We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paloma Oceana Resort
Ranked #9 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
manchster england
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have recently returned from a family holiday to this hotel, 8 adults and 5 children I think I can say we all had a fantastic time, the hotel and grounds are very clean. We have stayed at the Paloma Pasha two years ago when one of my daughters got married there and we loved it there. I can say that the Oceano is just as good, the food is very good also the drinks including cocktails, the facilities for the children are really good the younger ones enjoyed joining in with the kids club, they also took part in the Lion King which was fabulous the entertainment staff work very hard and seem to enjoy their work, they did a White Party around the pool one night with fireworks and it was really well done. we enjoyed that very much, I fact we were very impressed with all the entertainment. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel we all had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ciaralouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    252
    80
    28
    12
See reviews for
614
374
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've just returned from a 7 nights holiday at this resort, having never been to Turkey before we didn't know what to expect but I've got to say we were pleasantly surprised.

Our party comprised of me, my wife and our 5 year old son and 9 year old daughter. We stayed in a first floor bungalow room (number 4626).

The bungalow room appeared to have been recently redecorated and refurnished. The fixtures and fittings throughout were modern and clean, and the daily maid service was excellent.

On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at this hotel, with the staff being friendly, helpful and courteous. Even though the hotel and its amenities are already of a high standard, it is evident that the management do listen to Customer feedback and are keen continually improve the hotel complex.

The resort is well arranged to accommodate the needs of children, and families whilst still providing appropriate venues for couples and adults without children and not wanting the 'excitement' of the child oriented entertainment.

There are numerous swimming pools flumes/slides but be aware that the you'll need to be up and out early if you want to use a sun lounger. There doesn't appear to be any protocol over reserving the loungers other than first come first served....and even when I thought I had reserved a couple of loungers one morning, by the time we arrived by the pool side after breakfast, one of our foreign friends on the next loungers had taken our parasol for their own use and put up quite a debate when I tried to take it back!!!! The hotel really needs to improve this situation.

The food on resort is freshly prepared, well presented and high standards of hygiene is very evident. My son is a very fussy eater, but we always found foods that he would eat from the variety available. However, we did not receive any welcome when we first entered the restaurant and therefore it took a couple of days to understand the layout of the restaurant and where the different food bars were. The main restaurant seems too small for the number of guests, and seems understaffed in terms of waiters/waitresses. It seems to take an age for tables to be cleared after diners have finished their meals, drinks are slow in arriving or don't turn up at all, and you need your wits about you to avoid colliding with other guests in the crowded areas.

We tried two of the six available a la carte restaurants which served very nice food and offered great service, and are well worth a visit if you are lucky enough to obtain a reservation.

Our two children really enjoyed the hotel run mini-club which had daily activities for the children. These activities are normally at a cost i.e. approx 8euro for a wood painting. Whilst mini-club staff were friendly and helpful, once the children had finished the designated activity for that day, the staff didn't appear to interact much with the children or entertain them in any way, with our children often making their way to the TV room once they'd finished their activity to wait for us to collect them......we started to collect our children earlier every day as we didn't see the point of them sitting watching tele' when they were supposed to being entertained by the staff!

The unorthodox proceedings of the nightly kids disco took us a little by surprise at first but after a day or two we kind of came to understand/accept it. I can understand that the leader of the mini-disco needs to cater for the various nationalities on resort but when he instigates the adult staff entertaining each other more than focusing on the children's entertainment/interaction, referring to black skinned staff as 'chocolate', mimicking the bouncing breasts of one of the female staff in front of the children, and stopping the music and ridiculing a child for not dancing, then it does cause concern!

After the mini-disco every night there was a live show, normally magic, acrobatics and dancing oriented. These tended to be of a high standard and on the whole very entertaining.

As I mentioned previously, we had an excellent holiday at Paloma Oceana, despite the above minor issues, and will hopefully be returning next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OXO_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a two week break at the Paloma Ocean in Side. The Hotel is very well presented and well maintained. The pools are great and very clean, hygene is always the priority which is good to know! Our room was in the main hotel complex and was spacious, comfortable and had the largest walk in shower I have ever seen. Food was of a very good quality and the a la carte restaurants are as good as any in London. I would recommend the Turkish and Chinese as these were my favourites. The beach is very clean and has shallow water going out a long way which is good for young kids. Staff at the hotel are really friendly and are happy to help. To get a good sunbed you need to get up early but having said that there are no shortages but to get the best position you need to book early! There were mainly German and Brits staying at the hotel during the two weeks we stayed and we all got on fine, every one was really friendly and polite. Piano bar is very cool and great for evening drinks. The mini disco is great and the Lion King show is not to be missed!

The Hotel is ideally situated near shops, a cash machine and Pharmacy. Side is a mere ten minute hop on a mini bus and is well worth a visit to see the Roman architecture and Harbour. Jeep Safari trip to the mountains was absolutely amazing, I recommend this trip! We met some great people and yes we did join the beer o clock club and being a Celt it had to be done! I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would go back in the future.

Room Tip: Phone at 09.00am to book A La Carte restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angharadNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of June. The hotel is massive and is therefore run with military precision (probably why so many Germans like the hotel). There is very little, if any, flexibility in these rules - you have to do things when the hotel rules dictate for example changing your pool towel, booking a la carte restaurants (the main buffet restaurant is massive and reminded me of a school canteen). We found the staff OK (if you like being chatted up by Turkish waiters) but you have to stick to their rules. We had a very upsetting incident with guest relations which involved being sworn at (I assume, it was in Turkish) and the guest relations advisor ripped his shirt off in reception - this was with very little provocation from us, all we wanted to do was book a restaurant. We have stayed in other hotels in the Paloma chain which have been amazing in all respects but I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked our holiday through Expedia Travel, so found it was cheaper than going with the tour operators. We also had car hire in our deal and the car could be picked up directly from the airport on arrival and you could not get lost travelling to Kumkoy this is where the hotel is (10 mins away from Side by car/bus), as the road from Antalya airport to Kumkoy was a straight main road. Took us just under an hour.

On arrival at the hotel, you leave your bags and someone takes you to your room if it is ready and shows you your rooms and all its gadgets! Then someone else brings you your luggage. Worth having some change either Turkish lira/Euros for little tip.

We had a garden view, interconnecting room and was ideal for us now our children are getting older. You walked into to a hallway with a large bathroom, marble sinks, complementary toiletries,hairdryer, walk in shower (could fit 2 in easily), then the first bedroom twin beds, not sofa beds that we thought, had built in mirrored wardrobes, its own flat screen TV, own mini bar. Our room had its own smaller bathroom, but same size shower, huge King size bed, built in mirrored wardrobes, flat screen tv and minibar. The minibar is free and they restock it everyday with soft drinks and local beer. Both rooms had air conditioning, you could put it on quiet mode at night time. Both rooms had a kettle, tea and coffee. No milk though, but you could always get some from the restaurant. Our main bedroom had a balcony out the back, where you could dry clothes and the twin room had a large baclony on the front.

The pools were lovely, our accommodation looked towards the large relaxation pool. Only difference with this one is that they do not play music, so it is quieter. it has its own Bar Turquoise Bar, where you can get free soft drinks, beer and wine all day long. The little Patisserie is adjacent to this pool, up to about 5pm daily you can go in get a coffee or tea and help yourself to any of the cakes, again complimentary.

The other main pool was the Aqua pool, our children loved this as it was at the back of the hote, adjacent to the beach. As the weather was around 40degrees it was nice to have some breeze from the beach. They played music some of the time, but not all the time. In the afternoon the animation team always organised water games for the children. Again this beach had its own bar with free drinks throughout the day.

Between 12.30 and 2.30 everyday you could help yourself to a complimentary buffet at both the Aqua Bar, main restaruant or the Sante Fe (which was the restaurant on the beach). Normally food would include, fish, chicken, burgers, salad, plenty of fruit choices. Alternatively throughout the day there was a Pancake Hut, situated between the Aqua Pool and the Slides, where the ladies would cook you a pancake with a choice of 4/5 fillings.

Once and morning and once a night one of the staff would push a trolley around both pools and the seats on the beach, blowing a whistle, he would be giving out ice creams, he always had a joke with the guests, by throwing a bit of crushed up ice on them.

If you did not want anything from the buffet between 12.30 and 2.30 then both the Aqua Bar and Sante Fe between 3pm and 5pm would do a complimentary menu, burger and chips, wraps, pizza etc.

The beach was fantastic and we walked up and down numerous times an the Paloma Ocean definately have the nicest bit of beach and for their use only. You could always find a seat with an umbrella in the sand and they were all broken up with mini palm trees etc. The water was always warm and lovely to swim in. The hotel had its own lifeguards on the beach.

Both swimming pools and slide pool had their own lifeguards. They were excellent, always vigalent, stopping people doing things they shouldn't, and you felt very safe that your children were in good hands.

Slide pool was great, 4 different types of slides. The resort felt so safe that we could let our children go off to the pools alone.

Main restaurant was lovely. Near enough every other night the restaurant had a theme, i.e. mexican, turkish, seafood etc. There was so much choice of food that we never got bored with the experience. Always a choice of sitting inside or outside. There are free a la carte restaurants on site, but we were so happy with the food we did not bother, as it was difficult to make reservations. They say you have to ring 5555 at 9am to book fior the next day, we tried on 2 occassions at 8.55 and they were all booked, but we were not worried. Every meal time, soft drinks, wine and local beer is complementary with your meals, so we found you did not need money at all at the resort, everything is included.

The cat has a family of black cats, mother and 3 kittens the children loved these cats. The hotel had built a little cat house where they fed them and they had notices up to say that the hotel have the cats under vetinerary care.

The animation team were great, my children are too old to use their clubs, but many of the children were going. Every night at 9.45 for 30/40 minutes there would be entertainment in the outdoor ampitheatre, the shows were great, varied. Acrobats, Lion King, Dancers etc. Normally it looked like the hotel paid for a group to come in one evening and the next evening would be managed by the animation team, but it was still good.

One of the themed evenings is "Angels of the Oceana", they like people to dress in white if possible, or a white top or trousers if possible, and they organise an event in the evening around the Aqua Pool, the dancers they had in were amazing - Fireworks on the beach too.

We took Turkish Lira with us and were very suprised that all the shops in Kumkoy and Side sold everything in Euros, this is because the majority of the visitors are German. This was not a problem, but you did have to ask all the time how much in Lira. So my advice would be to with Euros, we went to two markets, one in Side on a Saturday and one in Mangevat on a Thursday and both still sold in Euros! It seemed that if you used Lira they made up their own exchange rate. Kumkoy and Side's shops did all sell the same things Hollister and Abecrombie & Fitch clothes etc, not genuine, but still good quality. We picked up sweatshirts for around £20, although in markets they start at £50 and you have to barter to get the price down.

Gym, my husband and I like the gym, so we went daily, lovely air conditioned gym downstairs. Need to ensure you take trainers as you are not allowed to use running machines barefoot, which some people tried. Indoor swimming pool available too, but due to the lovely weather, not many people used it.

We had to check out at midday and our flight was not until 8.30 that evening, they are happy for you to use their facilities and restaurants for as long as you need to, they do not cut your all inclusive bands off when you leave.

All in all, would we go again yes, as it exceeded our expectations. Although there is not a lot of places of major interest along the that coastline to visit, but the resort has plenty to offer you. Eventhough we like to wander somewhere in the evening, there was only shops, there is a promenade further along but we drove to the start of it, as we had a car (5 minutes away from hotel), then you could walk all the way to Side. You could walk to Side by beach, but I think it would take you over an hour, quite a way. Plenty of water sport activities on beach, parasailing, banana, fly fish, jet ski etc. My two went on the banana boat, 10 Euros each (£10) and had a great time.

Room Tip: I woud not chose to have a room in the main hotel which looks out on the main street of Kumkoy. Fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redhatch_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 12 day stay in a Family Seaview Suite in the main building with 2 adults and 2 teenagers and had a wonderful stay. The Suite was of excellent size for 4, a main bedroom and living area with corner sofa and 2 sofa beds and having 2 bathrooms was a real bonus. Storage space was gigantic and the Super kingsize bed extremely comfortable. The sofa beds were on the hard side but adequate for our 14 and 16 year olds. Cleanliness was immaculate in our room and everywhere else in the hotel.
Staff were mostly very friendly and a special thanks to Mürvet from Guest Relations and Ilyas Ünal, assistant manager, who looked after us impeccably making our stay especiallly stress free and enjoyable.
Food was plenty and of very good quality and I can't understand why people complain. During our stay we must have eaten at least 8 different species of fish,grilled smoked and poached as well as chicken, lamb and beef in various forms.At Dinner there was always a very good selection of traditional turkish dishes e.g. vegetable and meat casseroles outside which were absolutely delicious but not many people seemed to try these local dishes, instead they opted for the spaghetti bolognese, meat and chips which no doubt will become repetitive after 2 days. Come on people be adventurous, you are in a foreign country after all ;).
Guest structure was generally varied and pleasant consisting of Brits (much more than anticipated), Germans , French and Russians plus a few other nationalities and everybody (with few exceptions) was well behaved.
Pools were amazing, large and clean and surprisingly empty at times although my biggest annoyance was the sunbed race which commenced around midnight and we did witness a few altercations (mostly amongst the brits dare I say) with people swearing and getting rather agitated, sad but true.
We did not use the pool loungers at all but instead opted for the lovely and spacious beach , bliss ! Loungers and umbrellas here were available all day and it is just a short stroll to the pool and Beach Bar where we ate lovely lunch most days.
Location of hotel as mentioned many times before is central with Dolmus and shopping just ouside the front door with easy access to Side and Manavgat Markets.
I could go on and on but I hope you get the idea that this is a lovely and very well run , family friendly,clean, lovely food and drink and in a good location at the best part of the beach. Would I go back- yes definitely.
If you want any more info please don't hesitate to send me a message and I happily answer your question if I can.

Room Tip: Family Seaview Suite in main building is great if you travel with older kids/teenagers Try and requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay start of August with the family 2 boys 15 and 12. Stayed in the bungalows with which were fine for the amount of time we stayed in them, shower door leaked but a quick bit of DIY and it was sorted. The setting of the bungalows is great, set in very nice gardens. The hotel and pools (even when a floater was spotted in the slide pool, pool was shut for the day and cleaned) were clean and looked after, staff all pleasent and attentive especially in the main hotel bar. The entertainment we thought was excellant, although something more than a piano player in the main hotel would have been nice. As already mentioned mainly German and French guests and staff assume you are German or from Belgium in my case, much to the amusement of my lads. My main issue was eating we could never get booked in to any of the other restaurants, so gave up on this. The main restaurant was just not big enough to cater for the numbers and queing seemed to be a british thing only, it really is a bit like dodge ball when trying to make it back to your table with your plate, people and little ones everywhere, food choice ok a little repetitive . I did notice another large restuarant in the main hotel but this was closed, maybe its for the closed season, but should be opened to reduce numbers. One thing I never liked being part of was getting up early to put towels on sunbeds, so went to the beach most days, although we did try to get by the main (with the music playing) pool one day, I was up at 7.00, placed my 4 towels and magazine on the bed, only to arrive back after breakfast to find 3 of our overseas cousins had taken the beds and control of my magazine, which resulted in some interesting banter. Was advised later when speaking to another english couple that it had happended to them a few times, so up to you if you want to get involved in this, plenty of sunbeds at the beach. Outside hotel not many bars, lot of shops if you like that sort of thing. You must visit Side the ruins are amazing and we had a nice lunch and beers in the port. Would go back to Turkey and try a different venue, but in all a nice break and the kids made some new mates.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
1.0 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.4 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
2.2 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 227 in Side
1,247 reviews
4.4 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paloma Oceana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paloma Oceana Resort

Property: Paloma Oceana Resort
Address: Ilica Mahallesi 1. Sokak, Kumkoy Mevkii Side, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Side
#5 Romantic Hotel in Side
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Family Hotel in Side
#8 Luxury Hotel in Side
#8 Spa Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paloma Oceana Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Paloma Oceana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paloma Beach Hotel Side
Paloma Beach Side
Side Paloma Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing