We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful holiday due to amazing hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gural Premier Tekirova
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Tekirova
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday due to amazing hotel and staff”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were so happy to get our room 2203 that was the first thing that made us smile it truly was the best room for us. We could'nt have had better service or staff anywhere else it was all so wonderful, all I can say to recommend this lovely place is we have already booked for next September and have requested the same room, fingers crossed! Thankyou to ALL staff from management to our lovelly cleaning lady. We are looking forward to coming back. From two happy old age pensioners .

Room Tip: Pictures in brochure DONOT complement this beautiful hotel it is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Patricia,
We want to thank you on behalf of Güral Premier for sending us your comments. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important to us and help us significantly improve our service and the quality of service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed with all departments of the hotel, as well as top managers.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying here and happy that you liked our rooms, staff and service. Moreover, we are more than happy that you chose our hotel for next year. It’s a great honour for us! We cannot wait to see you here again!
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    128
    48
    20
    26
See reviews for
603
95
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been to dozens of 5-star all inclusives and this is simply the best. Big choice of exquisite food, great waterparks (3), great service. This place has nice ambience to it and it really makes a holiday of a lifetime. Anybody who complains about this hotel should stay at home and watch tv.

Room Tip: take ground floor if you dont want to walk the steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuMaJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you on behalf of Güral Premier for sending us your comments. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important to us and help us significantly improve our service and the quality of service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed with all departments of the hotel, as well as top managers.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying here and that you liked our food choice, aquapark and service. We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our hotel.
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Gural Premier for a week in early September, and were very impressed by the hotel. There is little point repeating all the comments made in the previous reviews, but I will make some comments where it may be useful for people looking to book the hotel.

Firstly, we have now stopped in a number of hotels in Turkey and this hotel is as good if not better than the Rixos, Delphin, and Amara branded hotels.

The journey from the airport to the hotel did take an hour and forty minutes, but I have to say that it didn’t seem that long.

We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon. We were met with the customary welcome drinks, and asked to take a seat while they sorted out our reservation. There was a slight problem with this. We have booked a pool room, but when we were shown our room on the little map, it was clear that the one we’d been given was not a pool room. To be fair, this was very quickly sorted out, and we were given a very nice room (1725).

Because Saturday is Gala night, we were advised to go straight to the guest relations desk (by the main pool) and book seats for the Gala. The staff there were extremely friendly and helpful, and we ended up with good seats for the evening. Make sure that you go to the Gala night, it’s truly amazing.

The hotel complex is very large, and it can take a while to walk from your room to other facilities, but this didn’t bother us. The room was large and very clean. Yes the beds were a little hard, but not excessively so. We didn’t have any trouble sleeping.

The main pool was very quiet, and there were always sunbeds available at anytime of the day. The beach did get busy, but even at 10:00 we were able to get a sunbed. The beach is gravelly, and quite pebbly as you go into the sea. Beach shoes really help here.

The pools in the aqua park are much busier, but even here we always seemed to get a sunbed.

Food in the main restaurant is fairly typical for a good quality hotel of this type. There were separate areas for each type of food, and there were changes to the food available each day, but it did feel a little repetitive. The only point I might make is that the food could be hotter. Unfortunately this seems to be an issue with the buffet restaurants in every hotel we have been to. The staff in the restaurant were extremely busy, and did sometimes forget the drinks you had ordered.

We went to a few shows in the amphi-theatre, but these were all dance based shows, and not really our thing.

The area around the main pool at night, become rather like a town Piazza, and is a really nice place to sit and have a relaxing drink, and watch the world go by. Every time we looked in the Irish Bar it was empty, but we did not stop out late, so maybe it didn’t get going until later.

At lunch time we ate in either the beach bar or the Aqua-park restaurant, both of which were fine for lunchtime food.

The patisserie, is a nice way to spend the end of an afternoon, with cakes/ice cream and tea/coffee.

There were only a couple of Brit couples at the hotel, with the vast majority of the guests being Russian. We really didn’t have a problem with this.

Now we get to the one problem I had. On the second morning, I had fried eggs with toast. The eggs were cooked freshly in front of me, but when put into my plate, were still quiet “slimy”. I nearly asked for them to be cooked more, but thought they’d be ok. I don’t think they were. That afternoon, I had a severely upset stomach (with all the expected symptoms – no details needed). Unfortunately this lasted for the rest of the week. It didn’t completely ruin the holiday, but it certainly affected my appetite.

Don’t let this issue put you off. This is a quality hotel, and I would return, I'd just be careful to make sure my eggs were cooked thoroughly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you on a behalf of Gural Premier Tekirova hotel for your comments. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important for us as it helps us improve the quality of our service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed in cooperation with all departments of the hotel as well as top managers.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially would like to thank you for your positive comments about our rooms, Gala dinner, Aquapark, Patisserie etc. All your recommendations regarding the service and food were taken under consideration.
Other than that we would be glad to see you again in Güral Premier.
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from Premier Gural Tekirova & I have to say this hotel is excellent. The rooms are spacious & tasteful & they are so well set up for young families. They have an abundance of high chairs for meal times & a special baby corner with 3 stages of aptimil baby powder, petit filous, baby jars etc. they take the worry out of travelling with a small child. We were lucky enough to be in the pool rooms which are dotted about in blocks all over the hotel and there were only about 6 people around this hotel at any one time. The food was excellent and you must try the patisserie - its to die for!
The water park is one of the best I have been too & they even have a shaded sandy part for toddlers. So well thought out
All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for families and hope to return - SOON :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsSunDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you on behalf of Güral Premier for sending us your comments. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important to us and help us significantly improve our service and the quality of service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed with all departments of the hotel, as well as top managers.
We are very glad to hear that your family enjoyed staying here. We are more than happy that you liked our rooms, food, patisserie, baby service and aquapark. Moreover, we would like to express our gratitude for recommending our hotel. It’s a great honour for us! We cannot wait to see you here again!
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just arrived home this morning, beautiful pool/ sea view room in beautiful surroundings. Look a little harder and there are definately some major flaws.
Maintenance men came out twice to look at air con as the smell of sewage in our room when this was on was unbearable. We had to wait in room with them and this was tiresome and problem not resolved so we put up with the heat and turned it off.
We had to use a different pool or sea for 3 days of our holiday due to lewd brash behaviour of a few people throwing each other plus sunbeds into the pool including one occasion when one of the women was drunk, naked and using the lifeguards equipment. Pool bar staff watched and said nothing but were tipped big time by the men involved. Security were called but nothing said and this behaviour continued for 3 days. They simulated sex scenes with 3 people piled onto one sunbed on one occasion and this was the typical behaviour every morning until a fight broke out one night in their room for all in surrounding blocks to witness on the night before their departure resulting in the one girl having a broken nose.
Yes a few of us did go to guest relations the next day and our complaint noted but not once did Cem who dealt with us apologise.
This is supposed to be a family resort.
The Irish bar was a popular place with a few of the minority British guests where we could witness several drunks going to the disco so they could drink themselves into a semi comatose state throughout the night and make a nuisance of themselves. This bad behaviour was not once British guests I am proud to say. Bar staff did not refuse to serve them alcohol despite their inebriation, its 24 hr all inclusive after all.
We saw Guests tipping to get dining tables reserved and money definately speaks volumes here.
The beach restaurant was the only place where service was not just slow but shocking and it was not even busy.
This is a beautiful hotel with top quality food and drink but has some major issues here where any kind of behaviour is acceptable as long as the price is right. We met some lovely people over there and despite all this had a lovely holiday and were able to avoid some of the bad behaviour due to the size of the place. Would I go again??? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guests,
We want to thank you on a behalf of Gural Premier Tekirova hotel for your comments. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important for us as it helps us improve the quality of our service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed in cooperation with all departments of the hotel as well as top managers.
Firstly, we would like to apologise for the situation that you had to go through. As we have approximately 2000 guests in the hotel we can only warn them about their inappropriate behaviour.
The problem with your air conditioning was put into our system and followed by our technic service. We would like to thank you for providing us with the information about this.
At the same time we would like to thank you for your positive comments as well. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday in our hotel apart from the situation happened. We would be glad to see you again in Güral Premier Tekirova.
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Ok, so where do we start... The drive to the hotel from the airport is somewhat lengthy at around 2 hours, however the excitement of been on holiday seems to make the time pass by that little bit faster. So we arrive at the hotel, the drive way to the hotel is winding and lovely, to be greeted by 2 reception staff, taking all our details at the comfortable seating area, we are given our room key and off we go. We are not too bothered about where we are on the room map as we can see that we have a deluxe pool room that we paid extra for, so off we go.

How wrong could we have been, we got to the room via golf cart and we walked into the room, to find 2 single beds - this was not part of Thomas Cooks description we were advised deluxe pool room was a double bed and single bed, but we thought oh well. As it was my husbands birthday we were excited to see the pool access, so we opened the balcony door and there was no pool, another item not described by thomas cook, we had to go right round the corner - not exactly a pool access room. I was so upset by this, there were other people who arrived with us who moaned about their room as they wanted a specific block by the beech - all we kept thinking was thats a request we haven't even got what we paid for. We tried to go back to reception but they didn't understand what we were saying so we thought that we would wait until we saw the Thomas Cook Rep, the next day. So we went for something to eat.

The hotel grounds are large, and spacious, it does feel as if the hotel is under occupancy as the property is spread out. The late night buffet was satisfactory, i wouldn't say wow but we ate regardless.

The next day dawned and off we went to breakfast, breakfast is lovely there is a vast array of food selection to choose from, and the bread is lovely. We then went to see the Thomas Cook Rep, my gosh what a waste of time that was. Thankfully we met 2 other guests (hi Gina and Tom) who showed us their room so we could argue the point easier, Thomas Cook were saying we were in a deluxe pool room as it was close to a pool, not exactly a deluxe pool room by our account, she eventually went to see reception, reception again struggled to understand as the rep could speak Turkish, who said that the hotel was full and they would see whether we could move throughout the day, they advised us that we would need to keep coming to reception to ask them. So that day we went backwards and forward to reception (not a great way to spend your fist day) and finally at 4.30 we were able to change room, so off we toddled. The room initially was lovely, we were upstairs and yes we had access to the pool, only let down at that point was that the pool was in shade come around 3 pm, but we were in the right room, so oh well.

However, a few days into the holiday there was a horrible smell that began to linger in the room, which we think was caused by the air conditioning, we went to reception to log the situation and were advised someone would be along to sort it. So we just carried on, the smell didn't go away, we never saw anyone who checked on the situation, so we went to reception again, once again the same thing was said, and still no one, we must have told reception 4 times and still nothing, so we learned to live with it and tried to keep the doors open as much as possible. Not ideal and not something we would expect from a 5* hotel. On one of the evening we came back from the pool and our room had not been made up, so my husband rang reception and someone came to do it, on another evening, the bed was made however the quilt cover was just folded up at the bottom of the bed, so I had to make the bed, which I was taken back with.

The room overall apart from the smell was lovely, the balcony was nice to enjoy a drink from, the bathroom was huge with a separate shower and bath. Just be careful as the beds are on wheels, and one evening my husband was lying on the bed, with his back against the head board and the bed was moving, quiet funny to watch but could be dangerous for children.

The food overall was ok, breakfast for us were the best, lunch and dinner were nice however got a little tiresome after a while. The one thing that we found strange was the fact that dinner service was only open till 9.30pm, as we haven't got children we went to dinner around 8 - 8.15 and as we liked to enjoy our meal we felt rushed at around 9pm as the waiters began clearing around you. We found it hard to enjoy our meal. We did try coming to dinner earlier but couldn't find a table due to the abundance of children, so we went back to eating at our usual time. The Black and White themed night was not to our liking, we felt pressurised again, it was like meat at a cattle farm trying to get to the food, the russians would grab a whole plate of food and not care that they have cleared the tray despite others waiting, that evening I think we ate less than ever. The fireworks were spectacular, the waiters seem to struggle with the table layout on that evening. If we managed the hotel we would not have this night, we would still have the fireworks however not the meal, the meal could stay in the restaurant and then there could be a cocktail evening with the fireworks.

The ice cream parlour and the patisserie were lovely and we welcomed this at around 4.30 each day. We went to the spa to use the sauna and steam room, both were in lovely settings, however not as good as previous hotels that we have visited in turkey.

We ate at the A La Carte Restaurant - Chinese and wouldn't recommend it, luckily as it was my husbands birthday the charge was wavered, food was ok, but nothing great, the service was somewhat slow, we don't mind taking time to eat, in fact we enjoy it, but waiting 15 minutes for a drink is beyond a joke. We wouldn't recommend these especially if you have to pay for them.

The pools are lovely however were cold, the water slides were a great asset to our holiday we went on them everyday, the lifeguards are excellent and are always willing to help you get onto the slide. The sea was by far the warmest, only let down for the beech was the pebbles/shingle, however the hotel have been able to make getting into the sea easier as there are jetty accesses to the sea.

There are drinks fridges all over the place and ice cream freezers, so you never go hungry, this is a great idea, and one that I would recommend to other hotels. the only one thing that i would say is that they shouldn't have glass bottles in, the coke, fanta and sprite were all in glass bottles which I think is dangerous, even drinks served at the pool bar were in glasses, something that we have not been used to in previous hotels. I think Plastic would be better, especially as I managed to get glass in my foot. Drinks are plentiful and there is even a disc to enjoy if that is where the evening takes you.

Entertainment overall is good, should you wish to part take. We saw the Lion King and the Beauty and the Beast show, both were ok.

Overall the hotel is lovely, if everything had gone right for us with the hotel I am sure that we would have given a better a score. Although the there were a few errors on our holiday we would recommend the hotel to others, especially families as we think the hotel is great for families more so than couples.

We had the pleasure of meeting a lovely couple Tom and Gina (hi both).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Gemma and Martin,
We want to thank you on a behalf of Gural Premier Tekirova hotel for your comments. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important for us as it helps us improve the quality of our service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed in cooperation with all departments of the hotel as well as top managers.
We have checked your reservation with the reception. All 20th buildings as well as 11, 13, 14, 15, 17 buildings are our Pool houses with Pool deluxe rooms. We inform agencies about our room types and their location. Once we get the reservation we provide the room from the same category (Pool deluxe or Deluxe rooms). In case our guests are not satisfied with the room we can do a room change according to our availability. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the room in the first place but we are happy to hear that in the end you got the room you wished for. We recommend our guests to give the information about their wishes to us or to the agency during the booking process so that our guests could get the room which they prefer. We especially recommend doing this due to the fact that we get fully booked during the high season.
We regret to hear that there was a smell in your room which was not solved. This information was forwarded to our technic service and was placed under consideration.
At the same time we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially would like to thank you for your positive comments about our SPA, Patisserie, water slides, shows. All your recommendations/complaints regarding our service and food, Alacarte restaurant, pool temperature were taken under consideration.
We would be glad to see you again in Güral Premier.
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Meant to be family friendly! 1hr show at night. Kids club staff spoke very little english. Wouldn't recommend for kids over 6yrs. Kids bored at night. Waterslides good during day time. Advertised as having 5 bars but only open at certain times. Entertainment such as darts waterpolo and bingo have never happened. If you are not german or russian no one in staff interested. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1973shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuralPremier, Guest Relations Manager at Gural Premier Tekirova, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you on behalf of Güral Premier for your review. All kinds of reviews about our hotel are very important to us and help us significantly improve our service and the quality of our service. We wish to inform you that all opinions stated here are recorded and processed in cooperation with all departments of the hotel, as well as top managers.
We would like to state that our kids animation is separated into different age categories and we also have a special animation program for teenagers. We have an Entertainment Info desk which is open from morning till evening where our guests can get all the information about the every-day entertainment program. For example, darts and bingo are happening every day at the pool bar area where all the activity information is announced and repeated during the day.
At the same time we would like to inform that at our facility we have 10 bars situated all around our hotel. Depending on the location of the bar they have different working hours, for example, Aquapark Bar is open during the Aquapark opening hours, Quu Bar open during the SPA working hours etc. At the same time we have Pool Bar (09:00-01:00), Beach Bar (09:00-00:00), Konak Bar/Yalı Bar (09:00-18:00, seasonal)
We would like to thank you for your positive comment about our waterslides.
We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with your holiday.
We would be very happy to see you in our hotel again!
We wish you have a nice day!
Kind regards,
GUEST RELATIONS
Güral Premier Tekirova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekirova
0.6 mi away
Rixos Premium Tekirova
Rixos Premium Tekirova
#2 of 21 in Tekirova
1,546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amara Dolce Vita Luxury
Amara Dolce Vita Luxury
#3 of 21 in Tekirova
1,024 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maxx Royal Kemer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen's Park Resort
Queen's Park Resort
#4 of 21 in Tekirova
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Euphoria Tekirova Hotel
Euphoria Tekirova Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tekirova
529 reviews
14.7 mi away
Nirvana Lagoon Villas Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gural Premier Tekirova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gural Premier Tekirova

Property: Gural Premier Tekirova
Address: Tekirova Mahallesi, Sehit Er Hasan Yilmaz Cd. No: 4, Tekirova, Kemer, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer > Tekirova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tekirova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tekirova
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tekirova
#1 Spa Hotel in Tekirova
#1 Family Hotel in Tekirova
#1 Business Hotel in Tekirova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tekirova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gural Premier Tekirova 5*
Number of rooms: 653
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The amenities included are an LCD-TV, music channels, satellite channels, air conditioning, telephone, cable Internet connection, wi-fi, safe-box, minibar, tea and coffee kits, jacuzzi and shower, blow drier, magnifying mirror, wooden parquet, armchair and furnished balcony.Deluxe Family Room consists of two separate bedrooms, in addition to the deluxe room format. The second room is also furnished with an additional TV and minibar.Superior Deluxe Family Room consists of two separate bedrooms and a bathroom having all amenities in the Deluxe Family Room.Deluxe Pool RoomsDeluxe Pool Room The amenities included are an LCD-TV, music channels, satellite channels, air conditioning, telephone, cable Internet connection, wi-fi, safe-box, minibar, tea and coffee kits, jacuzzi and shower, blow drier, magnifying mirror, wooden parquet, armchair and furnished balcony. The room balconies lead to common pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Gural Premier Tekirova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gural Premier Tekirova Hotel Tekirova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing