We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a tranquil place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luana Hotels Santa Maria
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a tranquil place.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A 168 bedroomed complex where those rooms in the main building either face the dual carriage way or the pool. Entertainment started at 10.00 everyday and with a couple of reprieves went on to 23.00. Even with double glazing you couldn't get away from the noise and the use of disco rhythms and playground whistles everyday was not a delight. Guests came from across eastern europe and scandinavia as well as Turkey.

At night others found that the road noise was high and adversely impacted on their sleep,we heard some traffic at night too but it wasn't intrusive.

Room and ensuite of good quality. Balcony fine. Sunbeds were being reserved from 06.00.

Breakfast was the best meal of the day in terms of choice - the fruit juices were all powder based and strong, needing to be watered down. Lunch and dinner were variable and for after a couple of days we eat out each evening. The dining room reminded me of school lunches in the hall. Get up to go and get a drink and the staff could clear you place! whilst your chairs could have moved too!!

5 minutes walk down the dual carriage way to the dolmus stop and 15 mins into the town - cost about £1 each way a person. Watch out as taxis and minibuses access the hotel from the wrong side of the dual carriage way!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    97
    60
    43
    50
See reviews for
211
110
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Onesti, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from Santa Maria Hotel yesterday, after a 8-day stay and we can say we are satisfied, not entirely happy, with the choice. Now some details:
We arrived around 10 o'clock in the morning and although they specified that the check-in was made at 2 pm, at 10.30 we were already in the room, which was great, since we had travelled by coach for 28 long hours.
THE ROOM: spacious than the one we had at 5-star Kusadasi hotel Adakule some years ago, first floor - no.1125, garden view (recommended, if you want to sleep, since there is music at the pool until late at night). Clean, carpet on the floor (liked it), twin beds (we moved them to make a double bed, very comfortable. Clean white linen, good furniture (not all new), individual air conditioning (perfect!)
THE BATHROOM: nice and clean, bathtub with curtains (for the previous ignorants I read about around here, on the site: leave the curtains' ends IN THE BATHTUB WHIILE SHOWERING!!! otherwise water gets on the floor (which is pretty logical! it happens at home as well, right! The bathroom is completely renovated (the hotel was partially renovated when it changed its name in 2009 from Vera Le Prince Ada), so it's ok.
THE CLEANING: is done daily, but if you want it done thoroughly, just hang the"please make up my room" sign on the door. The linen is changed every 3 days and a bottle of water (1.5 l) is left in the room daily - the other hotels don't give you that and you have to carry glasses of water in the room every evening. We gave one of the cleaning ladies 5 lira one day and she took great care of our room, bathroom and towels, but this does not mean they do it only if you pay - this was sth we wanted to do, because we know they work very hard and they are paid almost nothing.
THE POOL; nice, large, clean, enough seats, they give towels for the pool, excellent!
THE BARS: there are 2: one by the pool and the lobby bar. The drinks are not very varied : local wine (I didn't taste it), beer (not strong, very good for the hot summer days, you can drink more than one if your goal is to get drunk - I didn't want that), pepsi, fanta, sprite and soda, vodka and some other alcoholic stuff I was not interested in. I tasted gin tonic one night but they are too generous with the gin and I didn't like it. The only problem is the water and the plain juice - the water has an awful taste (it smells awful too) and the juice (sour cherry, orange, pomgranate, lemon) are sooo sweet that it's impossible to drink them. In the lobby bar the plain water and juice machine gave hot juice and although more people complained about this they did nothing to repair the problem. During the last days of our stay the pepsi machine broke down, but they brought bottles instead and everything was ok.
RESTAURANT AND FOOD: The restaurant is quite large and there is also a snack bar by the pool. The restaurant is opened for breakfast (7-9.30 am), lunch (12.30-14.30), and dinner (19.30-21.30). The food is somewhat varied - chicken stew every day, turkey in sauce, fish occasionally, no beef and of course no pork. A lot of vegetables cooked in various ways, salads (a lot!), strange soups and very sweet cookies - it was a joy to find a cake which was not bathed in honey syrup. Fruit: watermellon, apricots, peaches and plums. The snack bar was opened between 12.30 and 5 pm and it offered hamburgers (kind of tasteless), fries and pitta (a sort of oven-baked thin layer of dough filled with cheese or meat and vegetables, which was quite good). Between 4 and 5 there is a coffee break at the pool and they give cookies and snacks - some are tasty, some aren't. The only thing is that if you are not accustomed to eating too much during the day (and because of the heat, your appetite is quite low), between 5 and 7.30 pm when dinner starts you get really, really hungry and you can't find anything to eat. Another problem is the fact that there is not a bar in the restaurant and during meals you have to go up or down the stairs to the bars to get sth to drink, because the only water machine in the restaurant gives awful and rather hot water and juice. If you have children and they are fussy with food, prepare for the battle or just get accustomed to the idea that you will feed them hamburger and chips each day. The waiters are numerous and nice and they work from morning till midnight, you can actually see the exhaustion on their faces, but they are still smiling, making jokes and helping you. One day, our friends' 3-year old girl asked me for some soup after lunch was over, and I went and asked one of the waiters, who went to the kitchen and came back with a bowl of soup for her. If you go anywhere else in this world, they will never do sth like this, believe me!
ANIMATION: there were 4 guys , one girl and their manager. They really struggled to do a good job, unfortunately the guests did not seem to want to have too much fun. The evening mini disco and the entertainment show were a delight. They had bingo night, comedy night, a nice shadow and light show and many more. the only minus was the fact that the mini club for the kids did not have a responsible like in the other resorts, so the children couldn't do much at the playground and the parents had to deal with them by the pool all day long. The garden is quite reduced and you can't go anywhere except to play darts, petangue, tennis (bring your own rackets, theirs are ruined!) or table tennis.
BEACH: the hotel is very near the main street so you will hear the traffic all day long. To go to the beach you can either walk for 10 minutes or take the free shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach and back - it goes once every hour, from 10am to 6pm. The beach is near Kustur resort beach, which looks much better. It has a few chairs and umbrellas - insufficient anyway and not very well kept, the beach is not very clean, the sand is a little rough and there are rocks when you go into the water - after you walk for a few meters, there is only fine sand. The water is clean and very very salty.
THE TOWN OF KUSADASI: the town is really nice. To arrive there, you can choose a taxi (you negotiate with the driver) or you can take the dolmus (a small bus) from the front of Kustur Club Resort, on the way to the beach (it's 2,75 lira, a little more than 1 euro). You always see immense cruise boats in the port and you can shop in the bazar, where you find souvenirs and anything you want and you can negotiate roughly for everything you buy - Turkish sellers adore this!
ADDITIONAL TRIPS: you can visit many places such as: Pamukkale, the calcar terraces, Cleopatra's island, you can go on a cruise or visit Virgin Mary's house or the old city of Efes with its stone narrow streets and the ancient amphitheatres. You can buy the trips with your agency - they will offer this to you - or you can choose the cheaper version going to a local agency - the Discovery agency just around the corner, behind the gas station on your way to the beach offers great prices for different kinds of activities, even safari or camel riding.
That is pretty much all. One last advice anyway:if you went to a 5-star resort in Turkey previously, don't go to Vera - you will be pretty disappointed. If you are fussy with food or you like extravagance, choose a 5-star resort, like Adakule, Charisma, Korumar or better, Surmeli Efes. You will pay a little more (200 to 400 euro plus probably), but you will be more than satisfied, Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ioana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bratislava
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

we stayed at the hotel last august, room was ok, food was ok, o.k., we were in hotels with better rooms and much more better food, but we were also in hotel with much more poor food, so not claim, but
- furniture - sofa, coach in the hotel lobby where is only place for internet are so dirty! to sit there was so disgusting, this is the first impression when you arrive to the hotel - it is nearby reception, fuu, same situation in the bar
- I never understand people who come to turkey and all the day sitting around the pool, but respect, anyway most of people comming to enjoy sea isn't ? ..... the way to the beach is terrible, ok there is hotel bus, can be solved, but the beach??! beach of vera santa maria is between others, did u ever go to beach, or you are only drinking at poolbar? the beach is terrible, a big disorder, mess, beds are w/o mattresses, dirty ... what a difference in comparison with other hotel's beaches where of course guests of vera santa maria are not allowed to go, no beach bar even you pay all inclusive ... so the reasonwhy i do not go back to hotel is the conditions of the beach, for me most important when I go to spend holiday at sea
anyway can confirm, staff is very helpfull,kind, the turkish night was awesome, at the end we were satisfied with our holiday, as I used to see good things and not to pay much attention of the bad, if it is not dangerous :) nice trip to efez can recommend to all, and to managers of the hotel - please clean sofas in lobby and bar and do something with the beach, I spoke with other guests, the main problem was the beach, all the best

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We turned up at the hotel on 20th June and were staying in room 1114. Our room was a bit of a let down as there were squashed bugs on every wall, we had asked for a double room and it was a twin (but this wasn't too much of a problem as we just moved the beds) but the real issue was with the bathroom. We had a shower, however the curtain was much too short allowing water to go all over the floor. After every shower there was about an inch of water all over the bathroom floor which we had no choice but to mop up with our bath towels. Although we felt the room was disappointing, we found that the rest of the hotel was nice and well kept, especially the pool area and the staff were always very helpful (especially when we lost hand luggage) and so could not fault them on that. The food was good, however we felt that it got very repetitive (particularly the desserts). Breakfast was a favourite as the pancakes served at the snack bar were lovely, as were the fresh oven baked pittas made by the lovely turkish lady by the pool. The packed lunches which were available were useful for day trips and were decent enough (we took ours to adaland). We were very disappointed by the selection of alcohol included in the all inclusive. As we do not drink wine or beer, only spirits there was a very limited choice. There was only vodka, gin and traditionally turkish drinks. The measures of these were very generous, and therefore we had to ask them to stop before your drink became 3/4 vodka!! We were also let down that there were no cocktails or ice cream included in the all inclusive deal and if these were wanted then they were at additional cost. We thought that the entertainment was good in the evenings and the animation team were very enthusiastic. We felt however that Fufu (a member of this team) actually ruined our daytime and evening entertainment. He was too over the top and seemed much too attention seeking when it was not needed. We actually began to actively avoid him due to his behaviour, and so although the hotel cannot be faulted for trying, perhaps the entertainment would be better if Fufu was not so heavily involved. We greatly enjoyed the special turkish evening when they put the tables out by the pool and it had an almost wedding like feel. It was also good that the animation crew organised a trip to bar street on many nights, however we never actually went with them. The hotel location was not a problem to us as we were not interested in being a stones throw from the centre and we did not hear the busy road once we were through the hotel door. We found that it was very cheap to get the dolmus bus from the petrol station to go to adaland (which we throughly recommend) and to the centre of Kusadasi, however if you are looking for a hotel close to bars and the lively town centre then this one is not for you. Overall we had a brilliant time in Kusadasi, however this was possibly more down to the area and the trips to adaland aquapark, dolphin park and sea park, a scuba diving excursion and a trip to ephesus. The hotel was a good base for the week which we stayed and although we would not say we had a bad experience, we would probably not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool are affected by the noise of the evening entertainment but those at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissNB
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I love the atmosphere and vibe of the hotel. We felt very relaxed and welcomed by the staff. They were friendly and helpful. They loved my daughter and constantly picked her up and walked around with her, she loved it. We were in a great location for visiting kusadasi marina, Selcuk market, Ephesus, Sirince etc. The hotel was clean, had a range of activities especially for the children. It's a shame my daughter (15 months) was too young to enjoy them.
All in all, we had a very pleasant experience.
On our last day my partner and I had the full hammam experience which is worthwhile having and such a bargain!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourgas, Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For the first time I found the hotel in 2009 and has since traveled quite hotels in the region and Turkey, but I can confidently say - THIS IS MY HOTEL. I rest. I feel wonderful there. Staff and cool. Actually, you do not have the people who care about you; this are your friends, welcome to make your vacation wonderful. Uniquely hospitable. I love them. it

Room Tip: Room with terrace overlooking the poolno matter what floor you're on - each with advantages. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

iv been to thıs hotel for the last 3 years i know very well the hotel and staff they are realy friendly. i dont understand WHY???? people are leavıng horrible reviews.... all the staff at hotel are very helpful and always there to help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tecnicm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.4 mi away
The Panorama Hill
The Panorama Hill
#46 of 154 in Kusadasi
434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Surtel Hotel Kusadasi
Surtel Hotel Kusadasi
#74 of 154 in Kusadasi
130 reviews
5.4 mi away
Arora Hotel
Arora Hotel
#55 of 154 in Kusadasi
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
2.5 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 154 in Kusadasi
453 reviews
4.0 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#6 of 154 in Kusadasi
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Hotels Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Hotels Santa Maria

Property: Luana Hotels Santa Maria
Address: Bayrakli Dede Mah, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey (Formerly Sole Hotel Santa Maria)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#34 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Luana Hotels Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luana Hotels Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vera Hotel Kusadasi
Prince Ada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing