We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday - One of the Best”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Side
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asteria Sorgun Resort
Ranked #109 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having travelled to 35 countries, on various holidays - I can safely say that this is one of the best all inclusives I've stayed in. I really haven't got a clue what some people here are complaining about here - for sure, you will get better if you stay at a Hilton, Sheraton etc.. but you'll have to pay about 40-50% more to get just full board in one of these first class hotels.

The rooms are clean, spacious and well decorated with an excellent maid service. The food in the buffet is excellent - it included sushi and other speciality dishes, lots of fresh fish and well cooked favourites - you could easily have something different every day (provided you're imaginative enough to choose and try different things). In particular the food hygiene was good, so no signs of the food poisoning that used to blight Turkish holidays in the 80s.

The restaurants you have to book are particularly nice - the Italian was excellent but the seafood one - sitting on the pier restaurant at sunset was just the best.

The beer, wine and cocktails were really nice too.

On the beach, it lovely and clean with comfy sun loungers and a broad sunshade for protection - the sea was really warm and inviting.

One minor criticism - the animation team weren't the best we've seen by a long way. A surly bunch who were a bit 'up themselves' - and the shows weren't too good.

All in all - a wonderful holiday and I'd recommend the Asteria Sorgun very highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DraftyAtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 223 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Got back yesterday after 2 fantastic weeks. This is the fifth time we have been to Turkey having stayed at various hotels in Sarigerme, Altinkum and Lara Beach, The Asteria Sorgun is among the best. The hotel is multi-national with no country having a majority ( not all foreigners are German or Bulgarian) and caters for all. The staff are all multi lingual and most speak perfect English. The rooms are more than adequate and the food is as good as at any hotel i have stayed in . There are plenty of sunbeds around the hotel but if you do reserve them before 8:00 make sure you stay with your towels as security will remove them.
They have many special events at night including a white party and a Chocolate party where you can indulge in as much chocolate that you can eat.
The spa is as good as any I have been to and reasonably priced.
The only draw back is the hotel is a bit isolated with nothing outside the main gates, but for 20Tl you can get a taxi into Side or Manavgat which are both hives of activity.
All in all I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends and would have no hesitations in returning again, so if you are going don't be worried and have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawcosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here as 2 family's in July 2012 (4 adults, 3 children aged 4,5,7). Overall the hotel was fantastic.The food was amazing and snacks throughout the day at the pool and beach. We asked to move to a pool/sea view family room (without bunks) only because we wanted this view, which the hotel did the next day no problem. Rooms were cleaned daily. There were very little English guests (which we knew about), but it was not a problem, well until the whole "saving the beds" every morning by the pool. We warned you must be up and holding your beds by 7am. If you leave your towels before 8am the attendants will move them. There aren't enough beds for all guests but they will endeavour to accommodate you if you speak to the management team. The staff spoke very little English but enough to get through the week. Highly recommend this hotel. Recommend a trip into Side town. Entertainment was great.

Room Tip: Family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirstyadamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Revisited this hotel after 7 years and it was good then! Now it is amazing!! The friendly and helpful staff make the difference. Obviously customer service is an important issue for tbe management team and each member of staff goes out of their way to make your stay so enjoyable. Tbe facities are second to none and there is something for everyone from young couples, families to us old dears!!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent a week here in July. Fortunately we hadnt paid too much for the holiday, otherwise we would have been a little.angry. There is no part of this resort which justifies a 5 star, or even 4 star rating. We paid the all inc supplement, but I don't think it was worth it.

Main meals were served in the buffet restaurant, which was overcrowded, noisy and hot. Hard to get a table until it was almost time to stop serving. Food quality was just acceptable, nothing more. Little choice for starters and mains, desserts a bit better. Too much space was wasted with pointless displays. Waiters were rushed off their feet and few spoke any English. Once you were fortunate enough tto grab a table, you had to find your own cutlery and serviettes. Then the battle commenced. The hotel caters for mainly German, russian and Turkish clients, obviously not renowned for waiting their turn or being considerate. If you managed to make it back without being barged out of the way, pushed or had someone snatch the last burger from under your nose, you were fortunate indeed. After our first night, we decided to wait until almost nine o'clock to venture in as it was quieter but lingering was not an option as the food was cleared away soon after. Tipping is the name of the game here, if you want a drink, you tip.

The hotel facilities were quite good. The large pool looked inviting but it was very warm and full of yelling kids, so we didn't use it. Besides, all the beds were reserved with ubiquitous German towel by 7am. The pier out to sea was nice, if you could grab a bed in time, with steps going into the sea. Good for turtle watching (there are three here who hang around and can be easily spotted). There is a small bar here and sometimes they have a little buffet at lunchtime to avoid the drag back to the beach restaurant which was always overcrowded with little choice of food.

Beach towels can, in theory, be changed every day, however we had tried three days running to be told to come back tomorrow as there were no fresh ones. Aparently the 'secret' supply out of sight under the counter is only for 'special' (tipping?) clientele.

Our room was a family suite (two bedrooms with shared bathroom). It was ok, one room was a good size with a large double bed, the other, up some steps, with a single and a sofa bed. Both had tvs, but the only uk channel was BBC world service , about 300 others in mainly German. There was a small fridge which struggled to cool anything, with soft drinks. No tea/coffee making facility. The bathroom was good., bath with shower. The balcony, tho of a fair size, only had limited view and only two chairs. Furnishings were old and quite ugly.

The shops in the hotel were overpriced, as was the spa.

The beach was shingle/sand with beds and shade, but you need to get there early to bag one

You are only allowed one visit per stay to one of the a la carte restaurants, we chose the turkish. Excellent food, well presented by a very courteous waiter who spoke English (the only one?). We would have liked to try the italian but didn't want to pay €30 for the pleasure.

The entertainment was incredibly amateur, reminiscent of poorly rehearsed school shows. If you fancy some popcorn or candy floss, get in the queue early, once it's gone, it'd gone. Likewise seating, not enough for everyone.

So, to sum up, not a bad hotel, but don't expect 5 star luxury, oh, and brush up your german or russian before you go!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shamwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This is not a place to go if you enjoy sedate, unobtrusive service. There is no service, at least not without severe back handing. It may look a bit like a 5 star hotel, and I must admit the grounds and pool area are well maintained, but that's it. If you think the food here is acceptable, then don't ask me round for dinner. The food in the main restaurant is dire. Every possible way of cutting back on quality has been enforced. There are free drinks dispensers that dispense foul, cheap fizzy concoctions, and coffee machines that dispense foul, cheap coffee. The selection of main courses are cheap cuts of meat or burger meat. If you visit the restaurant between 7pm and 9pm, you are unlikely to find a table, because this is when the Bulgarian Simpsons are doing the battle of the trough and boy do they want to shovel it down. Getting a drink requires bribery and the totally useless restaurant manager did not speak to a single customer in our entire stay.the other challenge that faces a hotel like this, is the problem of beach beds. There are never enough beds, but here there is real panic and the Bulgarian Simpson family will be throwing down the towel from 6am! And by 8am all the beds will have been taken. How sad is that. The entertainment on stage is so bad that it actually made me roll about, but the kids loved shining the extremely dangerous lasers into the faces of the entertainers(on sale in the hotel shop). To be quite honest, this is not a bad hotel, but 5star it is not. It's popular because it's cheap and let's be honest you get what you pay for. So, ideal for noisy Bulgarian plumbers with huge families and a love of consummate consumption and silly pool games

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pedroofpobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 and compared it a lot to the hotel just next to it (Voyage Sorgun) where we sayed in 2010.
Certainly there are some weak points starting with restaurant, it is very average, food selection is poor, but everything is compensated by lovely desserts - they are wonderful!
Secondly (and we read about this before coming to this resort) - restaurant staff has some issues with your nationality - if you are nor German, good luck in finding friendly waiter :)
There is wonderful beach bar where you can have your lunch and those warm wafers for kids were absolutely in place! Sandy smooth entrance to the sea.
Will definitely recommend it to the families with little kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
6.3 mi away
Q SPA Resort
Q SPA Resort
#25 of 229 in Side
155 reviews
4 mi away
Trendy Palm Beach
Trendy Palm Beach
#50 of 229 in Side
153 reviews
5.8 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Side Star Elegance
Side Star Elegance
#36 of 229 in Side
737 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.1 mi away
Arcanus Side Resort
Arcanus Side Resort
#15 of 334 in Manavgat
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteria Sorgun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteria Sorgun Resort

Address: Sorgun Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#77 Spa Hotel in Side
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range: $69 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 475
Also Known As:
Asteria Sorgun Hotel Side
Asteria Sorgun Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing