We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful place”
Review of Tusan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tusan Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dreadful place”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a travelsphere tour - how dreadful. Food was not replenished at the buffet and it was great if you liked salads, poor choice of meat dishes, dreadful breakfast choices. Rude and surley staff, over priced drinks and a ridiculous band system with credits to pay for your drinks. Facilities ok but too impersonal. Room not good, sheets didn't fit, no spares and overall - dreadful

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    413
    197
    93
    85
See reviews for
706
421
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at in 20+ years of traveling all over the world. Staff were unfriendly and did not seem happy or willing to help out. Our bathroom would constantly overflow with water since the shower space had no door. Food was served buffet style and wasn't really that special, not to mention it wasn't monitored at all - we saw a kid drop a utensil on the floor and put it back into the bin with no one saying anything. Finally, despite the lofty price tag, this hotel was neither elegant nor refined; on the contrary, the atmosphere was much more in line with what you would expect out of a college frat house on spring break. It was a complete animal house. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking good value for their money or looking for good service, cleanliness, and order in their accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvedere, Kent United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Having just returned from this Hotel.Found most of the china, cups, boles and plates where either chipped or cracked. The food was mainly warm, not hot. The rooms where clean and tidy, but some of my friends didn't have their rooms cleaned, one didn't even have a bath towel left after cleaning carried out. The hole place is in great need of a revamp.The staff where very helpful and friendly.Would not back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

All of the reviews on this hotel good and bad are true. It is the most fun hotel around the pool during the day, it is a party atmosphere all day long there thanks to the great animation team.But oh dear, reception staff are most rude and obstructive, they keep putting off your requests and enquiries, they just shrug their shoulders if you try to have your say.Then the food situation for English palattes is not good, particularly at breakfast time,it is all continental, and yes I know you don't go abroad just to eat fish and chips, but if the boot is on the other foot the continental guests would be no more happy at eating English/western food all the time, and our diet does not account for a lot of acid foodstuff all day long as the continental palatte does.There is a 'cafe' on the lower level that serves beautiful pizza's and gorgeous chips along with burgers toasties and spag bol, but that only serves out of the main restaurant times, is fast food and is not open for a relaxing evening meal.They also do a really nice fruit platter if you just feel like that or after your meal with them.The staff in both restaurants/cafe are really good and helpful and again help to make your holiday special.Spirits.Well just don't bother unless you have a cast iron constitution it is apalling and when you consider this is a 5 star hotel it is nothing short of disgraceful.Beer and wine are ok though.The trip into Kusadasi is a 10 minute one, no longer, and the dolmus stops right outside of the hotel and runs every 5 mins.We found it best to use Turkish Lira in the hotel as we felt it a better exchange than the Euro. and change pounds into Lira in Kusadasi rather than the hotel, better rate.Hope this is helpful to somebody.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor overlooking the disco. we weren't given a choice so feel this is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank objective64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to stay here in mid-July 2012, a family of 6 consisting of 4 adults and 2 children. We were in 2 rooms of 3. The rooms were kept nice and clean, the maid came every day to make beds, and replaced the towels every day. The food was lovely, plenty to choose from and if you didnt like the food in the main buffet restaurant there was always plenty of snacks on offer, burgers, chicken sandwiches, pizzas etc. The drinks were brilliant, the beer was always nice and cold and plenty of spirits to choose from. The guys on the bar outside were lovely and always happy to make special cocktails. There was no problem getting sunbeds which I was a bit worried about as we have never been away in July before so we thought we were going to be struggling to get sunbeds. We managed to find ourselves a nice spot on the grass away from the pool with lots of trees for shade. The entertainment team worked so hard to ensure all the guests had a good time and put on lots of good shows. The spa and turkish bath staff were all great, we had a lovely turkish bath when we arrived and would thoroughly recommend you do this at the start of your holiday.

All in all, couldnt fault this hotel, we had a lovely time and wouldnt hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Returned from 2 weeks in Tusan on 22nd August, 2 adults and 2 girls 11 and 14. Was sceptical re all negative comments from people who had been previously, but there was no problem at all. The rooms have been upgraded, the air con is fabulous - vast improvement. The wine in the bar had a funny taste but you could always get a decent glass/carafe in the restaurants or the bar near the snack bar, food did get repetitive towards the end and there was too much oil in it but you would never starve. Everything else great, no pestering for photos or turkish baths etc. Entertainment team were brilliant as always, especially Jack and Yana (smiley), I was queen of shuffleboard!!! No free WIFI any more 8TL for 5 hours for laptop/phone etc or 5 TL for 1 hr on computers. Bar staff more friendlier, waiters top but not sure if this due to us being English and there were only 30 of us in the whole hotel, we smile and tip. Also my daughter had her 11th birthday there and the hotel wanted 50TL or £20 for a cake for 4 people, rip off, had it complimentary in every other hotel, she chose to keep the money!! Got a taxi outside the hotel for the day for 80 euros for 3 of us, Ephesus, virgin mary's house, artemis temple (entry fee not included) and to syrince (sounds like syringey) wine tasting, that was brilliant, nobody promotes this little village that is under cover and cool, many wine houses offering free samples, they also had cider, got 2 small ciders and a btl of wine 30TL which was a great price all brewed there. Taxi driver was great out 5 and half hours, drove very slow, opened/shut the doors for us and waited patiently all day, even took us round syrince!! Better than organised trips when you go to clay museums etc for 2 hours!!

Room Tip: we stayed at the front this time, no sun which was great as you could sit on the balcony and be cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers aged 14 and 12) and have just returned back from a week at the Tusan......
We are avid Trip Advisors so firstly read the reviews before we booked. We can honestly say the bad reviews are, in the most part, completely unfounded!!
This is going to be a long review, well more like a short story, so sit back with a cuppa and settle in to read the truth about our experience at the Tusan...
First impressions; When you first pull up to the hotel you are greeted by a rather grand entrance complete with a fantastic water fountain. The bell boy appeared straight away to take our cases and we were checked in with no problems in a matter of minutes. Walking into the lobby everything appeared to be very clean.
The room; we were in room 4429 overlooking the front of the hotel which was a good place to be as there was no noise from the entertainment at the back and the sound of the fountain during the day if you are sat out on the balcony was a nice touch. We had a large double bed and 2 singles in 1 room with a small fridge/mini bar (2.50 tl for a bottle of water around £1) the room itself we would say was probably the only 'downside' if you can call it that, although how much time do you spend in your room on holiday?!! it was dated (pink bathroom suite/scuffs on walls/dated carpets/scuffs on furniture) but the maid was in every day with clean towels and to make the beds so we couldn't fault that at all!! Also the beds are so comfortable and you have hot water all day.
The food: one word, FANTASTIC!!! lets start with breakfast, plenty of cereal (coco pops etc) breads, different jams, honey, pancakes. However i prefer a nice cooked breakfast and it's a good job i like eggs!!! boiled eggs, scrambled, fried and omelettes either plain or with cheese, meat and/or tomatoes. Yes, you have to wait for the omelettes and fried eggs but never more than 5/10 mins tops and outside they cook fresh pancakes.(bear in mind that Turkey is a muslim country so no pork products) There's plenty of fresh fruit available too and tea and coffee aplenty. Top tip---it opens at 7am so aim to get there around 8 ish after the German rush!
Lunch; 13.00- Well here you have a choice, back to the main restaurant which does get quite busy where there's chips/chicken/fish/veg/rice, salad and breads or at the Perge cafe (open from 11.00) for burgers/chips/pasta/pizza (made from scratch!!) and fruit whichever you choose you will not be disappointed. The chef in the Perge cafe is great, rushed off his feet but so efficient! (remember to tip for good service) the reviews that note the chipped crockey and cups are correct however not all are like that so just choose one that isn't if it bothers you that much!!
Dinner; you do have the option of 1 a la carte visit included in your all inclusive but we didn't take this. Dinner is busy, yes, but not terribly so. We never at any time had trouble finding a table and there was always plenty of food. The waiters were brilliant and extremely efficient in clearing the tables and the plates after you had finished. We saw a few flies but not the amount mentioned in previous reviews! what do you expect in a country with temps of 40 degrees!
There are water stations dotted around everywhere and fresh juices/teas/coffee and also a bar.
The puddings are vast with a massive amount to choose from. We chose a table inside the restaurant which is fully air conditioned rather than sit outside where i guess you would get bothered more by flies and it was a lot busier.
Evenings; During the evening we spent our time around the bar, there are plenty of seats to go around and you can sit inside if its a little windy which has a great atmosphere and comfy sofas. There is also a lovely snug area by the bar with sofas and cushions under the trees where we sat nearly every night.
Entertainment; there is tons to do if you want and the entertainment staff work really hard (especially Jack ;)) we didn't do any of the evening entertainment but you can hear it from the bar area and the atmosphere is great. They do candy floss, lollies and popcorn for the kids (additional charge although not much, around 8tl for a lolly and candy floss )
Daytime entertainment around the pool is also fantastic, our eldest son did water polo, boules, table tennis, volleyball and football and thoroughly enjoyed each one. There's certainly enough to keep the kids busy. Down by the pool area they have a games room with table tennis and pool which is free to use and was never very busy. On a good note the team are not pushy at all so if you just want a lazy holiday not a problem! they always make the effort to come round for a chat to get to know you.
We read before we booked that getting a bed around the pool was a big issue, this is rubbish. Even during the early afternoon there were plenty of beds in various areas although, granted, not on the beach. We woke at 7am, left the room at 8, wandered down to the pool area to sort out an umbrella, stand and beds (all free) went for breakfast and spent the day around the pool. No problem!!!!

Just a few other points now, we read that the staff were rude in previous reviews. WRONG!!! all the staff are so friendly. The cleaning lady who looks after the surrounding pool areas was lovely and busy all day. The Tusan is spotlessly clean which makes up for some of the slightly dated rooms. The chef in the Perge cafe was lovely and always greeted us with a smile. The barmen, always remembered what we had to drink and had them waiting!! hows that for service. They honestly could not do enough to make our holiday a great experience. How they do it all day every day in 40 degree heat is beyond me!! and keep so cheerful about it too.
The location of the hotel is great, not too close to town but not too far out either and the views are breathtaking overlooking the sea. There is a dolmus (bus no.1) which runs from just outside the hotel which is 2.75tl per person (around £4 each way) but we just jumped in a taxi right outside the hotel which is always available which was 20tl. (One point to note is that after midnight the fares double and the dolmus stops running at midnight too)

We didn't do any excursions so cannot comment on these but we did visit Adaland water park which was fantastic and covered in another review.
We also visited the market by the harbour on a Wednesday (market day) which is a must see and a great experience.
Whilst in town we had drinks at 2 places, which are reviewed separately.

Also a few points which will help fellow travellers, you need to have £10 per person ready when you land at Izmir airport for your visa, this was not mentioned to us by our tour operator and we only found out through TripAdvisor!!!! also the toilets in Turkey, you cannot flush loo paper down them and this goes into a bin at the side of the toilet (just a small point but we didn't know before we travelled!!)

So to sum up our holiday to the Tusan it is a fantastic resort, gorgeous location with fabulous weather. It could benefit from a little updating in places but the staff make this hotel what it is. There are always managers around overseeing things and as aforementioned the staff (all of them) do not stop working!!!!!

If you're thinking about booking please do so! you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.6 mi away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#5 of 155 in Kusadasi
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
6.7 mi away
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 155 in Kusadasi
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#20 of 155 in Kusadasi
963 reviews
1.9 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#25 of 155 in Kusadasi
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tusan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tusan Beach Resort

Property: Tusan Beach Resort
Address: Otuzbirler Bayraklidede Mh. Kustur Onu Yolu Cad No: 19, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kusadasi
#10 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#21 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tusan Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to loose yourself in the vibrant beauty and the captivating allure of Tusan Beach Resort. Now is the time to experience the difference. Our pleasently furnished 286 sea-view room and 68 garden-view rooms have panoramic look at the Aegean or face the delightful hillside to the east. Tusan Beach Resort offers you different alternatives of rooms, all of which have private balcony for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tusan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tusan Beach Hotel Kusadasi
Tusan Beach Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing