We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Kusadasi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Kervansaray Kusadasi
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Kusadasi”
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We were recommended to this hotel by a travel agent on Samos where we went as our enquiries to another Kusadasi hotel that we were planning to go where not being responded promptly. We wanted a place for three nights in a central location with good amenities to use as a base to explore the area, including a visit to ancient Ephesus. The hotel was as described, a 17th century caravanserai, renovated and remodeled for today’s needs. Rooms were good, bathrooms up to date, the staff helpful, and the large central courtyard where breakfast was served and where one can have a pleasant lunch also, was very attractive. The carpet sellers were very pleasant and not intrusive, once they realized that you were a hotel guest. But unfortunately there was a continuous stream of tourists wandering through the place that detracted from us feeling that we were in a “special”, for us, place.

But it was not until the following night that we started realizing the true nature of the “Karavanesari Hotel”. On our second night, there was a “Turkish night” on, which we did not think that would have had any special appeal to us, so we went out for dinner and came back about 10:30 to find a spectacular show in full swing. We stayed up at the upper floor balcony outside our room and enjoyed the rest of the show, until midnight. But the noise continued until about 1:30 when all cleaning had finished. OK, one night with little sleep, at least, we had seen half a good show without paying for it.

But to out horror, next night there was a children’s party on, that again finished at midnight, with cleaning up going again till 1:30! There were more than 100 people attending, children and mums dancing and screaming, children running along the upper balcony where the rooms were and the amplified noise was excruciating.
When we were leaving next morning we noticed that there were “Turkish nights” scheduled for that same night and the one after.

So, if you are looking for a hotel, Karavanserai is not a hotel, it is an entertainment venue, where they make a bit of money on the side from unsuspecting tourists that are attracted by its location and the dream of sleeping in a traditional 17th century Turkish fort. This may turn out into a sleepless nightmare, depending on the entertainment program of the venue.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We escaped Hotel Rosy at Ladies Beach and were very pleased with the change to Club Caravanserai and for only about 20 lira more per night. Rooms weren't huge but nicely furnished and equipped and bathrooms were quite modern and a big step up from the drenched-room-after-cold-shower experiences of previous hotel. We found the staff very pleasant and accommodating. We didn't notice the street noise at all (and I'm a light sleeper) thanks to the thick walls and recessed windows. Yes, on "Turkish entertainment nights", the music from the show and the take-down after will keep you awake till after midnight but we aren't early-to-bed types anyway. And the carpet-sellers in this state-run hotel were very unobtrusive compared to those in the town shops. There are luxurious resorts at the marina and outside of town but if you want to be in the centre of it all, only a 10-minute dolumus ride to the beach, with a clean and comfortable room and be able to have drinks or breakfast in the Caravanserai's lovely courtyard, this would definitely be my first choice.

  • Liked — Historical ambiance, beautiful courtyard, nice rooms, location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Kervansaray (or Caravanserai) for 2 nights during our Turkey/Greece vacation. Our agent had first recommended an older hotel on the coast, but I wanted something with more local atmosphere. The building itself is very interesting. However, be forewarned that what makes it interesting (the open courtyard and old stone structure) also contribute to some of the biggest problems. Our first night was a Saturday, and the "Club" portion of the hotel's name was in full gear. The music is horribly loud and echoes off the stone. I had to use earplugs to mute the noise enough to sleep. The next morning, the staff began setting up for breakfast and the rug vendors (whose store opens into the courtyard) were hanging rugs off the balcony. Any and all noise, even talking in the courtyard, is amplified by the stone. The second day, we returned to our room around 4:30pm to rest and clean up for dinner. The entertainers were rehearsing and the bass players and a singer had the amplifier working at maximum capacity. The beds were very low with the top of the mattress being below 18" from the floor. The staff were courteous but not overly friendly. The room was suitable but needed remodeling. Breakfast was sufficient but not abundant. Breakfast placemats and tablecloths were not changed between guests, so spills were visible. Although the location was very convenient down by the cruise ship dock in the center of town, I would recommend staying somewhere else. We had a wonderful dinner at a small restaurant close to the marina and I understand that the nicer hotels are in that vicinity.

  • Liked — the building's architecture
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EWPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We booked this hotel for one night only at the end of our Turkey/Greece trip and at the time, just needed somewhere to sleep which was clean before heading home. We didn't have anything pre-booked and just wandered in off the street after looking at one of the other supposedly more modern hotels down the road (which incidently was grotty, tired and very unappealing). But we were pleasantly surprised with the Club Kervansaray and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Kusadasi.

If you're catching a ferry it's perfect, given that the port is directly across the road but it's also a great location for the restaurants and the main strip, etc. It was good value for money with friendly and helpful staff and the room was cosy with a lovley Turkish feel including good TV and amentities. The bathroom was quite adequate and extremely clean. Breakfast was served in the open air lobby which is such a fantastic place to sit and admire the surrounding building.

I'm surprised more people haven't recommended this hotel for it's location, atmosphere, cleanliness and price.

  • Liked — The actual hotel building
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anniekabanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Very unique hotel to stay at since it's an old caravansary. The rooms were nice and large. In the rooms you could not hear any noise from the street. However, if you stay on the nights that they have turkish nights, expect the room to be quite loud, and it doesn't end until around 11:30 pm. However the transformation for breakfast is lovely, as it's a quiet, tranquil courtyard. The hotel has valet service, but don't expect the service you get in America. At times you have to track down the person to park your car, which annoys the local police a little, but they are annoyed at the hotel and not you. The staff was for the most part friendly and some of them spoke english which was nice.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank irishprincessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

This is not your typical hotel, and that alone makes this worth staying - unless you want a beach resort type hotel. Good location, good service. Room was ok, could use some remodeling and a more comfortable bed, but was OK. It's right in the middle of the bazaar district so lots of shopping, restaurants nearby - but a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank California1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Efe Boutique Hotel
Efe Boutique Hotel
#50 of 155 in Kusadasi
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
#23 of 155 in Kusadasi
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surtel Hotel Kusadasi
Surtel Hotel Kusadasi
#72 of 155 in Kusadasi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Altinsaray
Hotel Altinsaray
#57 of 155 in Kusadasi
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#55 of 155 in Kusadasi
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sozer Hotel
Sozer Hotel
#59 of 155 in Kusadasi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Kervansaray Kusadasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Kervansaray Kusadasi

Property: Club Kervansaray Kusadasi
Address: Ataturk Bul. 2, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Ottoman Caravanserail built by Okuz Mehmet Pasha in 1618.The hotel has been furnished to meet present day needs, whilst preserving all the typical characteristics of a Caravanserail- two floors, two entrances and spacious courtyard.The club Caravanserail has a mystical atmosphere, decorated in the style of its oririnal architectural design.25 special rooms, 50 beds, 1 suite.Free Wireless internet connection available in all rooms.Each authentic room has a pravite bathroom and direct dial telephone.Outdoor resturant(350), Banguet facilities, snack bar, pravite garden.24 hrs ADSL internet, free for costumres, VIP internet room magic internet.Situated in the heart of Kusadasi town center, 100 meters from the harbour and 70 km from Izmir Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Club Kervansaray Kusadasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Kervansaray Hotel Kusadasi
Kervansaray Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing