We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perched on a Hill, Grand Onder has the View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suhan Seaport Hotel
Ranked #108 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's unanimous. This hotel, if you are lucky enough to get the rooms facing the sea, provides an amazing view of the Aegean. We spent two days in the Grand Onder, we just housed ourselves outside of the veranda and gazed at the curvaceous shorelines of the oceanview. Although big cruise ships would be dotting the shoreline, at the time of our stay there, we only had one. So the view was just idyllic.

Another aspect I like about the hotel was the food. It was not gourmet, but the selection was ample. The pasta station was a big break for us from all Turkish food, albeit, delicious. Opt to sit outside along the swimming pool overlooking the Aegean. The best yet was dining during dusk. I remember having so much fun playing pingpong after dinner which was adjacent from the dining hall. The hotel's pool is still the property's biggest asset. After exploring Ephesus, nothing could be more relaxing than going for a swim on the pool.

I just hope that the hotel would provide free wifi and safe for valuables. These amenities come as standard for most hotel. Grand Onder should too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingermint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 254 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

The view of the Aegean was the best thing about the hotel. We chose this hotel because of the swimming pool. It was lovely, in fact I thought the pool was empty the water was so clear. Unfortunately, the pool is closed during hours when the pool deck is used for outdoor dining (early morning and late afternoon/evening). Since we had tours scheduled during the day, we weren't able to use the pool.
The breakfast was excellent with many choices and freshly made omelets
They do have a luggage room to store luggage when you need to check out but aren't leaving the area until the evening. After our tour, we were encouraged to relax in the lobby and use the computers until our shuttle arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This establishment caters to tour groups. I'm writing this for folks who are checking the places on the itinerary provided by a tour company. If you are worried by the other reviews, you should not be. This hotel is not the Four Seasons, but you probably have not paid Four Seasons prices for your tour. Your expectations should be in alignment with with what you are paying, Turkey is cheaper than the US but not so much cheaper that you get a Four Seasons room at a Best Western price.

This is a perfectly pleasant European-beach-style hotel. It has a bar (low key, for guests), very well-functioning AC in the room, a nice pool, and a quality buffet for breakfast and dinner. The location is close enough to town for a pleasant evening stroll (walk a block in from the waterfront to check out the thriving outdoor shopping in the evenings), but far enough from town to be quiet at night. The beach in town is not great for swimming but there is easy transportation to better swimming beaches. If you have been booked into a room without a harbor view for one or two nights, I suggest spending some time in the quite comfortable and very spacious lobby -- it has a great harbor view. If you are staying for more than a couple of nights, then make sure your operator booked you a room with a harbor view. I've listed the harbor view room numbers below. The front desk probably will not be able to help you if you do not like your room, as the place is kept full, and your tour operator probably did not pay for you to have a view room if you do not have one. So if you want a view room, take it up with your tour operator before you leave for Turkey.

The hotel is very clean and well-kept but somewhat worn. Our room did have stained carpet, as other reviewers have noted, but the room was extremely clean. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and seemed more recently renovated than other parts of the hotel. The mattresses were comfortable. The service is responsive and helpful but don't expect the corporate-enforced obsequiousness that has become standard customer service in the US. In Turkey and in Europe, it is okay for people who deal with the public to just act like they are doing their job, they aren't required by their employers to fawn all over you.

As for the complaints of other reviewers, remember that you are in Turkey and you are not staying at the local Best Western in the US. Turks and Europeans smoke, so don't expect a room in which no one has ever smoked (here or pretty much anywhere else in Turkey). The food is good, but it is Turkish, so don't expect exactly what you would get at home in the US. Try the food, maybe you will like it, and if you don't like it you will not starve to death -- the buffet will include bland options to fill you up if necessary. Turks don't really eat dessert after dinner, so keep that in mind. Hotels of this style in Turkey (and in Europe generally) price the rooms on the expectation that you will not bring in outside food or drinks and that you will buy drinks with dinner, so accept that policy as a cultural difference concerning lodging styles compared to the US, and expect it. Coffee is free in the mornings.

There are four floors. The harbor view rooms are 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113 and 114, and the corresponding room numbers on floors two through four (206, 306, 406, etc.). Each floor has two suites that have a bedroom (full bed) and a separate room with a full bed pull-out couch. Our family of five was very comfortable in a suite. One suite on each floor has a harbor view, one does not.

Overall you should have a comfortable and pleasant stay here if you don't expect a hotel operated almost halfway around the world to conform to your exact expectations based on US experiences.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sftraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Grand Onder Hotel is quite nice. We stayed there two nights on a tour of Turkey and enjoyed very much our balcony room overlooking the beautiful harbor and Aegean sea. The room and bath were very clean. When we returned from a long day of sightseeing, we found the maid had created beautiful swans on each of our beds from the towels...a charming touch! The lobby is spacious and displays old Turkish antiques. We stolled to the harbor for dinner and shopping. The breakfast buffet was outstanding with fresh made omelets and an array of sides. We would highly recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there on a return visit, if a seaview was available.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbor view are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j68ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like it was built in the 1980's and not a single thing has been changed since. The carpet look like the original and is worn thin with stains throughout. The shower was tiny with most of the grout missing.

The rooms have a great view of the harbour however if you want to sleep forget about it because the Curtains aren't even big enough to cover the window.

On a plus side the staff were friendly and helped where they could. The buffet was also pleasantly nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jervo_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you're stopping in for one or two nights, this is a good budget hotel to stay at. By US standards, I'd say it's a 2 1/2 star experience. The rooms are sparse and dated (there are built in radio controls in the walls), the bathroom small, and the carpet old -- but they were clean. The room we were in had a decent view of the harbor where the cruise ships were docked. The breakfast was a typical Turkish hotel breakfast (with all the fixings). And there is free computer access (but no free wifi - there is paid wifi if you want) in the lobby.

A few notes. One thing that bothered me was although our rooms were broom clean, the grout in our bathroom was all black. At first I thought they just used dark grout - but when I looked around, there were hints of light grey in the corners. That... was a bit gross but that just suggests to me that the hotel doesn't do regularly scheduled deep cleanings.

The hotel is a five minute walk from the edge of one of the main streets (think Boardwalk-ish Main Street) where there are lots of restaurants, ATMS, cafes, small stores to pick up sun block, etc.). I didn't think the hotel staff were particularly helpful. They weren't unhelpful or rude - but they just weren't particularly pleasant or service-oriented, something to keep in mind if that's important to you for a good hotel experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just come back from this hotel with an adult family of 6.
It is not 5 star but the pool is a nice size and over looks the sea and harbour, wit a great view!
Most of the rooms have see views and the bed was comfy.
We had half board and the food was very good and the evening meal was changed every night and at breakfast they have a good selection with freshly made fried eggs or omlettes.

I cant understand why this place gets bad reviews? The staff are very helpful and the waiters are great!!

We spend a really great 14 days here and I would reccommend it to anybody . 9/10

Room Tip: Ask for a see view, we had room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Istankoy Kusadasi
Hotel Istankoy Kusadasi
#45 of 156 in Kusadasi
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ilayda Hotel
Ilayda Hotel
#25 of 156 in Kusadasi
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
#48 of 156 in Kusadasi
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#27 of 156 in Kusadasi
1,041 reviews
0.7 mi away
Derici Hotel
Derici Hotel
#30 of 156 in Kusadasi
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suhan Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suhan Seaport Hotel

Address: Ataturk Bul. 4.Sokak No : 10 Yatlimani Karsisi, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey (Formerly Grand Onder Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range: $72 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suhan Seaport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suhan Seaport is located in the heart of Kuşadasi where our guests are being pampered with the excellent service and the hospitality by "Suhan Group Hotels". Our aim is to create happy and satisfied guests with our unique quality of cuisine, service and ambience of our hotel. With the perfect harmony of nature and comfort, you will relax at the Suhan Seaport. We have Standard rooms with sea view, Standard rooms with land view, 1 disabled room and Suites. In every room, there are balcony, wall to wall carpet, electronic door card, mini bar, TV, phone, toiletries, hair dryer, WC, shower and phone in the bathroom, air condition and safe. Moreover, in suite rooms there are arm chair, DVD, bed sofa. In all around the hotel, maximum hygiene is our priority. At the Lobby Bar,Pool Bar or the Restaurant you can enjoy your drink with a phantastic view over the international marina of Kusadasi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Suhan Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Onder Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing