We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view from the back????”
Review of Derici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derici Hotel
Ranked #33 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed for 2 weeks in August 2010. Hotel was full and we were given a room at the back of the hotel. I was not aware that the hotel did not allow smoking in the bedrooms? This would have affected the fact that I booked this place. Anyway had no choice but to exile myself to the balcony. Oh and had to buy myself an ashtray!!! We had no view apart from the Istankoy hotel behind us. There were middle aged topless ladies sitting there a lot of the time.
The smoking area for the Istankoy was alas just under our window so the noise went on all night or it seemed to?
We asked for a front room 3 times then just gave up asking!
The breakfast was fine, as was the room just the non smoking and the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dozzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Derici Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

had read mixed reviews so was really unsure what to expect, however was pleasantly surprised. cant fault the location and although the room was a bit dated it was perfectly acceptable for the price. it was clean and the bedlinen was spotless, pillow was a shapeless lump though.

the bathroom was modern, again clean with a very good shower with hot water 24/7. our room was at the back corner of the hotel so we had views over a carpark and up to the hills (technically it came with a seaview as you could see the bay from a corner)

dont know what people expect for breakfast but it was typical turkish fare. everything was fresh and an "english" breakfast was available for the homesick for 15tl which seemed the going rate

pool on the roof wasn't the biggest but was clean - major problem with the sunbeds in that when the pool area opened officially at 9am, people reserved a bed with a towel then buggered off for the day depriving latecomers the chance of using the beds, whilst we were there a bridal group did this every day with 8 beds. one negative was the staff were a bit tardy in opening the pool area up.

food and drink was available at the bar but whilst the girl who was working there was good the man who covered for her was really reluctant to give you your change!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

just returned from a week in the derici hotel ideal location room very outdated had to be out of the room at midday even though our flight not going out untill 6 30 next morning if we wanted to keep the room untill midnight it was another 70 pounds stg , grey haired man at reception very pleasent also lady cleaning room. kusadasi will not be a choice for future holiday

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank redladyDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed in the Derici (which known locally is called the 'Fake Leather' hotel - rather appropriate) to which we found it very disappointing. On arrival (after our flight was delayed) we were met by hostile and inconsiderate staff, not the friendly and mannerly staff I had previously read about.

On entering our room I cried - the décor alone looked like it was there since 1960! The carpet was coming away from the floor in places making a rippled effect, the bed linen was stained and generally grubby, the bathroom although cleaner than the rest of the basic room was grubby.

The pool within the brochure is portrayed as much bigger than it is, to be honest most travel operator businesses have bigger premises than this pool! Also the staff at the pool where not helpful and rude when we tried to order food or drinks, often focusing on their mobile or paper/book.

We ate out every day/night due to the inedible breakfasts, not the continental breakfast we were sold - they don't tell you its 15tl extra! Also the indoor pool (FREEZING) is the only service free to use (if you like feeling uncomfortable and being watched by the staff), the gym,sauna,jacuzzi are all extra!

Although this hotel is in an amazing location, we did not get it cheap and where thoroughly disappointed in what we had received. I definitely would recommend Kusadasi as a holiday, but definitely not the Derici.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teacups_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

First time to Kusadasi with my girlfriend and we'd already been scammed entering the country by people 'offering' to carry your bags for free but expecting a large tip.

However upon arriving at the hotel in the early hours of the morning (3/4 o'clock), we had our bags carried and were shown to our room. The staff were persistantly friendly with us especially when we locked our valuables in the safe and entered the wrong code :/ . The maid we had was a star, we left our room a tip and she tidyed it for us the poor dear.

The temperature in summer is HOT! (47 degrees c) however the humidity is pleasant compared to other destinations and the heat isnt sticky

The hotel itself is nice enough however the rooms are now dated but are clean and the bathroom is relatively modern. The pool is also quite small and getting sunbeds can be a pain if your not up early! We were however very dissapointed with the breakfast, all cold meats and cheese, cereals minus the exception of eggs (boiled, fried poached) and on some days a chopped hot dog sausage in a tomato sauce. Also turkish tea, coffee and lipton tea bags and fruit juices are on offer.

We had a part sea veiw and part abandoned football pitch and car park view which wasnt the greatest but the sea view was stunning

The location is great, a two minute walk into the centre where there is plenty of restaurants bars and market stalls (recommend the Kalyon restaurant). The market day is on wednesday and is located left from the hotel then the first left at the top of the hill. However we found everything to be the same that was on offer as in kusadasi centre ( haggle!!). Bar street didnt live up to its reputation and was fairly dissapointed with it, buy one get one free cocktails ( the second actually being fruit juice) and free shots but with very little on offer in the bars not the greatest for nightlife on the clubbing scene but good for couples and families

Overall thoroughly enjoyed our experience and may return in the future

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crouchylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Derici for 10 nights in August 2010 on a B&B basis and despite small niggles we thought that it was excellent value for money. It's in dead centre of Kusadasi, the breakfast although the same is very varied with a wide choice of drinks, the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean with nice bathrooms. The only problems we've had were: the towels are being replaced every 2 days, not 1 and it takes up to 5 pm; the Internet is VERY temperamental - some pages require 5 reloads for them to fully open, others will simply refuse but it's bearable and the roof pool is rather tiny. I would still recommend this hotel and come back to it should I need to.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomasz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

i went away wive me bf and his family stayed in derici hotel the room was ok like i didnt eat there food because me bf family got ill me and bf eat round the carner call pams love there food the cleans wasnt gud they snich up on me bf 4 staying in the room wive me the pool on the roof was ok i wouldnt go bk the hotel the noise kept me up all nite

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candiceb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 155 in Kusadasi
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilayda Hotel
Ilayda Hotel
#23 of 155 in Kusadasi
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Altinsaray
Hotel Altinsaray
#54 of 155 in Kusadasi
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carina
Hotel Carina
#45 of 155 in Kusadasi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derici Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari 42/1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#30 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range: $40 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Derici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derici Otel Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing