We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Lantern Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Allegany
Pennsboro, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Repeat Customer”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Allegany / Olean, New York. I am a returning customer who was really impressed with how clean everything is. Very friendly people. Has everything one would need.
Does not have a fitness center or swimming pool, thus the lower rating; however, I did not care neither was available. Price was excellent!

Room Tip: I have stayed in 2 different rooms and no difference; very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington , Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We needed a place to stay while visiting Allegany State Park. The chain hotels in Allegany were charging close to $200 a night because it was alumni weekend and there was a concert going on at the casino. After hearing "The Lantern" mentioned in town we thought we'd take our chances and have a look. Everything was brand new and immaculate. The bathroom had been complete remodeled with all new fixtures and there was a flat screen TV on the wall in the room. The beds were very comfortable and we had a quiet night's sleep. Not to mention the convenience of having the car right outside the door! They couldn't have been nicer to us. My only complaint is that it would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room or even in the office. I hope we have occasion to go back there because we'll be staying at the New Lantern again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A last minute change in travel scheduling took me into this beautiful area of foothills over the weekend when a nearby University was preparing for graduation ceremonies; otherwise I would have missed this wonderful and surprising deal. The Location is excellent on/off for East/West travelers along I-86. Reminiscent of a bygone era when Motor Lodges prevailed, this property has been restored with “eye for detail”, great care and is well appointed. The bed was very comfortable; the linens fresh and crisp. I travel with my own pillow but it was not needed here. The single/ground level facility has a range of room styles/format to fit any combination (I stayed in Unit #3 as a single/solo traveler) and they are very clean … updated, everything works. Overnight was very quiet and nearby Village is friendly and hosts a number of good value establishments for every taste … especially the area’s unique “Friday Night Fish Fry” champion! This property is an excellent choice for travelers that are not road warriors and enjoy the rural to semi-rural offerings. I’ll look to use routes that make it possible for me come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
It was great to have you here and your business, hope to see you return. Have spent the last year remodeling and will continue to make this place better and better as the years go bye.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

who says that motels have to be stinking of cigarettes, dirty and stinking?
that's exactly what the New Lantern Motel demonstrates.
new rooms, new TV, new beds, microwave oven, new sheets, new shower.
everything is new, neat, looks good and managers are nice.
the floor, walls and overall structure are all still motel style.
also, it's a motel - no breakfast, but there is morning coffee.
excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank You for your review, have spent a lot of time and hard work on this motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegany
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
14.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Olean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Lantern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Lantern Motel

Property: The New Lantern Motel
Address: 4004 Route 417, Allegany, NY 14706-9786
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Allegany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Allegany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The New Lantern Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on a business trip or vacation or whether you're here to relax or have an adventure, The New Lantern Motel is the perfect place to stay. We provide a quiet country setting that is just minutes away from town.Comfortable rooms and a central location to area attractions are just some of the things we have to offer. In addition, our clean, updated rooms have quality furnishings, DirecTV, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridges, microwaves, and flat screen TVs. We provide a personalized touch – our attentive staff is always looking out for your well-being. With our many years of experience and tradition that is what we stand for.Families and truckers are welcome at our friendly and safe location. We offer convenient access to and from exit 24 on I-86. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The New Lantern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing