We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relief from poor hotel food”

Murphy's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 352 Restaurants in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the surmeli efes hotel. The hotel is advertised as 5 star but the food definitely leaves a lot to be desired. Therefore it was en easy decision when we were first approached by Michael in our hotel reception area after one meal in our hotel (food had been extremely limited and majority had flies on or around it and we were unable to find a table which had been cleared) who offered us a deal which I wouldn't have entertained had the food at our hotel not been so poor. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the service when we did eat there, complimented nicely by Chico's card tricks and general enthusiasm to please. The price also included a lift there and back which, in itself would have cost in excess of £25 had we hired taxis. All in all this place was a real relief and gave us the chance to eat nice food and meet some great people.

Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysrestaurant, Owner at Murphy's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place a review for us it is very much appreciated by us.

We looked forward to seeing you again soon

Zafer and the Boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 594 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

got a free lift from my hotel that was the best part of my visit to this place,
ordered a king prawn, in butter and garlic, i got two little prawns in oil with no garlic.
main course was a t bone steak or so they said, ordered it with NO salad no rice and no sides just chips with pepper corn sauce, it came with all the things i asked not to have and the pepper corn sauce was a funny tomato sauce with sweetcorn...... the steak was meant to be medium rare but it was like an old bit of leather,fatty and bland.

when we complained they just said its the butcher and some time you get a bad meat. and offered us 15% of our next visit. NO THANKS .

If i were you i would not try this place NO GOOD at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jasonbrownstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysrestaurant, Owner at Murphy's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor it is very much appreciated by us.
We are sorry thatyou did not enjoy your experience with us.
After we spoke with you we actually changed our meat supplier as we felt it was of substandard quality to what we normally like to give our clients.

Again please feel free to call in on your next visit to Kusadası and allow us to rectify the situation.

Zafer and the boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

very nice to see the Zarbiters doing there job,walking to town with out being pestered,every year we have gone to Kusadasi they are in your face pestering you to eat even when they see you come out of other eating places

4  Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Firstly these guys work soooo hard it puts me to shame and I regularly do 12 hour days.
Stayed at surmeli efes and food was not amazing there by any stretch of the imagination! Partner and I took up the charming Michael's offer of free taxi and good deal for dinner and drink. Can honestly say it was well worth the experience. Food was plentiful and a vast choice. Good honest cooking. Cocktails were wonderful with a huge selection and great offers. Did not have desert as too full from starter and main! The atmosphere was cracking and the staff make you feel welcome and homely. Had dinner and cocktails, went for a lovely shop, back for a few more cocktails then lift home as promised within 10 minutes of asking. Everything that was offered was delivered and we will most definitely return when next in town. Even after we had been Michael still went out of his way to talk to us every day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauraloonorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysrestaurant, Owner at Murphy's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you guys for taling the time to place a review for us on Trip Advisor it is very much appreciated by us all.

We are so glad that we helped to ensure that you had an enjoyable holıday and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Zafer and the Boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Murphys is a restaurant to visit! It's great for value and being so good for value, I wondered if it the food would actually be any good and it was amazing!

Being 8 of us we got a slightly better deal but even if there wasn't its £19 for 3 courses (anything on the menu including steaks) and a transfer to and from your hotel so you can't complain! The food and steaks are lovely and well presented. Frankie is very helpful and was always happy to help us out.

We liked it so much we went there 3 times in the 10 days we were there. Definitely the place to go when your hungry and want a day/night out in kussadasi as you can wander off if you want to the shops or bar street and come back and be collected up till 3:00am. All the staff are also so friendly.
We worked out when here that you pay not even much more, just for a taxi into and home from kussadasi so for only a few more pound you may as well just go here and enjoy nice food and do what you like in Kussadasi.

Thank KirstyCaraSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysrestaurant, Owner at Murphy's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you so much for placing a review on Trip Advisor for us it is very much appreciated by us all.

We are glad that we were able to be part of your holiday experience

See you again soon

Zafer and the Boys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
 

Been to Murphy's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing