We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adakule - 5 stars but without any luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alkoclar Adakule Hotel
Ranked #25 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Beer-Sheva, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adakule - 5 stars but without any luxury”
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Summary first: Adakule is fine hotel in a reasonable price. You can really enjoy your staying there if you do not expect for luxury or for extraordinary accommodation.
We stayed in the Adakule hotel, Kusadasi, Turkey for 4 nights at October 2008. It supposed to be a 5 starts hotel but in my opinion it should be less.
We got a very good room, large, comfortable and with sea view, but without balcony as all the rooms in this hotel. There is a permanent problem with the availability of the elevators.
The location of the hotel is impressive: on a rock in a small deep bay near Kusadasi. The seashore is without sands and you must use the elevator to get down to the cold sea.
The availability of public transportation is good. A Dolmush to Kusadasi comes every 10 minutes and takes you to town for 2.5 Turkish Lira (about 1.5 Euro). It is only 10 minutes of driving from the hotel to the center of Kusadasi.
We took "all inclusive accommodation". The food was OK but nothing was special. You could always drink something in the lobby or eat something near the swimming pool, but nothing extraordinary. They tried to supply some entertainments in the hotel but it was infantile.
Kusadasi is near Ephesus (20 Km) and near Izmir (90 Km). So it is recommended to be in Ephesus and Izmir during your vacation in Adakule as we did. We landed in Bodrum-airport and it takes 2 hours of driving from Bodrum-airport to Kusadasi. If you can choose to land in Izmir airport, it will be much closer for you.

  • Liked — We got what we expected for.
  • Disliked — We got nothing more than what we expected.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abke550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    234
    172
    112
    184
See reviews for
681
272
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We and another couple stayed two nights in this hotel and call it among ourselves a has been hotel. I have never seen such dirty stained rugs in my life in any hotel I have been in.......the bathtub and shower curtain were dirty too. We complained about the filthy rugs upon arrival and cigarette smelling room and insisted they change our room but they said that would take two hours so we took a taxi to the town and walked around and had lunch. All very expensive in Euros.

Then we returned and they gave us our rooms, slightly less stained than the first two, next to the first rooms. Our room smelled of wet rug the entire time and they held a wedding below our window.....or rather they gave us a room over the wedding sight and we couldn t sleep till 2 am. The wedding was lovely, outside on a terraza and LOUD!

Ok I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. The food passable but nothing special. The view is lovely however.

I forgot to mention that there was a piece of marble to cross over to get into the bathroom which was broken and the front desk said they would fix it and never did. Also I told the front desk to clean our rooms as we were going on a tour ........I was reassured they would be cleaned. We arrived at 5:15 pm and the rooms hadn-t been cleaned.

To the hotel, please change your rugs. Or maybe you have better rooms and just gave us the trashy ones.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank astute4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Having stayed at similarly-priced 5 star all-inclusive hotels in Cuba, we were disappointed by Turkey's equivalent.

Despite being told that all alcoholic drinks were included, we discovered that cocktails are not, and that a Pina Colada was priced at 9 Euros. Nor could we have fresh fruit juice as part of the all-inclusive deal.

The hotel itself is a vast mausoleum of a place - recently refurbished and very modern, but with older parts that reminded me of "The Shining". It lacks character.

Our room was lovely - big and airy with a huge bed. The bathroom was tiny in comparison, but the shower was fine and it was all very clean and well-maintained.

The food was good too but none of the army of waiters in the dining room elected to serve us any drinks - we had to get them ourselves from the one coffee machine that was supposed to serve 600+ guests, and the water dispensers outside.

You would hope that a 5 star hotel would have their waiters serving coffee first thing, wouldn't you, instead of just waiting to whip your plate away.

The hotel itself is a ten minute minibus drive away from the seafront and town, but a journey well worth taking as Kusadasi is a delight, with its impressive harbour and plethora of shops selling "genuine fake" (sic) designer clothes.

All in all, a lovely holiday but I would choose somewhere closer to town next time, with proper all-inclusive drinks.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and scenic views
  • Disliked — Lack of 5 star service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyann16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Me and my boyfriend aged 19 and 22 stayed here for 2 weeks all inclusive in june 2008 and was more than pleased with the hotel. The food was good with lots of choice and always something for everyone. Hotel itself was clean and the rooms cleaned everyday. Rooms were very spacious and we had the most fantastic views over the sea. Enterntainment in the evenings could of been better we had the same man singing everynight but it didnt really bother us and it was still nice just to sit outside and chat. Childrens entertainment however did seem to vary everyday and there was always something going on. After reading the reviews on here I was nervous about going but I must admit it was the nicest hotel ive ever stayed in and I cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — entertainment could be improved
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leanne2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2008

my partner and i (34 & 39) are just home from a week's stay all inclusive at the Adakule. we have been holidaying all inclusive for about 10 years now, our third ai to Turkey and this was the best hotel yet by far for Turkey. We paid £1075 including flights from Belfast and transfers but it was well worth it. We spoke to an english lady living in kusadasi who informed us hotel was refurbished last winter and is now under new management now. The bad reviews on this site are all from before the refurbishment and before the new management took over. it is spotlessly clean throughout, bed linen & towels changed daily. drinks & food available at beach and pool all day long. lots of turkish, japanese and germans staying there so the standards were high. the food was the usual all inclusive, always something to eat, i liked the baked potatoes at the pool in the afternoons and the pancakes, omlettes & waffles in the morning at breakfast. my partner liked the ice cream but sometimes they only allowed you one if they were busy. The location is brill, nice and quiet but dolmus stops outside gate and only takes 5 mins into Kusadasi costing £1.00 per person. we would def. go back again, if you get a week cheaper than we paid jump at it, well worth every penny. book a room in main hotel not in annex, annex rooms have no lifts, hotel rooms lovely and spacious. entertainment wise there is a night club, amphitheatre for family entertainment, lobby bar and another nic bar with live music every evening all serving drinks, drinks in Kule bar in tower of hotel are not free. we liked the live music best, more for couples, also man playing piano at dinner and in lobby bar in evenings. brill time, very relaxing

  • Liked — the quiet location and on the beach
  • Disliked — the bar man at the beach bar was very rude
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for one week in June and knew not to expect 5 star quality from a Turkish hotel, we were pleasently surprised following the unfair reviews we found on this website.

There were more locals staying in the hotel than English which didn't prove to be a problem and we thought was a good sign!

The pool is lovely and the bars offer drinks where ever you are in the hotel. The food was also perfectly fine, not fantastic but much more than is expected from other All inclusive hotels. there is a lift taking you directly to the hotel's private beach which offers bottled water, a jetty and plent of sun loungers, there isn't any sand which was a shame and to enter the sea, you need to get staight in the deepend (!) as entering via the beach gets you covered in sea weed!

the rooms were large, clean, modern and well equipped and the bathroom was more than nice! the hotel staff (especially the waiters) are so friendly and keen to help although were terrible at English, also we found this with the receptionists, it is a good idea to find eveything you need to know from your rep as the reception staff cant really help.

The shop, the bars, the lobby and rooms were all wel above standard and I will be re-visiting this hotel, I would cirtainly recommend it to others and i think the bad reviews you fnd on this site really don't show the Adakule in a good light, please trust me and ignore the snobs, ITS LOVELY!

  • Liked — SIZE, ROOM, BATHROOM!!!
  • Disliked — NO BALCONY! BEACH FRONT HAD NO SAND
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Stayed at the Adakule from last week August, first week september. It was purely by chance as we were supposed to stay somewhwere else (Surmeli Efes) but were moved due to over booking . Ironically I saw this hotel on offer before going read the reviews and said absolutely NO way.

Have to be fair, the hotel is not that bad very good rooms ok facilities nice pool, seen reviews about leaky AC and scare stories of people coming back with Legionnares Disease, but the only thing with AC is it switches off from 2am to 7am, and can be little noisy. Down side is the beach, very dirty and not much to it, after the first couple of days we could not take the lift break downs and mouintain trek back up, so decided not to go back for the rest of the holiday.

It seems that with all the bad press this place was getting bookings were low and there was some kind of deal with other hotels to move all their overspill to this hotel, ten other families were at hotel same time for same reason as us,

You will have to deal with the terrain though, it's built on a VERY steep cliff, and the beach seems like a mile down from your room,(actully took me 20mins) would say absolutely no good for disabled, infirm or elderly

Entertainment is the same every day every week, but enjoyable, must admit my favourite place was the guitar player behind the bar.But the animation team try hard to put on some good entertainment.

I really have to say the biggest problem with the place is the STAFF the reception can't be bothered to deal with complaints, called the first night to say the sofa bed was'nt folding out , told OK someone on the way, called again hour later to say we want to go to sleep when is someone coming ? told Ok on the way, actually ended up sleeping 3 in double bed no-one showed. When i went to complain to duty manager following morning , he just looked at me and smiled did't say a word especially no apology. Bar staff don't want to serve, restaurant staff dont clean and re-lay tables without you asking and then give you a bad look when you do.

NOTE TO ADAKULE OWNERS, Your staff are YOU, people will overlook ALL the downside to facilities if they feel they get great customer service, it's also the number one way to attract repeat guests and recommendations.

Good hotel close to town centre everything you'll need for a good CHEAP ! holiday, so long as your fit !!

  • Liked — Nice room, and good food, entertainment
  • Disliked — Terrain, unfriendly customer service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RTD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
8.7 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
0.4 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#26 of 153 in Kusadasi
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#19 of 153 in Kusadasi
985 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
3.0 mi away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#8 of 153 in Kusadasi
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkoclar Adakule Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkoclar Adakule Hotel

Property: Alkoclar Adakule Hotel
Address: Bayraklidede Mah. Gazibegendi Mevki, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Adakule)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#33 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alkoclar Adakule Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkoclar Adakule, essiz Efes Antik Kenti ve Meryem Ana’nın evi ile iç içe, eğlencenin Kusadasi’ndaki merkezine ise beş dakika uzaklıktadır. Yamaçlarla çevrili Alkoclar Adakule, özel koyu ile, farklı spor ve aktivite secenekleri, eğlence mekanları ve birçok farklı oda seçeneğiyle ailelere Kuşadası her şey dahil otelleri arasında farklı bir tatil imkanı sunuyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkoclar Adakule Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adakule Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing