We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday May 2010”
Review of Leda Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leda Beach Hotel
Ranked #81 of 227 Hotels in Side
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Holiday May 2010”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Could not find a better location than the Leda Beach Hotel. Front of the hotel overlooks ruins - lovely view of the amphi theatre as well and next door to the museum which is well worth a visit. Main bar and restaurant are at the front so nice outlook at breakfast and dinner. Excellent own small private beach through to the back of the hotel - managed very well by attendant who takes pride in his work, makes sure you have sun beds and shades and generally looks after you. Beach was sandy and went gently down to the sandy clear water (no rocks) where further out you could be lucky enough to see turtles. Best length of beach in my opinion. Breakfast is not much and gone if you get there late. No need for full or half board as there are plenty of shops, bars & restaurants a short walk along the beach road. Everything is priced in Euros. Hotel is far enough away so it's not noisy except when a neighbouring hotel has a 'doo'. Didn't like the look of the rooms in the main building, the chalets are basic but clean. Chalets around the pool are very close together and without shade so the better ones are in the gardens with verranda, table and chairs, lemon, lime, olive trees on your doorstep with med climbing flowers as well. Some of the chalets have staff accomodation attached to the rear of them (looked like small shed type extensions), but we weren't bothered by the staff coming and going. Our toilet always had a brown mush at the bottom of it which came back again after flushing. Hotel grounds were pretty but no good for anyone with mobility issues as there are a lot of steps made from the ancient stones. They don't like you taking you own food and drink into the hotel, but if you are discreet you can manage it. Staff were all polite and helpful. Hotel is good value if you are on a budget. Main thing is the location and their stretch of beach. We enjoyed our week long stay and would go back there again if we wanted another budget break.

Room Tip: Chalets in the gardens are the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank toedipper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    108
    50
    25
    25
See reviews for
57
132
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I have just returned from a most enjoyable week at the Leda Beach Hotel . The hotel has to have the best location in Side perched as it is among the ruins.
The staff were very friendly, the service excellent & my room kept spotless.
If you want bacon & sausages this may not be the hotel for you , but I found ample choice for a healthy & filling breakfast. The evening buffet was superb with a selection of salads & hot dishes. I loved everything I tried - how they do it for the money I don't know !!!!
My only criticism is that arriving at 3am in the dark was somewhat daunting & although the reception was open at that hour & we were expected, a few lights & signposts to reception would greatly help
That apart I would recommend this hotel to anyone whoi wants a hotel with a bit of character

Room Tip: room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scotspearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just got back from a weeks B&B at the Leda Beach. We decided not go fully inclusive after reading the reports of dull repetitive food but it must have changed. Food was excellent and plentiful, service spot on.

Rooms are perfect, bathrooms are brand new, minibar, TV and aircon if required (extra €45 a week). Wifi for those who can't leave their laptops behind. On arrival the bed was covered in camomile flowers, a nice touch.

Guests are mostly professional Northern Europeans with an emphasis on the Germans and Dutch with a few Brits. Distinct lack of bloated football shirted morons and screaming kids, a haven of peace and quiet yet a fantastic location right in the middle of the spectacular ruins.

Don't bother with hiring a safe, the place is secure and friendly. Avoid the beach restuarant, it is a concession and not part of the hotel and staff take offence if you decide not to eat their overpriced eurogrub. The hotel restuarant however is light and easy, reasonably priced and has great views over the ruins.

The resort itself is pleasant although the endless harassing by greedy shopkeepers can be tiring. Stay off the main drag if shopping and some real bargains are to be had. A standard rule would be pay half what the shopkeeper demands. Being Turkey, everything is counterfeit but the quality is excellent and if pretending to be rich is your thing, you can dress like Victoria Beckham for a pittance.

In summary: Staying away from the herd, Leda Beach is a perfect little hotel for perfect little holiday. One week was plenty. Side is marvellous for those who seek more than just beer and beach (hire a car for a day and head up into the mountains for the REAL Turkey, petrol is expensive at £2 a litre though). Poke about in the back streets and eat at real Turkish restuarants (not the Euro fodder palaces) and you'll have a fantastic time.
Do take a local minibus (1€) to Manavgat for the day and visit the markets or a river trip, and definately visit the Museum in Side, well worth the effort.

German was the main language used but most speak English. Euros, Dollars and Turkish Lire accepted everywhere

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed_Reardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The Leda Beach Hotels very own Bob Hoskıns of the Leda Marın restraunt makes your stay all the more specıal and un forgettable........He wıll look after you all day long as you are sıttıng overlookıng thıer prıvate beach... There ıs a wıde varıety on the men(u) whıch ıs all very reasonably prıced and tasty. ı can also recommend the ottoman restraunt ın sıde. All ın all thıs hotel ıs a lıttle gem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenni070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Just back from my stay in Leda Beach Hotel. I did not expect much because of the price but I was totally surprised! I really enjoyd it there! The room (newly renovated) was of a good size and very clean. We had a room at the pool. The breakfest was simple but nice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially at the reception and the restaurant on the beach side. Super location, at the beach and very close to town. Great value for money!! I will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jschrage79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

stayed at Leda Beach Aprıl 2011 the rooms were awful covered ın ants surrounded by cats , food not much better no choıce for meals , no hot water. drınks and all extras for the room ı.e wıfı and safe are really expensıve

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Side hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at the Leda Beach Hotel in May 2010 for one week. Me and my husband travelled with my mother (then 78) and my sister. The staff at the hotel could not have been more friendly or helpful. They treated my mother like their own elderly relative and made sure she was happy and comfortable thoughout our stay. The hotel itself is ideally situated within the old city walls, so not in the over developed area, but outside the main old city so quiet enough to get a good nights sleep and no hassle when you walked around. For the price (which worked out about £47 per person per WEEK for bed and breakfast) it was superb. if you choose the evening meal option it is about £4 each per night, which is a bargain even if it might be a limited selection. We didn't opt for the evening meal but ate at the restaurant several evenings and we didn't find anywhere better in the area.
Having read some of the previous reviews I really don't know what people expect for the price. If you want five star bland hotels then be prepared to pay the price. The Leda Beach was lovely, relaxing, clean, quiet and friendly. the staff were great, the pool was and added advantage as it was very hot when we went. I can't praise the place enough to be honest, but then I go on holiday to experience the place and the people and learn from different cultures. We seldom go back to the same place twice, the world is big and there's lots we want to see, but we are thinking about going back to the Leda Beac for my husband's 60th, so that should tell you how much we enjoyed it.
Sorry if this is a bit of a rant!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helennightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Side hotels
0.0 mi away
Neptun
Neptun
#156 of 227 in Side
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunprime Dogan Side Beach
4.0 mi away
Beach House Hotel
Beach House Hotel
#64 of 227 in Side
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#43 of 227 in Side
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Onemli Hotel
Villa Onemli Hotel
#97 of 227 in Side
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#32 of 227 in Side
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leda Beach Hotel

Property: Leda Beach Hotel
Address: Selimiye Mah. Muze Cad, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Side
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leda Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Words alone cannot describe the magic of Side. It is a unique land full of fascinating contrast where ancient and modern exist side by Side. At the same time it is a paradise for sunshine, beaches, warm sea and leisurely lifestyle. The Leda Beach Hotel situated in the most quiet part of Side, surrounded by the ancient ruins and the greens. Hotel is on the seaside, within a few minutes walk of the shopping centre and at your service whole year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leda Beach Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing