We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seafood ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kazim Usta Restaurant

Kazim Usta Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 289 Restaurants in Kusadasi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best seafood ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I'm not ordinarily a seafood eater. USA means master as in master chef. The fish baked in salt was a revelation, the lobster entree was delicious, and the value was excellent: 100 Turkish lira per person. We had the local wine, and loved it, with baklava for dessert. Baklava inTurkey is not the cardboard pastry horror it is elsewhere. It is light, not overly sweet and very delicious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    15
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with very fresh seafood and attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were in Kusadasi and our hotel and tour guide recommended this restaurant for us. Indeed, it was good and we went there twice for dinner. The seafood was very fresh so it made the dishes ultra delicious. We love the shrimp casserole as a starter and also the fresh grilled prawns and squids. We also tried seabass and red grouper. Yes, the fish price is a bit pricey but waiter service is good. Also there is quite a good selection of wine. If you wish to have a good seat, remember to make reservation in advance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Attractive Restaurant Located Right on the Harbor Near Cruise Ship Terminal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

While on a cruise, we took the tour to Ephesus, and then walked around Kusadasi shopping. It was lunch time and we looked for a place to eat - obviously when we saw this attractive restaurant with tables overlooking the harbor we reviewed the menu. It is a very interesting place as the fresh catch of the day is on display and you can select your fish you want. I had grilled prawns and thought they were very good. The staff was a bit reserved but pleasant. I think this is common in a number of touristy spots. We had a very pleasant lunch (lots of orphan cats around and I had fun feeding them) - This restaurant is in a wonderful location for people on a cruise who have been on a tour and want to have a pleasant lunch before walking back to the ship.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank triciadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kazim Usta- One of the Oldest Restaurants in Kusadasi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I fir.st ate at Kazim Usta 28 years ago and was delighted to find that it is still here, which is more than i can say for other places I used to frequent in those days. it is a little more up-market than before, although it retains its charm as you can sit at tables close to the sea and enjoy the breeze, which has been a pleasure as Turkey has suffered a heatwave this August!
My favourite starter is the samphire (Sea Asparagus on the menu) and the fish is very fresh as the fish market is very close to it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leva20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“So bad it was funny”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have some difficulty writing this review having seen the positive and pleasurable reviews which have already been written regarding this place. Nonetheless, I have to write what is true to my experience and I hope it offers value to others in a similar situation.

I went to this restaurant last week, and if I could speak better Turkish there is no way that I would have paid for what we received and if it matters, I would have complained to the manager.

My partner and I spotted this restaurant so were excited about the prospect of eating here, so dressed nicely and headed in. Immediately we were subjected to the rudest behaviour of any staff I have ever known, we were largely ignored from the beginning, and the bottle of water which was given to every table in the restaurant was taken off ours as the waiter laughed.

After looking at the menu for a few minutes we were approached (which is when the water was removed) and the waiter simply said 'what pasta?'. Not really understanding we attempted to order fish, vegetables and potatoes for the meal; not given a chance to specify the weight of fish my partner wanted, and not really listened to the waiter walked off. I attempted to approach the guy to see what we were getting but he just kept walking off when I approached him, and even his colleagues were as unhelpful. Eventually they arrived with food, a basket of bread - which they charged us for, a massive amount of fish and a plate of chips. That was all.

After asking for service the waiter then thought it would be highly amusing to throw the fish head on my plate, and amusing he did find it, and he decided to finish this off with the eye. Now, I like to write reviews which would be helpful to vegetarian eaters who realise that their friends/partners may like to go to these types of places and want to not limit them and so I have to add that any of these people will understand how disturbing this was.

Anyway, as I proceeded to eat bread...and a few chips (which were well cooked - hurray) my boyfriend ate the fish which was cooked well but was a little bland considering. We weren't given the opportunity to order any other drinks and were given the bill without asking which pretty much sums up our meal here.

Another thing to add, when women go to the toilets here they should be careful, the lights go out, and there is little security.

The place is next to a little harbour which is absolutely beautiful, but there is also a walkway next to where you sit so watch your bags as well if you eat here because it can get very busy and there are lots of people walking past selling and beggars asking for money right where you are eating.

Needless to say we didn't enjoy this visit, and wouldn't ever go again, however, it did provide us some good laughs! Go next door if you are in the area, otherwise you too may suffer the overpriced cheeky cost and abysmal service of this awful place.

This is extremely negative for a review and I do apologise, but this is exactly the experience that we had here and though we have racked our brains we cannot work out what we did wrong when arriving to warrant this so have to say it how I see it. At least the bread was nice, although expensive since they don't normally charge for it!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazim Usta Restaurant also viewed

Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to Kazim Usta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing