harbor. It cant be better. Excellent location (3-5 mins walk to the Kusadasi beach) and best service is what you can expect from this hotel. We loved our stay at Hotel Stella. If we visit Kusadasi again, we will definitely opt Hotel Stella without a second thought. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiva Dharini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel was great. Rooms were very clean, rate was reasonable, and view was amazing. Hasan the owner was very helpful and assisted with booking anything I needed. Additionally, after I'd checked out and gone to the bus station, Hasan rushed there to bring me something I'd left behind in my room and got there minutes before my bus departed (that is great service!). My only concern with the hotel was that the walls were a little thin, so if you have noisy neighbors, you'll hear them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Hasan and his parents, were ready to help with anything from information, to personal requests.
The hotel is located high on a cliff overlooking the bay. The balconies face the ocean. There is a lift down to ground level, but there are no lifts (elevators) in the hotel, so it might be a challenge for people with medical problems.
The breakfast was very good with bread, jams, two cheeses, fresh vegetables, olives and a choice of hot drinks. Ask for the sour cherry juice. It's delicious.
My room was large, clean, with a modern bathroom. There was a TV as well, and a fridge.

Room Tip: 5th floor had a fabulous view but you have to be prepared to climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
3.7 mi away
Gultepe Apartments
Gultepe Apartments
#39 of 155 in Kusadasi
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sozer Hotel
Sozer Hotel
#59 of 155 in Kusadasi
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altinsaray
Hotel Altinsaray
#57 of 155 in Kusadasi
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
0.1 mi away
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
#25 of 155 in Kusadasi
345 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Ada Inn Hotel
West Ada Inn Hotel
#124 of 155 in Kusadasi
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Haci Feyzullah Mah. Bezirgan Sok. No:44 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey (Formerly Stella Travellers Inn)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stella 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From harbour just walk to the bird island way, 1 minute later you will see Hotel Stella on your left side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing