We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Lovely Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xanthe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Xanthe Resort
Ranked #39 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Lovely Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was small but cleaned every day. the staff were friendly but spoke little english The Guest Relations lady was very helpfull and she spoke excellent english. The food was very good and nicely presented and there was plenty of it, the grounds of the hotel were lovely with plenty sunbeds around the pools and on the beach. The beach boy was great, he worked very hard every day making sure everyone had a bed , emptying the bins and keeping the beach clean. There were only about10Brittish people in the hotel and lt is geared up to the German tourists but i would not be put off going. Side is great especially if you like ruins!!. We will be going back. Overall it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: In Xanthe hotel if given small attic room like us the Relations lady said that we should have asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mooreside6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    62
    32
    9
    10
See reviews for
110
39
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Trip Advisor

Xanthe Resort and Spa, Side

I want this to be a comprehensive and balanced report, but also factual so I am composing it during our stay to ensure I report it as accurately as possible. 
First impression of the hotel was good. We arrived at 2am and check-in was pretty quick. We were offered drinks and food if required.  We were given a voucher for a 20 minute massage at the spa, but we weren't told it was only valid for 2 days from arrival, so when we tried to redeem them before coming home we were refused! We had requested a quiet room and were given a room facing the road, directly above reception, which certainly wasn't quiet. As it was late we kept it until the morning. The following day we requested a room change and got a room at the end of the hotel, which was very quiet. Sadly, this room had a fault with the electrics, so 2 days later we had to move rooms again. 
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean inside, which is something I am very particular about and couldn't fault. Unfortunately, there was animal faeces left on the grass areas and lots of rat droppings outside the bar area in the mornings!! Even during torrential rain they managed to keep floors clean, which was quite impressive.  However, the hotel is becoming old and tired in places. We had patched towels at times and beside the main restaurant the tiles are breaking up. There are quite a few areas that need redecorating or upgrading. During the heavy rain that we had during our stay a number of areas had water leaks, particularly around light fittings in the bar areas! This resulted in buckets and towels being strategically placed to catch the water. 
I like to have drink making facilities in the room, but this is not available, so bring your travel kettle if you like an early morning cuppa. There are no ironing facilities  in the rooms either. Milk for tea in the restaurant is often hit and miss and non existent at any other bar area. 
Food is very plentiful and varied. The barbeque area at the end of the main restaurant was especially good when weather permitted it to open. The pasta stir fry was superb!  The glass restaurant (very nice when it was open) had a BIG problem with bees swarming in to feed on the sugary cakes. Due to heavy rain and thunderstorms for 5 days it was closed most days, which made the main restaurant very crowded. If you choose to dine towards the end of the sitting times then staff will be clearing down around you. We decided that we couldn't be later than about 30 minutes before the end of service.  The 3 a la carte restaurants were ok, but it was a fixed menu, with little or no choice as to what you had. The meal was served at 7pm prompt and all finished well before 8.30pm! - not a leisurely dining experience! We were allowed a visit to all 3 a la carte restaurants during our stay, however because of the weather conditions we only experienced one because the others were cancelled due to being 'al fresco'.  There is a fair sized cat population in the hotel grounds, which we suspected were tolerated (and even encouraged with a 'cat cafe' near the beach) to prevent rats becoming problematic. Sadly, they seem too well fed to deal with the rats as we had a very brave rat one evening running alongside the restaurant and trying to find an open door. Some staff witnessed it, but seemed unconcerned! They really need to put rat bait down as there was plenty of evidence of a substantial rat population!!
The hotel is definitely geared to the German guests, but staff did speak reasonable English if you spoke to them, although some couldn't help reverting to German! Most of the entertainment is tailored to German guests. 
Staff generally were very helpful and friendly and worked hard to keep tables clear in the bar areas and restaurants. Above average service on the whole from most staff. 
There are ample sun beds and areas to sunbathe around the hotel and the beach area sun beds are not overly crowded. The attendant was quick to provide cushions for the beds on the beach. The towel exchange was somewhat limited. Towels were given in exchange for a towel card. There was only one place to obtain them and it was  open from 8.30am - 6pm, but closed from 12 - 2, which wasn't helpful if you were out in the morning and wanting a towel after lunch! Towels were old and quite worn, so better to bring your own beach towel. Most people seemed to hang on to towels overnight then change them during the day. 
Although the hotel is close to the beach it's a few minutes walk to the Dolmus (bus) stop. The buses are frequent and cheap and if you want to experience Turkey in any way then you will need to catch a bus to Side town or Manavgat as the hotel is not near any local culture. There is a good shopping area at Kumkoy, which is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. You can get all your souvenir goods there if you don't want to brave the buses and travel further afield. You do not need to have Turkish Lira as everyone will accept Euros and almost all shops and restaurants are priced in euros. 
Overall it's not a bad hotel, but more 3 star than 5 in my book. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

On the minus side, competence in English language among most persons in the staff was low,
but I could manage in german mostly.
The food was good and always something that felt interesting,
the wine and beer ok, but drinks not very good.

Totally I`m pleased with my holiday in the Xanthe Hotel.
It was clean, nice pools and incomparable beautiful beach, and a serviceminded personal in general.
Special thanks to restaurant waiter Mikail K., who was not only a good representative for the hotel but also for the whole Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank froken_l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

This hotel is located close to the sea and has it's own private beach. The rooms are spacious and were cleaned daily.
The Reception staff were always pleasant and helpful. There was a specialist Guest Relations person to resolve issues and she did this effectively when we had problems with the air conditioning and had to change rooms.
Breakfast and Dinner are taken in the main restaurant with a choice of inside or outside seating areas. Lunch is served in the main restaurant, at the Olympic Pool, on the beach or at the Main Pool. The all-inclusive package allows you to eat at each of the speciality - a la carte restaurants -Italian, Turkish and Fish. You need to book a table for these at least 1 day in advance. The Olympic Pool was the best location for lunch with a choice of two barbecued meats and/or fish with waiters serving the drinks. On the beach, there was a variety of hot dishes and you ordered drinks at the bar. The standard of food was excellent throughout..
The waiters varied from excellent to poor with few on the middle ground. In the a la carte areas, one man would serve food and drinks for maybe 30 people and give excellent service. In the main restaurant, they all seemed pre-occupied with clearing tables rather than providing drinks or cutlery for new arrivals. If you did find a good waiter, it would be impossible to have him the following night because of the haphazard way the stations were organised.
The Lobby Bar always provided excellent service. Ahmet, in particular was a shining light to his less able (or willing) colleagues.
The Entertainment was not impressive. It consisted of a children's disco which the children obviously enjoyed followed by some sort of show and then a adult disco which would be more in keeping if held in Frankfurt or Stuttgart. Everything was in German and the entertainers would not discuss why there was not more English spoken. The entertainment was held in the pool bar area unless it was raining so we could avoid it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Two adults and 1 teenager, we stayed for a full week and had a great time. It's rated a 5 star, but I wouldn't compare that to US 5 star hotel...yet still VERY nice...more like 3-4 star in the US for comparative purposes. All inclusive and overall a GREAT value. VERY family friendly. Most families had kids of all ages...but it wasn't like a day care center. Nice mix of clients. Mostly German and Russian...I think we were the only Americans...so very little...but adequate English. They sure tried hard to communicate...and they seem to love the Americans! Food was very good, with a nice variety and it changed from day to day enough to keep it interesting. I was surprised to see linen for all meals, nice touch. The staff work constantly...seemingly 24 hours a day helping make the stay pleasant, fun and comfortable. They have 'animators' walking from the hotel to the pools to the beach to keep all the guests informed of the daily and evening events and to encourage participation...but if you don't want to ...they are very respectful and let you just kick back and enjoy the beautiful setting. Large property...so you should keep wandering around to try out the different offerings: homemade bread/cheese 'pizza-like' treats right off one of the walkways to the beach...the olympic sized pool, a modest water slide area, beach front patio/bar, volleyball, bocci ball, covered beach area w/ padded lounge chairs. Plenty to do.

I had one issue with the Doctor on site - she wasn't terribly pleasant when I went there to get a repair job on a cut I got while horsing around - but the Hotel GM fixed the problem quickly.

The front desk will help if you want any advice on any off property excursions - we went to a bazaar in Side a couple bus stops away from the hotel off the main road, and the massage team was very good (free 20 min massage in our package). Don't go looking for exotic drinks. The beer and wine are fine (not great...remember, you're there for the setting)...and I'd stick to those. Wait to be somewhere else in the world to enjoy mixed drinks. Hope this helps....but a VERY nice trip. I'd recommend this to anyone...couples or family. PS If you get Unal Elcan to wait on you...tell him Jeff/Obama said hello! He was great. Treated us like royalty all week long.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffMedeiros01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Overall the xanthe is not too bad, but there are some things not so good ,when we arrived we were put into a family room ,ok nice and large but you had too mind your head as their was a beam that was very low and we also found that the sky window was cracked and very dangerous,we also found that the aircon did not work properly and moved to TWO other rooms ,and both had the same problem air con not working. The temp outside was 25+ at night our aircon set at 23/25 ,good staff at the beach and at the eating area. Brits are very sparse as this is a Russian ,German hotel but we got on very well with all,Booked with Thomson s and would probably not go back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davelebehty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

beautiful Resort with first class facilities : including 4 swimmingpools (one inside), for fun or for sport. Children are not forgotten with 2 small swimmingpool.
The resort is in a beautiful garden with a direct access to the sea.
Rooms are big and clean. Staff are really sweet and helpful. The restaurants propose a good variety of meals and the service is pretty good.
You definitively need to go to the spa, which is incredible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
0.1 mi away
Trendy Verbena Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Miramare Queen Hotel
Miramare Queen Hotel
#55 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#44 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.8 mi away
Oz Hotels Side Premium Hotel
0.2 mi away
Miramare Beach Hotel
Miramare Beach Hotel
#69 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanthe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanthe Resort

Property: Xanthe Resort
Address: Evrenseki Mevki, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Side
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#34 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanthe Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Xanthe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanthe Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing