We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A Great Day in Ephesus ... with Great Service from Anil

Our visit to Ephesus was made particularly special by Anil and his team. Friendly, helpful and... read more

Reviewed February 14, 2017
zipparoo
,
Los Angeles, California
Ephesus tour from Istanbul!

My friend and i went to istanbul for business and holiday. After our meetings end we would like to... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2017
Luisa J
via mobile
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
83
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 85 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just got back from Turkey, and one of the highlights of our trip was the tour of Ephesus. We were picked up right at our hotel in Kusadasi by Anil and proceeded to the House of the Virgin Mary, which is in a lovely setting on a mountainside. We then headed for our tour of Ephesus, followed by a trip to the Temple of Artemis. Anil was a fantastic guide -- he's very knowledgeable about each of the sites, as well as the country's amazing history, and it's clear that he just loves what he's doing. We had a lovely lunch in the midst of the day and rounded out the tour by seeing some of the local artisans at work -- weaving carpets and making beautiful ceramics. Thank you Anil, for a terrific day! I would not hesitate to recommend Anil and VIP Ephesus Tours -- they run a thoroughly professional operation.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank Torontofoodisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I went on a tour with Selçuk to Ephesus. We were picked up in Izmir in a private van and taken to the House of the Virgin Mary, Ephesus and the Temple of Artemis. Selçuk knew so much about the history of the ancient cities and also about the history of Turkey, we really learned a lot. He was also very nice and easy to get along with. Ephesus was incredible; we had a lot of fun walking through it and Selçuk was there to guide us along. I definitely recommend taking a tour to Ephesus with Selçuk.

Date of experience: August 2013
2  Thank 550MikeM550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We did a shared tour for 8 total people in Istanbul and Ephesus on 9/14 and 9/15.

In Istanbul we had Esra as our guide in addition to the driver of the comfortable Mercedes mini-bus. We got to see everything we wanted and had a tasty Turkish lunch that was covered as well as entrance fees to sites by the tour fee. Esra spoke excellent English and was very friendly and had lots of information about each site. She was also very willing to answer our questions about culture and about the recent happenings with protests in Taksim Square.

In Ephesus Anil was our guide for the day. We took the long walk through the ruins of Ephesus which were a pleasant surprise to me as I didn't know what to expect. They are digging up new things all the time it seems and the Terrace Houses have been restored partially and it was really interesting to see the ancient artwork and how they lived so far back. There is the Celsus Library and a huge old amphitheater as well which are just part of the experience. At the end of the tour we sat down and had a beer at a local bar which was a nice way to relax before heading back to the port. Anil spoke great English having lived in the US for a time and was full of information both about their culture and the sites.

If you are worried about being taken to carpet factories we did go to one in Istanbul only because Esra asked the people in our group and they said yes It was a very nice store right in the city near the tourist area and they gave us drinks while they demonstrated. The process was very interesting and they do of course give you the hard sell(nothing too pushy) but we declined and no big deal. It did not ever come up in Ephesus. They are beautiful and if we had the money I would certainly buy one but they aren't cheap.

These two tours were among the highlights of our trip and I would definitely recommend them.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked a tour at 17 september 2013 from İzmir port to Ephesus.Vip Ephesus Tour guide welcomed us at the port on time. The car was very clean and luxry. Our guide kept us always infront of the crowd and very informative. She is an archaeologist and we learned alot. The lunch we had was amazing. The experience was great for us. If you really want a five star service they are perfect !

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank Pedro305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a private tour of Ephesus, the Temple of Artemis and a stop at a traditional Turkish bath with our guide Selçuk Kaya. He was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and outgoing. We greatly appreciated how much he knew about the sites and his flexibility with what we wanted to do. We highly recommend him!

Date of experience: August 2013
3  Thank NedaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews