We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Tired rooms, poor a/c system, awful shower”
Review of Safari Suit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Safari Suit Hotel
Ranked #72 of 227 Hotels in Side
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Old Tired rooms, poor a/c system, awful shower”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel's rooms (or at least our room) looked nothing like on the pictures! Upon arrival, we carried out luggage to the top floor, no lifts. The lounge area was spacious but very old, and tired deco throughout. The lounge area had a bunk bed, a settee, 80s style old TV, a dining table and a kitchenette area with two electrical hobs and some kitchen essentials. More importantly, air conditioning unit in the lounge was barely working. In fact, there was very little difference between air con being on or off, unless you stand right in front of it. And air conditioning goes off automatically if one of the balcony's doors was open. There was no a/c in the bedroom, but instead we had no option but to switch on an electrical fan that was humming loudly all night. Bathroom was very tiny in comparison to the rest of the suit area, and shower area was squeezed right next to the toilet, only separated by a short, and therefore useless shower curtain, meaning that water went straight on to the toilet and on the floor, making the whole room very damp and smelling like like a pond, since there was no dehumidifier to get rid of steam.
Breakfast was served by the owner, no choice is given, so expect an already prepared plate with a couple of slices of local ham, an egg, slices of fruit/salad and a pancake. However, the owners were friendly, if it's any consolation. All in all, I was not comfortable staying there and I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack-Side, Owner at Safari Suit Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear customer,
what we was reading in your review has been a big surprise and a lot of disappointment.
what is written can not be accepted as it and we believe that is absolutely out of place. If somebody is so disappointed with the hotel we don't understand why you are not ask to change hotel ?
It was completely in your right's. Maybe beacause is not so bad as describe or maybe because you don't find better , but for us is all ok. We read also your other reviews and we see that your have always something to complain and maybe you should be more honest with your self.
The lift does not exist as the building is 3 floors and we also believe that a couple of stairs are good for the health , if you are not overweight, leasy or with mobility problems.
The apartement are like in the picture and we can understand why you complain about that. We have 3 type of rooms (apartement , single/double and suite room). So for sure apartement are not same room , and room are not same suite.
Air condition and bunk bed are completely new and the rooms are all be painted this year. Television is a standard hotel television, we are not a 5 star hotel ... The decor is simple but for all client is nice (you are not in a private home !).
People should use Tripadvisor-site only for what it is meant for. Not to help friends or just to put in bad light honest workers.
If you read other review posted by our customer(and not only in tripadvisor site) you will see the difference.
We know that we can't please all tourists, because everyone has different expectations and demands , but we try to do everything possible and our best to please the customer.
what we ask is just to be honest and write the reality, leave your true valid mailadress behind and not a fake and anonymous one.
We have learn a lot in the last 9 years with safari and we can also understant that sometimes somebody is not happy .
What we would like is that the hundreds of people who were happy to stay here with us , write their thoughts thru a review , but unfortunately it does not happen often.

I hope we have explain how to judge this reviews and to learn about it. I hope that our happy client will react about this review and they will post 1 answer.
many greetings from Safari Suit Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
48
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to the hotel for 8 days from end of June to beginning of July. The hotel was excellent. Hotel and room was well presented and very clean. The door to our room opened out to the swimming pool, this room would give easy access for a disabled person in a wheelchair. Breakfast was excellent. Ayse and Ginacarlos who run the hotel are the most friendliest and helpful people I have met for a long time which helped to make my first visit to Turkey a most enjoyable one. Would definitely go again. Keep up the good work. One tip make sure you check when the big group from Norway are coming, they don't like you invading their space and make you feel very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights in Safari suit Side. Turkish/Swiss owner couple, Ayse and Giancarlo were extreamely welcoming, helpfull and warm people. Our roomy apartment nr 3 had two rooms, two balconies and a poolview. We ate twice at the restaurant and pizzas and a turkish lamb were very well made. We surely will stay there again next time in Side.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days from 26 May 2013. We have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe but can honestly say this has been the most welcoming, due mostly to Ayse & Giancarlos who run it. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they really made us feel like part of the family. The hotel has been decorated to a very high standard and I loved the safari theme, especially the huge elephant, monkey, giraffe, leopard figures. It is very very clean and the apartments are very spacious, plus 2 balconies. We had breakfast in the hotel almost every day and it was delicious (lezzetly as they say in Turkey). Brought to the table with a big smile and all fresh whether we came down at 9 am or 10.30am. We also sampled almost everything on the menu for dinner and again it was all very well done. It is about a 20 minute walk to the old town if the bright lights beckon although there are supermarkets practically on the doorstep of the hotel. We didn't go on any trips as we have been to Turkey before and been on quite a few but there are a number of trips available. The Roman ruins at the old town were very interesting and there are a lot of them. If the beach is your thing then you can either walk(about 25 minutes), or Ayse will organise the little bus to collect you at the hotel and bring you back in the afternoon. We don't really like beaches but because it was quite early in the season we had the hotel pool almost to ourselves. There is also a sectioned off part to float an infant. However, there would never be a rush to book a sunbed here, there are only 18 apartments and plenty of beds for everyone. We would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room, if you don't like stairs ask for a lower floor, there is no lift. Facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days in August with breakfast included which was very good, plenty of food, italian coffee and waffle. We made an online reservation directly to this hotel. The swiss-turkish owners (Ayse & Juan-carlo) were exceptionally warm and welcoming hosts.
The breakfast, how i told before, were very good and served at your table, which is so much nicer than a buffet. Breakfast is availble from 8:30 am until 11am.
All our requests were attended to and the quality of everything was great. There are excursions that the hotel can arrange for and you will picked up and dropped off at the hotel.
We were upgraded to Apartement from a Double Room , so that was very nice. The Apartement were clean, spacious, and comfortable.
Its location is very good as it's walking distance to downtown area (around 20 minutes). We liked the pool and bar area. We would not hesitate booking this hotel for another trip to Side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my husband stayed hear for just one night as we were just passing through, We were on a 3 week holiday but had to stay in Side as we have an apartment there that we are selling and needed to show some one round before making our way to Bodrum, we chose the Safari Suite after searching on tripadviser it had such great reviews so decided to book it, We were not disappointed, Our flight was delayed so instead of checking in at 11pm we arrived at 3.30 in the morning the owner who's name escapes me was waiting for us, He greeted us with a warm welcome and shown us to our room, On the booking i asked for a nice room and i got one, Large nice modern bedroom, Lounge with kitchen lovely balcony and very modern bathroom, The only disappointing thing is we only spent a few hours in it due to our late check in at 03.30 and checking out at 11.00am, We had breakfast overlooking the pool served to us by the owners wife who was absolutely lovely she served us with a refreshing and ample breakfast, the pool area looked very nice the whole place looked nice and clean i would recommend this hotel and on my next visit i will be staying there but for longer this time, Thank you, If anyone interested i have a large 2 bed apartment for sale in ilica sea views etc £70k let me know....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbaros M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have been working as a travel agent in Belgium since approximately 7 years and I used to live and work in Turkey (1993-2003) as a local rep and as a quality coordinator for both Belgian and British tour operators for about 10 years in total, of which 4 years in Side, and I can certainly compare the hundreds of hotels I have stayed in, had guests in or did quality reports on. I can only say that my stay in Safari Suit Hotel is one to definitely be repeated ! No it is not a big hotel, not an all inclusive and there is no animation, but let that just be a true heaven in such an extremely touristic area of Turkey. And no, nothing is 100% perfect but that is the true colour of Turkey. As a tourist you need to take into account that nothing in Turkey works completely the way you are used to it in Europe, America or elsewhere and with this I mean the local services such as electricity companies e.g. The owners are Italian Swiss (or is it Swiss Italian ;-) and Turkish Swiss and give it their very very best to make every single guest feel like he/she is part of the family and you feel that during your whole stay. It is a B&B as seldom found in Turkey with excellent service standards, fabulous language knowledge and a very nice breakfast :-) typical Turkish (freshly cut cucumbre and tomato, slices of Turkish bread, 'village' and other cheeses, olives, omelet, watermelon, little individual packs of chocolat spread and jams, freshly made tea,... and you can (for only 4€ per person!) eat as much as you want ! The breakfast doen't sit there on a table buffet waiting for you to come down and enjoy it or for the bread to go stale and the cheeses to curl up. It is individually served on the spot by Ayse (the owner herself) as soon as you arrive on what I call the breakfast balcony. Ok, the rooms maybe need a little updating in the details (although I thought I had excellent value for money with my top floor 1-bed apartment) and the bathrooms might be on the small side, but still the rooms are perfectly functionable and clean and they have plans for an update. The pool area is excellent and even somewhat luxurious, has a square shaped pool (1.3-1.4m deep) and is usually a quiet spot to relax which in most hotels is overcrowded. Just book this hotel and relaxxxxxxx, enjoy the hospitable nature of the owners and you won't regret this ! I'll definitely be back !!! With my very very best regards, Maria

Room Tip: my top floor 1-bed apartment (nr5) even had a view of the Side amphi theatre in the distance :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria-H-Ghent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Irem Garden Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aral Hotel
Aral Hotel
#163 of 227 in Side
199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#36 of 227 in Side
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lale Park
Hotel Lale Park
#143 of 227 in Side
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Onemli Hotel
Villa Onemli Hotel
#99 of 227 in Side
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conny's Hotel
Conny's Hotel
#3 of 87 in Side
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Suit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Suit Hotel

Property: Safari Suit Hotel
Address: selimiye mahalesi | 507 sokak, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 227 Hotels in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Suit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Safari Suit Hotel, under Turkish management, we are committed in taking care of our guests with passion by receiving them in a unique, warm and cosy atmosphere. It's a home from home and in our small and friendly hotel you are more than just a number. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Safari Suit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing